Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for Alita: Battle Angel ( 2019 )

Beautiful film with tons of heart (IMDB: 10)

On: 4/4/2019 12:00:00 AM By: ultimt3
Alita as a character is so great. The CGI is probably the best I have ever seen. She is charming and her story arc is beautiful to witness. For me the relationship between Alita and Dr. Ido is really beautiful. Two broken people coming together and helping to heal each other. I would go into more detail but don't want to spoil it for people that haven't seen the film. This is a must watch, even for people not into manga. I know nothing about manga and absolutely loved it.

If you give Alita your time, she'll give you her heart. WOW! (IMDB: 10)

On: 4/4/2019 12:00:00 AM By: chrisncarolyn
Ever bored on a random weeknight, where you end up looking for a movie to watch? This particular night, you feel like seeing an action flick and one that is available is a movie called Alita: Battle Angel with pretty bad critic reviews. *shrug* A little cookie-cutter mindless action flick can't be too bad. And then... the moment you finish watching the movie and say to yourself "My god... What in the world did I just watch? Rather... Experience?!?" Well, this was me. After watching it a second time, my conclusion is that Alita: Battle Angel is one of the most spectacular cinematic experiences in a really, really long time.

Alita is a cyborg whose core (a human brain with a unique and powerful heart, in more ways than one) is salvaged from a scrapyard by Dr. Ido, a cybernetics surgeon (or a doctor for cyborgs). He gives her a new lease on life, and when she wakes up, she has no memory of her past. As an innocent teenage girl (that is 300 years old), she goes through a journey of self-discovery.

This is not a superhero with superpowers crushing the villain at the end kind of movie. Yes, Alita kicks the snot out of baddies throughout, but the real enemy she defeats is the enemy within... her naivety, lack of self confidence, and finding purpose. Even her awkward teen romance (which was intentional...) grows into a mature one full of forgiveness, faithfulness and devotion. She wins a lot and she loses a lot but through it all, continues to learn, never gives up and keeps on fighting. By the end, she is a warrior who knows her mission.

Alita is not the only hero in the story. There were heroes in Alita's life that defined the hero Alita would become. Alita is empowered by those around her, and in return she empowers and inspires others, even people she doesn't even directly interact with. This is real empowerment... people empowering each other to be better. It is NOT someone who "empowers" themselves... especially by putting down or blaming others.

The visual effects are literally out of this world. As a live action movie, it's nearly impossible to figure out what is real and what is not, allowing to you to really get immersed in the world they built. The attention to details is just amazing. Great characters paired with incredible action and an emotional roller-coaster of a journey makes this movie a winner.

Rosa Salazar is the real gem in her genuine and convincing performance. She give her heart (figuratively and literally) in it and it shows. Christoph Waltz is also amazing as usual. Mahershala Ali and Jennifer Connelly (actually pretty interesting character arc if you look into it) are also great. Keean Johnson was a slight miss for me, but even then, he gave his best as Hugo.

The score is perfectly crafted by JunkieXL (Mad Max: Fury Road). You can actually watch videos of how he built the themes for each of the characters on his YouTube channel. If you understand the themes, you can literally re-experience the entire movie just by listening to the soundtrack, which masterfully tells the story.

Considerations: The movie is extremely violent, borderline Rated-R. There is also one use of the F-bomb (though... probably the only way to convey the intended message in that dire situation).

Recommendation: 10/10. HD a must, 3D if possible (The movie was meant to be seen in 3D). Also, buy the Blu-Ray for family and friends, and tell them to do the same if they like Alita!!

You will underestimate this film (IMDB: 10)

On: 3/18/2019 12:00:00 AM By: cultofthepatriots
I have totally underestimate the movie Alita BattleAngel.

The trailers did not seem to change my expectation of this film in the beginning. But after watching this film.My views has changed completely.

