Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for Almost Heroes ( 1998 )

I name this here fork "Pittsburgh Nellie". (IMDB: 7)

On: 5/13/2020 12:00:00 AM By: Hey_Sweden
Chris Farley had his last leading role here, in a feature released five months after his death. A great epitaph it is not, but it does showcase him in the kind of role he was obviously born to play. Bartholomew Hunt is a rowdy tracker hired by effete adventurer Leslie Edwards (Matthew Perry) in 1804 America. Edwards hopes to make a name for himself beating Lewis & Clark to the Pacific Ocean. Hunt & Edwards set out for the coast, in the company of various other kooks and half-wits. They must deal with Indian tribes, a bear, an eagle protecting its nest, and an arrogant Conquistador named Hidalgo (Kevin Dunn).

Both Farley and Perry are well-cast in what amounts to a fairly enjoyable comedy. Like a lot of comedies, it has its share of gags that work and those that don't. One might consider this an off-day for veteran writer / performer / director Christopher Guest, who'd started his string of "mockumentaries" with "Waiting for Guffman" the previous year. But it's all put across by an enthusiastic bunch of actors, with supporting players like Dunn, a hilarious Eugene Levy as a French "language expert" named Fontenot, Hamilton Camp, and Patrick Cranshaw tending to steal the show. A tantalizing Lisa Barbuscia is the love interest for Perry, playing Fontenots' Indian wife. Bokeem Woodbine, as Edwards' slave, is unfortunately under-utilized.

Various familiar faces - Don Lake, Lewis Arquette, Christian Clemenson, and Brent Hinkley - turn up, and Guests' longtime colleague Harry Shearer does the opening narration. Michael McKean is credited as "project consultant".

A decent attempt at creating the period, lovely photography, and use of various wilderness locales all help in making this pleasant enough to watch, if also rather easy to forget. At the least, it may make a viewer interested enough to read up on Lewis & Clark, as it pokes fun at details of their own historic journey.

Six out of 10.

Underrated! (IMDB: 10)

On: 2/1/2019 12:00:00 AM By: nrapny-01694
This movie, at least to me, is a classic. The duo of Farley and Perry is perfect. The cast is multitalented and memorable. I really wish this movie got more credit.

Farley was fantastic (IMDB: 6)

On: 8/20/2018 12:00:00 AM By: kevinmcourtney
...but Matthew Perry was pretty terrible. The other cast members were pretty solid though.

Farley delivers gold. (IMDB: 10)

On: 7/23/2013 12:00:00 AM By: spit_fire20
This is without a doubt, one of my all-time favorite movies. Chris Farley does not disappoint in what is his best and last, lead role ever. You will be clutching your stomach from laughter from the get-go all the way until the final minutes. There is no weak part in this movie. Almost Heroes is packed with unforgettably hilarious scenes that will keep you laughing years from now when you reminisce on them. Farley's top-notch performance is aided and enhanced by his nearly equally funny ensemble of fellow cast members. Eugene Levy and Matthew Perry keep the laughter ball rolling throughout and there are about four others who are downright hysterical. This is a must-see film that is wildly underrated and enormously under-appreciated. Watch this movie if you want chiseled, 6- pack abs from laughing so hard.

Pure Comedy Gold (IMDB: 10)

On: 6/5/2011 12:00:00 AM By: stachowiakjacob-73-757609
Leslie Edwards (Matthew Perry) and Bartholow Hunt (Chris Farley) lead a team of rag-tag misfits on a quest to beat Lewis & Clark to the Pacific Coast. A magnificent early 1800's western environment encompasses the explorers on their journey. All awhile, an undeniably catchy score plays in the background.However, obviously, the comedy is the movie's overt strong point. Decent to commendable comedic performances are had throughout the whole cast. Despite the wonderful work done by Perry and Farley, the true comedy emanates from the supporting cast; including an outrageous performance by Eugene Levy as the Frenchman Guy Fontenot. The movie is so entertaining that an empty feeling is cast upon some when the movie reaches it's conclusion. The sorrow is even more painful due to Farley's death and it being his last major performance. Overall, huge laughs are to be had in this 'historical' comedic achievement.