She has shown character and positivity of a example that all of us should follow. By being absolutely fearless in the present obstacles. Overcoming and outperform. To fight situations when no one dare-ed and when it seems unfavorable. To speak when no one have the courage to do so.

The romance is cringy but overall I absolutely love this film. Motorball is a eye opener for me. Loved it when she leaped across the fallen robot and speed like a winner.

I sincerely hope everyone catch this movie and support for a sequel.

Thanks for reading my review.

The Eyes just work (IMDB: 8)

On: 3/15/2019 12:00:00 AM By: mjstech
Great movie, a good anime adaptation if there ever was one. The big thing people have a hard time getting over is the eyes, and it's hard to explain, but they actually bring her out of uncanny valley and you accept the look of the character soon enough after she is introduced. Good on James Cameron for not listening to critics. Hoping for another movie!

Incredible Visuals Bogged Down By a Bad Script (IMDB: 7)

On: 2/25/2019 12:00:00 AM By: ThomasDrufke
Coming from the producing mind of James Cameron, Alita: Battle Angel is one of the most visually impressive films of recent memory, though it doesn't necessarily have the script to go along with those dazzling visuals. Rosa Salazar is fantastic as the titular Alita, and once again proves that she deserves more starring roles in Hollywood. The problem lies with the screenplay, a cringe worthy romance, and underdeveloped characters. But at the very least, it's a fun action film in a universe that I would love to see more films take place in.

7.5/10

The Gunnm I liked (IMDB: 8)

On: 2/16/2019 12:00:00 AM By: soultakerneo
As a longtime fan of Gunnm(Battle Angel Alita), I am satisfied. I appreciate the production team took their time to do the research of the original serials. The adaptation is great, they filtered out few "acquire taste" and swapped in elements that would make much more appeal to general public. The film really kept true to the original manga and reassembled almost everything from the manga the scenes, mechanical bodies, characters and the world they lived in. They did a great job on capturing Alita's slightly na?ve stubbornness, the "all in or all out" euthanasic, and the pursuit of who she is.Storywise, the film ingeniously weaved the first 11 books of manga together, brought up few events that was happening in the 2nd chapter of Alita's adventure to the 1st movie. Which is nice since I bet they're already thinking of the next Alita movie. But as few of Cameron's work, the dark side and the ugliness of irontown wasn't rendered enough. The lack of depth on the ugliness made the whole plot a bit light, the emotional conflict wasn't intense enough and the romance plotline which is very important in the 1st chapter a little bit lack of depth.The overall CG is stunning. Other than the wanted flyer and the parasite's face the rest of CG is absolute marvelous.All in all, definite a great Gunnm movie, will definite watch it again and again till the sequel is out!!!

Absolutely spectacular hero-driven non-Marvel/DC scifi action, the next 5th Element but better! (IMDB: 10)

On: 2/15/2019 12:00:00 AM By: awgoodner
This movie was an absolute joy to watch and captured so much of what makes a great character driven action movie. Alita is visually mesmerizing and seamless, the CGI is as good as anything you've ever seen. What's more impressive though is not the "realness" of it, but how well they capture facial movements. Alita LOOKS ALIVE. She isn't lost in the uncanny valley, she EMOTES. She pulls you in and allows the full suspension of disbelief. She demands that you see her as real, despite the glaringly obvious unreal elements about her. The action sequences are done so well that they never feel like jittery clutter, that despite the incredible amount of movement and shear number of things in non-parallel motion the whole of the imagery is coherent. The actors do what they are supposed to do but make no giant waves doing so, and the story is what is clearly derived from a comicbook style, but is not wholly derivative either. Alita is a character that is both extremely powerful and yet fragile at the same time, reminiscent of Leeloo in the 5th Element. She is portrayed as real, and it is easy to cheer for her and feel for her. If you like scifi action with spectacular visuals and extraordinary characters then this is the movie for you.