underrated, non stop hilarity (IMDB: 8)

On: 5/28/2010 12:00:00 AM By: puttputtk
Almost Heroes (1998)

5 Word Summary

Explorers race Louis and Clark

In early American history two explorers named Louis and Clark attempt to be the first to map a route to the Pacific Ocean. However, Bartholomew Hunt and Leslie Edwards are on their tail. Hunt (Farley), Edwards (Perry) and their men race their way to beat Louis and Clarke. Even squirrels, waterfalls, bears and crazy Spaniards cant stop them.

Honestly I'm at a loss of words with the rating of the film. This is probably my favorite Chris Farley film, even over Tommy Boy (though I've seen Tommy Boy tons of times, that might be why.) Now I know its not necessarily well made but its not poorly made by any means. The Performances are hilarious, at least from Farley and Levy and some of the other men, Matthew Perry wasn't at his best by far but held in there.

Its just one of those adventure comedies that have been done plenty of times but this is just a new version of it. With any film like that (Vacation, Harold and Kumar, Detroit Rock City, ETC) you know its going to be ridiculous and completely unrealistic but that just adds to the humor in my opinion.

It also is one of my favorite movies to quote. There is so many hilarious lines that you can pretty much quote it for as long as the film is itself. "White water in the morning," "Bent Twig," "Pittsburg Nellie," "why don't you get your own bottle" these are just a few of my favorite lines/scenes, (if you haven't seen it yet these wont make sense obviously.)

It is for sure a "dumb" comedy for the most part but sometimes that's more fun.

Id recommend this film to anyone that needs an easy laugh, and of course anyone who loves Chris Farley

A Funny Story With Some Dull Spots (IMDB: 7)

On: 1/9/2010 12:00:00 AM By: cheersfan213
First off, Chris Farley is hysterical in any movie and can make even the weakest material work. At some points in this movie, that is exactly what he did. However, the story wasn't a complete mess, it was actually quite good in parts. Especially when they encounter all the pitfalls throughout their journey, the script is very sharp and funny. Other parts drag quite a bit, and Eugene Levy's character was just completely unnecessary and unfunny. Matthew Perry had only a couple funny scenes, the rest of the movie he just served as straight man for Farley, who honestly didn't need him--- he could've made this movie work on his own without Perry's help. Better editing could've made the film seem less strung-out and I think it ran a little too long for a comedy. I also wish Franklin Cover's character could've been featured more extensively, I really enjoyed his scene in the film. All in all, a decent comedy adventure. 7/10.

The Best, Funniest And Greatest Overlooked History Lesson Never Told In The Books. (IMDB: 10)

On: 1/1/2010 12:00:00 AM By: Dawalk-1
I first caught this movie when it aired on CW a few months ago. It's a real thrill that's full of amusing moments. The basis of this 19th century story is that two explorers named Bartholomew Hunt (Chris Farley) and Leslie Edwards (Matthew Perry), among and along with several, other allies go on an expedition and they're in a competition of sorts against Lewis and Clark. Which make both duos counterparts and rivals to each other. This is a fun spin on what could've nearly been historically had the former duo's group beaten the latter's to the punch. The meeting between comedy and history makes for a much more engaging and compelling subject matter. It's a fine outing as the grand finale of the late, former SNL alumnus Farley's film performances. One of the highlights for me and among my favorite parts is when Bart gets carried away by the eagle before falling into the ocean (or was it the sand dune/beach? I'm not sure). Hopefully, for those who aren't very into crude humor, it's few and far between, so y'all should be able to get past those moments and check it out, if y'all haven't already. I think I've seen some or most of Farley's films and I still haven't even settled on a favorite (most and least) yet. And he did it again, having another hit with this one. I'm with those who disagree with the others who could be known as the haters of this movie, it's as great, if not better, than the other movies in one of the lead actors' filmographies. This comical adventure flick is a rollicking, grand old time y'all will neither regret nor forget.

great movie (IMDB: 9)

On: 9/2/2006 12:00:00 AM By: elainesocrazy
this is a pretty obscure movie, so it may be hard to find. i couldn't get it at blockbuster but it was at the local library. its got some language and sexual content but its not really really dirty or any thing.

its about 2 explorers who are racing lewis and clark to the pacific. the main characters are supposed to be just like the people from the lewis and clark expedition. (lesie edwards is meriweather lewis, hunt is clark, etc.)

its really funny and it has some "chris farley getting hurt" in it. i saw it on comedy central and then i rented it and forced my family to watch it.