They've cracked the code (IMDB: 10)

On: 2/15/2019 12:00:00 AM By: andrewquaza
Alita: Battle Angel is the first ever anime adaptation that works, and its flawless. It stays true to the source material and does the original characters and themes of the manga justice. Rosa Salizars (Alita) is some of the best acting I have seen, the facial performance and overall dynamics will leave you wanting more time with her. Genuine and fresh as well as an inspiration for many of the movies you see today, waiting for the technology to be created for this movie was completely worth it. An ambitious technological marvel that will impress you every time you watch it.

I was so wrong - this is actually a great movie! (IMDB: 10)

On: 2/15/2019 12:00:00 AM By: nilsurban-50399
Battle Angel Alita surprised me as one of the best story driven action movies of the past years and here is why:

Story:solid story-telling, no cheesy and time wasting flashbacks. Characters actions/choices are relatable and comprehensible and things do not just happen because somebody just did something totally stupid or unreasonable. Also the relationships between Alita, her "father" and boyfriend are built up well. Furthermore this movie was clearly made for a mature audience which is a great decision. Many movies like Star Wars and DC Hero movies have failed because they want to cater to kids, teens, families, men all at the same time additionally filling their movies up with bad/badly placed comedic elements. Alita, fortunately, has none of these flaws.

Acting:very solid acting from everyone, but the Oscar goes to Rosa Salazar who did the motion capture for Alita. She did an amazing job! When I saw the trailer and those big eyes I thought this could only go wrong but Rosa Salazar gave real life to Alita.

CGI:Fantastic! The design choices are impressive and the distinction between high-tech and low-tech battle equipment was nicely done. Movement is smooth and very realistic. Alita's facial expressions are, in my opinion, the closest to reality we can get thus far.

Action:Very well choreographed action that refrains from many cheesy slow-motions and keeps it down to the point. It is also well placed and not too scarce. Plenty of action well interwoven with story driving elements - good job!

Music:Elegantly placed and perfectly connected with each scene. Not as memorable as Jurassic Park, Indiana Jones, Star Wars or other Blockbusters, but it did it's job well.

Score: 10/10 - can't wait for part 2

Simply Amazing (IMDB: 10)

On: 2/14/2019 12:00:00 AM By: prairiewalker
Certainly one of the best movies I've seen in years. Too many critics have a PC axe to grind, and they use that filter to the detriment of doing their job in a fairminded manner.Go and enjoy.

Forget the glut of bland superhero movies... just watch Alita! (IMDB: 10)

On: 2/14/2019 12:00:00 AM By: warren-87235
Since Titanic and Avatar, I've stopped expecting Cameron movies to be great, but having seen this on 3D Imax the other day... let's just say he and Robert Rodriguez won me over again! Alita is the best big sci-fi action movie I've seen in a _long_ time. In an age where we're just seeing the same plots recycled again and again with interchangeable, soulless super-heroes, I enjoyed the hell out of this. I'm not saying it was perfect, but I was pleasantly surprised. I could have sat in that cinema for another couple of hours, without any worry of boredom. I can't remember the last time I watched a big effects movie and felt so completely lost in it.

Although I was aware of Battle Angel Alita, I've never been a massive Anime fan and never read or watched the original anime, so I had no preconceptions or expectations going in. Many of the plot themes and ideas may have been done before(**cough** Rollerball - amongst others **cough**), but you can say that about almost any movie. The real question is whether those ideas are packaged in a new engrossing story with interesting characters and the answer, in Alita's case, is a big yes.

Rosa Salazar is brilliant as Alita. The level of emotion she gets through the mo-cap is astonishing, and quite honestly puts many live action stars to shame. The large eyes may stem from honouring her anime origins, but you soon forget them, and only see the character. Not only that, but in the context of the story and her past, they feel quite logical.

There's a hefty dose of Robocop to her story, in a good way, whilst her character has a sincerity and (non-annoying) innocence that all combines to make her a sympathetic hero that you want to see succeed. So from my perspective, I can't recommend Alita enough! This is the kind of blockbuster I hope is successful, because I truly want to watch the sequel.