Easily Forgettable Film I Hope To Easily Forget (IMDB: 4)

On: 8/13/2006 12:00:00 AM By: gavin6942
Let me just say I am by no means a fan of Chris Farley. He's done a few good things, understood physical comedy and might have someday been the next big thing. But he's not, in retrospect, anything amazing. Everyone knows "Black Sheep" and "Tommy Boy" are the same movie, and all he really gave to this film was the same shtick of flapping his arms and grunting. Which is not my cup of tea. And Matthew Perry? Maybe he's just ingrained in my mind as Chandler Bing, but this role seemed so wrong.

This is the story of two men who are trying to race Lewis and Clark to the Pacific Ocean in 1804. Although, this is only the background to a film about Perry trying to steal another man's wife and an ongoing battle against a Spaniard obsessed with his hair.

The film is not really very funny (especially after you write off Farley) and seemed to me to be in a similar vein to "Cannibal the Musical", except being that Cannibal was infinitely funnier and relied on no name actors and no budget. So, thank you Hollywood for blowing millions on a film that was poorly made and not very special... I'm sure Farley wanted this to be his swan song.

I have nothing really great to say about this film, but I don't want to keep tearing it a new one because I already know people stand against me on this. Well, they can have this movie and watch it until their DVD player starts smoking. I hope I never see this film ever again. (Although, I guess after recently seeing "The Ringer" I could have done worse.)

A Must See (IMDB: 9)

On: 7/16/2006 12:00:00 AM By: Mike Elgie
Today was the first time I actually saw this movie (I know, I'm late), but I think it was a really good movie. It was a great comedy that had me laughing all the way through. I loved the plot of it all, as I never thought I could be laughing at the setting and time this was happening. Chris Farley and Matt Perry were a great combination in this film, and it really made me see Matthew Perry for the great actor he is. The sad thing is, I never even heard of this movie until I came across it today. You'd think a great funny (very, VERY funny) comedy like this would be more noticed. I'm actually very surprised I've never heard people even mention this fantastic title. I loved everything about this film. Hilarious characters, great actors... this movie is a must see.

Not as bad as "Beverly Hills Ninja" - it's got some funny parts (IMDB: 4)

On: 9/12/2005 12:00:00 AM By: MovieAddict2016
This was a huge flop when it was released (if memory serves correctly, it is in the Box Office Failures Hall of Fame). Chris Farley had died five months before its release, there were bad screenings, negative sneak preview reviews, etc... and when they finally put it out, the film tanked.

I've never found Farley funny but this movie is okay. It's got some funny scenes. It's original and has some clever puns on the whole Lewis and Clark adventure - it's essentially about two guys (Matthew Perry and Farley) who decide to "beat" Lewis and Clark by "getting there first." Christopher Guest receives directorial credit, which is surprising considering this isn't a "mockumentary." The direction overall isn't too great and I would never guess it was one of his films if I didn't know any better.

Farley is annoying as usual, and Perry is doing his Chandler routine - could he BE any more predictable? (Wink, wink.) There's a lot of crude humor and some stupid childish gags that embarrass rather than entertain (such as Farley's fight with the eagle).

To be perfectly honest this isn't a "terrible" film. I've seen worse, and at least it made me laugh, which is more than can be said for Farley's other film, "Beverly Hills Ninja." But at the end of the day it's still just okay and not good enough to warrant a good review.

(IMDB: 8/10)

On: 3/3/2005 12:00:00 AM By: Brandt Sponseller
This one is deliciously high concept--What if famed explorers Louis andClark were plagued with a band of ridiculous, incompetent, bumblingignoramus rivals?

Leslie Edwards (Matthew Perry) is the organizer of the alternateexpedition, and seems the brightest of the bunch. At least until yourealize that he thinks good choices for his team include BartholomewHunt (Chris Farley) as their wilderness-hardened guide with experienceand Guy Fontenot (Eugene Levy) as the team's translator. Hunt isbasically Farley playing himself, which is both hilariously funny andprofoundly tragic at the same time, and Fontenot makes it clear that hedoesn't know much about other languages. At first we give Edwards kudosfor deselecting him, but when Fontenot lets it be known that he'll onlyjoin the expedition if his hot Indian woman (she's not a spouse orgirlfriend to him, but property), Shaquinna (Lisa Barbuscia), can alsocome along, Edwards figures that they probably won't need atranslator's services that badly anyway, so brings him on the journey.

Levy is great at playing an attractive dunderhead. But we already knewthat. That's what he's been doing since his early days on "Second CityTV" (SCTV) (1976). What's more surprising is that Perry can soeffectively come across as a sophisticated halfwit. Perry's performanceis so dryly funny that during his scenes it can be easy to mistakeAlmost Heroes for a much more serious endeavor than the MelBrooks-styled farce that it is. Farley has no such subtle complexitiesin his performance, but he's none the worse for that. He just actsnatural, aside from feigning idiocy, as an extremely self-indulgent,substance-abusing boor. That may not sound funny, but in the context ofthe film, it is--Farley was as good at this stuff as was his idol, JohnBelushi. It's only made tragic by the knowledge that similar behavioroff-camera led to his premature death shortly after making this film.The rest of the cast tends to be just as funny, if a bit underused. Forthat matter, though, even Levy is a bit underused.

What brought my score for Almost Heroes down slightly was the fact thatit may be a bit too episodic. The episodes are all like very good toexcellent skits on "Saturday Night Live" (1975) or SCTV, but theydidn't necessarily flow together as a film. Taken separately, many ofthe skits are worthy of a 10--the IMDb message boards are full ofthreads with viewers citing their favorite moments. Reading throughthose after watching the film, just thinking about many of them againmade me laugh out loud. But as a whole, Almost Heroes seems a bitunderdeveloped from what it might have been. This may not beChristopher Guest's best work as a director, but it's worth watchingand definitely deserves a DVD release.

Very funny if a bit too episodic (IMDB: 8)

On: 3/3/2005 12:00:00 AM By: BrandtSponseller
This one is deliciously high concept--What if famed explorers Louis and Clark were plagued with a band of ridiculous, incompetent, bumbling ignoramus rivals?

Leslie Edwards (Matthew Perry) is the organizer of the alternate expedition, and seems the brightest of the bunch. At least until you realize that he thinks good choices for his team include Bartholomew Hunt (Chris Farley) as their wilderness-hardened guide with experience and Guy Fontenot (Eugene Levy) as the team's translator. Hunt is basically Farley playing himself, which is both hilariously funny and profoundly tragic at the same time, and Fontenot makes it clear that he doesn't know much about other languages. At first we give Edwards kudos for deselecting him, but when Fontenot lets it be known that he'll only join the expedition if his hot Indian woman (she's not a spouse or girlfriend to him, but property), Shaquinna (Lisa Barbuscia), can also come along, Edwards figures that they probably won't need a translator's services that badly anyway, so brings him on the journey.

Levy is great at playing an attractive dunderhead. But we already knew that. That's what he's been doing since his early days on "Second City TV" (SCTV) (1976). What's more surprising is that Perry can so effectively come across as a sophisticated halfwit. Perry's performance is so dryly funny that during his scenes it can be easy to mistake Almost Heroes for a much more serious endeavor than the Mel Brooks-styled farce that it is. Farley has no such subtle complexities in his performance, but he's none the worse for that. He just acts natural, aside from feigning idiocy, as an extremely self-indulgent, substance-abusing boor. That may not sound funny, but in the context of the film, it is--Farley was as good at this stuff as was his idol, John Belushi. It's only made tragic by the knowledge that similar behavior off-camera led to his premature death shortly after making this film. The rest of the cast tends to be just as funny, if a bit underused. For that matter, though, even Levy is a bit underused.