As with so many big-budget effects movies, I went in hoping for the best, but expecting yet another 'all-flash, no-substance' movie, like so many of the Marvel films. I was happy to be wrong for a change.

I can't wait for the 3D Blu Ray to enjoy this again, and especially watch how it was made. I may even have to see it again at the cinema, before it finishes its run... It's been a while since I could say that about a big blockbuster!

Alita, best film since Blade Runner 2049 (IMDB: 10)

On: 2/14/2019 12:00:00 AM By: awko-21111
"I WILL NOT STAND BY IN THE PRESENCE OF EVIL", an inspiring line spoken by the protagonist in Alita: Battle Angel when facing an indomitable and frightening villain got me thinking that I will not stand by in the presence of clueless movie critics giving lukewarm reviews to this excellent movie. Hence my motivation in writing this review to a film that I consider a great visionary triumph with such groundbreaking special effects not experienced since Avatar and a world-building as dazzling as last year's critically acclaimed Blade Runner 2049.

Based on the manga by Kishiro, the creative combo of Rodriguez and Cameron have created a world so technically stunning and cinematically immersive that it stirred and delighted my soul during the whole movie.

At its heart, Alita is a tantalizing adventure about teenage self discovery and self fulfillment, although disguised by the plot which stated the protagonist as a 300 year-old alien berserker. The story combines science fiction with martial arts in a dystopian future. The fight scenes are as well choreographed as say The Matrix but avoid over indulging in extended and repetitive fight sequences. There's a lot of exposition fitted into a 2-hour movie, hence some scenes seemed to be truncated in order for the story to advance accordingly.

That said, the plot has familiar elements made new but in more interesting ways. Elements of a world constantly being monitored borrow heavily from The Hunger Games, with the adrenaline infusing Motorball acting as "the game". The action scenes are thrilling, at times violent but as explained earlier, never over indulges. And when such scenes are short, I found myself wanting for more, hence repeat viewing ensues.

The film ends with somewhat of a cliffhanger, with fanboys like me hoping against pessimistic box office forecast that this movie will make enough money to warrant 2 more sequels to complete the overarching story of one of the most interesting female characters in one of the most visually arresting, imaginative and energetic science fiction movies of all time.

Go watch Alita: Battle Angel. Highly recommended.

Absolutely STUNNING (IMDB: 10)

On: 2/14/2019 12:00:00 AM By: dante_x22
Gorgeous visuals, non-stop action and incredible story based off a Japanese manga. I saw it last night and I cant shut up about it today. I even went back and watched the old 90s anime OVA to see how it matched up and I wasn't dissapointed! You really gotta see it in the theaters this is some of the best CGI I have ever seen. Don't get why people are leaving bad reviews, but don't trust the haters! Alita is a winner!

BadAss Action SciFi! (IMDB: 9)

On: 2/13/2019 12:00:00 AM By: ArieVianza
I don't know what to say... This movie is perfect as an Action-Sci Fi movie!.Not too much drama. Just enough.Cool action/fighting scene. Fights are not too long. Short and sweet.I guess people who rated this so low.. they don't even like a Scifi/Action genre or don't know how to enjoy this type of movie.

CGI is always very smooth except at the near ending scene where they going up on the pipe. Real face of his boyfriend with cyborg body looks disappointing...not neat at all...

We need a sequel!!! better.. badder!!

Astonishing (IMDB: 9)

On: 2/13/2019 12:00:00 AM By: The-honest-critic
I'll be honest, when I went into to cinema to watch this movie I was expecting to not like it. I had seen a little bit of the trailer and it did not really "speak" to me and Alita's eyes were off putting. When the movie had begun I was actually searching for things to dislike but surprisingly there were none apart from a few cringeworthy moments. I quickly got used to Alita's eyes and they became in fact likeable. The story began to draw me in and I got completely absorbed into the story and the visuals.