What brought my score for Almost Heroes down slightly was the fact that it may be a bit too episodic. The episodes are all like very good to excellent skits on "Saturday Night Live" (1975) or SCTV, but they didn't necessarily flow together as a film. Taken separately, many of the skits are worthy of a 10--the IMDb message boards are full of threads with viewers citing their favorite moments. Reading through those after watching the film, just thinking about many of them again made me laugh out loud. But as a whole, Almost Heroes seems a bit underdeveloped from what it might have been. This may not be Christopher Guest's best work as a director, but it's worth watching and definitely deserves a DVD release.

(IMDB: 7/10)

On: 2/22/2005 12:00:00 AM By: fefe_fallon_morris
I love this movie. I love movies with stupid humor in them, and thismovie just cracks me up. How can you not laugh? Chris Farley's one ofthe greats. Him, Matthew Perry and especially the rest of the cast keepyou laughing from beginning to end. It's hard for me to pick a favoritecharacter. I really like Bidwell, his misadventures had me rolling onthe floor in laughter, but the comedic genius of Farley had me goingtoo. One of my most favorite parts had to be when they bring the boatashore and meet the Native Americans, and they think the really tallone's the Chief, but it turns out he's not, his real name's Bent Twigand he's really mentally retarded. I laughed for almost 5 minutesstraight on that part. This movie's definitely in my top 10.

Oh dear (IMDB: 4)

On: 1/12/2005 12:00:00 AM By: Philip Van der Veken
Someone really should help Matthew Perry choosing better movie scripts or at least explain him that overacting and making a fool out of himself isn't exactly a guarantee for funny movies. In 'Friends' he was OK, probably only because there were enough characters to keep him out of the spotlights most of the time, but this time he's one of the main characters, so you'll see him more than is good for your (mental) health.

The movie is about a bunch of people who will try to reach the coast of the pacific ocean before Lewis and Clark. Of course the entire expedition consists of lunatics, idiots and fools, but that won't keep them from trying to win the race anyway.

The tag line already said everything you need to know: Almost History... Almost Legends... Mostly Ridiculous. I couldn't agree more or have you ever thought to see the conquistadors fighting some 19th century colonists? Neither did I, but here they are. 'Almost legends'? True, this movie is already legendary because of its stupidity and bad taste and 'mostly ridiculous', I don't even bother to explain that one.

I'm not saying that everything in the movie is bad, but it just tries to be too much and ends up being nothing at all. It is some kind of spoof, an adventure movie, a historical movie (although far from correct, but that's probably where the humor should be in),... all in one. I'm not saying that the combination has to be a guarantee for failure, but than you'll need much better direction and a better script. This time it isn't worth much. I give it a 4/10.

Oh dear (IMDB: 4)

On: 1/12/2005 12:00:00 AM By: philip_vanderveken
Someone really should help Matthew Perry choosing better movie scripts or at least explain him that overacting and making a fool out of himself isn't exactly a guarantee for funny movies. In 'Friends' he was OK, probably only because there were enough characters to keep him out of the spotlights most of the time, but this time he's one of the main characters, so you'll see him more than is good for your (mental) health.

The movie is about a bunch of people who will try to reach the coast of the pacific ocean before Lewis and Clark. Of course the entire expedition consists of lunatics, idiots and fools, but that won't keep them from trying to win the race anyway.

The tag line already said everything you need to know: Almost History... Almost Legends... Mostly Ridiculous. I couldn't agree more or have you ever thought to see the conquistadors fighting some 19th century colonists? Neither did I, but here they are. 'Almost legends'? True, this movie is already legendary because of its stupidity and bad taste and 'mostly ridiculous', I don't even bother to explain that one.