The world is extraordinary and beautiful and the action scenes in this movie are fantastic, quite honestly some of the best I have seen. The story is a bit fast paced but not to a degree that it feels rushed. Alita as a character is great, she is kind-hearted, innocent, naive and protective. Throughout the movie Alita grows as a person and learns about sacrifice, loss, love and the horrors of the human mind. Alita is very likeable because she is such a good person in such a horrible world and you can't help feeling very sympathetic for an innocent being like her as she is exposed to the cruel world of Iron City.

I watched this movie without knowing the source material and I loved it. I was drawn in very early on and had to watch it a second time. I can definitely recommend this movie to anyone.

Superb Acting Performance Of Every Character And Dear Alita I'm Falling In Love With Your Big Eye (IMDB: 9)

On: 2/10/2019 12:00:00 AM By: ymyuseda
Rating 9.9/10Wow !! Truly amazing film of this year !! Great story telling !! For director Robert Rodriguez you has created a good film !! With three oscar winning actor/actress and with a name as big as James Cameron already make this film so amazing !! Dear Alita i'm falling in love with your 'BIG EYE '. For all of you , go see it you wont regret it !!

Alita is beautiful, stunning and an incrediable film (IMDB: 10)

On: 2/6/2019 12:00:00 AM By: gerry_barnaby
Alita Battle Angel is what happens when Hollywood finally get an Anime film right, ive gotta say James Cameron and Robert Rodriguez should work more together because this film is incredible.

This film had heart and soul poured into its story and you could tell that 1000 of hours of work have gone into making this film. They've pulled one of the best films this year with incredible visual effects and CGI work that give this film a beautiful setting and background.

The visual effect of Alita (voiced by Rosa Salazar) we're incredibly done giving detail in her eyes which made her character on screen look more like an actual human actress. Her character and acting is what made this film, they give her a human soul and a purpose with the writing which is so well done, it gives the audience an emotional journey of a young woman trying to discover who she is.

The love interest side of the film is so done right it doesn't feel forced as well which along with its action sequences as well as it supporting cast was nothing short of perfect. The story does a great job of not revealing too much to earlier as slowly building up characters so you understand the story and draws you into every moment, this is matched by the awesome fight scenes and great formidable villains of the film adding to incredible film.

This is one of those films that deserves a sequel and to be a successful film as of what they've realised here is one of the best live action anime films, with a damn near perfect if it was for slight pacing issue that doesn't really affect the film but is noticeable.

Does it live up to the hype? HELL YES this film live up to the hype this is a must to watch on teh big screen hopefully were see a sequel come from it because it so needs it.

Dislikes: The only flaw I spotted as ive said there was a slight issue with pacing, not that it affects the film in any way but was noticeable.

I thoroughly enjoyed the film. Don't easily trust people who only give destructive criticism. Just watch and prove it (IMDB: 9)

On: 2/6/2019 12:00:00 AM By: radiktyalaksono
I love the way the director delevoped the character. He's been successfully made not only the character fearless, but also considerate. The action sequences are also the essential elements of this movie and they executed them perfectly. I wish the script could be better knowing that it is almost impossible to build a 2-hour movie script based on a multi-volume manga to explain the whole story. But overall, this movie is worth watching and deserves to be at least nominated for Best Visual Effects

Emotional and badass (IMDB: 10)

On: 2/6/2019 12:00:00 AM By: bobsterzero
First review I've ever written cause I want, no I need to promote this movie in every way I can, emotional stories, fantastic characters and an amazing plot line filled with epic moments and fight scenes that blew me away

Excellent! Great story telling! (IMDB: 10)

On: 2/6/2019 12:00:00 AM By: linnjsl
Execellent story and movie! Characters are enduring and engaging. Never a dull moment. Character developments were great. Superb CG effects. Much better than any Marvel franchises which are so generic! Must see! Love it!