I'm not saying that everything in the movie is bad, but it just tries to be too much and ends up being nothing at all. It is some kind of spoof, an adventure movie, a historical movie (although far from correct, but that's probably where the humor should be in),... all in one. I'm not saying that the combination has to be a guarantee for failure, but than you'll need much better direction and a better script. This time it isn't worth much. I give it a 4/10.

very funny (IMDB: 7)

On: 8/19/2004 12:00:00 AM By: vchimpanzee
In 1804, President Thomas Jefferson commissioned Lewis and Clark to explore the newly acquired Louisiana Territory and find a route to the Pacific. Other explorers followed Lewis and Clark but didn't become famous--if you believe this movie.

Among these less well-known explorers was Leslie Edwards, who seemed too much of a spoiled rich kid to spend time in the untamed wilderness--which is why he tried at first to take all the comforts of home with him, including a slave. He needed an expert tracker, but for some reason he had to settle for a man who was in the process of being hanged for drunk and disorderly conduct that included forcing a military officer to waltz. Supposedly, President Jefferson had commuted that sentence, but the signature could have been forged.

The rest of the crew was nothing to brag about. In fact, a number of them, after hearing they would have to travel upstream, wanted to take the easy way out and go to New Orleans instead. One old geezer simply wanted to see the Pacific but got out of doing any work because he was ... well, old. Guy Fontenot claimed to know all the languages of the Indian tribes the group would encounter. But the first time he was called on to translate, he explained that the language was one he didn't know. He brought along the Indian maiden Shaquinna and was insanely jealous whenever anyone would even look at her.

Along the way to the Pacific, our heroes encountered a number of strange Indians and even stranger villains such as Hidalgo. They also visited a full-fledged community established by whites--highly unlikely, but then, this wasn't supposed to be historically accurate.

This was a very funny movie, but whether it was quality depends on one's interpretation. For me, this was quite entertaining. Some examples: Bidwell loses an ear, and Pratt picks it up and speaks into it--for the rest of the movie--believing Bidwell will be able to hear him. And Hunt climbed a tree to get an eagle's egg--three times. I won't say why it had to be three times, or why he really regretted the second and third trips. But it was the highlight of the whole movie. There was also a scene where an Indian kept slapping the white men because they did not respect his customs. Or was that the real reason? And the entire movie was filled with physical comedy such as falling off cliffs.

One criticism--if Matthew Perry was supposed to have a British accent, or at least the accent of New England aristocracy, he seemed to forget in the more strenuous scenes.

The objective was to get to the Pacific before Lewis and Clark. Did they? Of course I can't say. I can say that from a distance in several scenes, we could see what appeared to be two men and an Indian woman, and a dog. Whether they made it or not, the effort was certainly one to be enjoyed.

(IMDB: )

On: 5/30/2004 12:00:00 AM By: Sean
I'm from Montana and had to study Lewis and Clark. Almost Heroes isgreat it makes fun of all the details from their journey. Down toSacajawea and the waterfall passage. My favorite quote is at the startof the movie when Hunt says "If you wanted a tracker why didn't youchoose William Clark?" and Edwards responds "Don't you think I triedthat." If anyone likes Chris Farley they will enjoy this film. Somepeople says his comedy wasn't a physical as before. Did those peoplewatch this movie. How about the eagle scene or at the party. Or howabout the bar scene or the dentist. At the start of the movie his isdragged on stage to be hung. Some people on this board probably don'tlike Chris Farley. Or maybe they don't like Matthew Perry. That howevershouldn't mean they should hate every movie with them.

9/10

'Almost' Perfect! (IMDB: 7)

On: 5/9/2004 12:00:00 AM By: jellyneckr
ALMOST HEROES was without a doubt one of the funniest movies of 1998. It was also one of those rare comedies that are almost perfect. After seeing it several times now, I still feel it could have been perfect if not for two things. The first being that despite the movie being very well edited, there are times when it seems that there was some serious cutting down for a PG-13 rating.

The second thing keeping this movie from being perfect is just like with OLD SCHOOL, there are some attempts at humor in the movie that seem out of place in a movie like this. Sadly, this was Chris Farley's last movie. Nearly seven years after his death, it is still hard to believe he's gone. He was in my opinion, the funniest guy ever!