Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for Class Reunion ( 1982 )

Way ahead of it's time. (IMDB: 7)

On: 4/18/2020 12:00:00 AM By: dominic_champniss
One of the first parody slasher movies and probably the best.A film I grew up with and holds a lot of fond memories.Extremely quotable and worthy of a remake.

Check it out.

A hidden gem (IMDB: 10)

On: 8/29/2018 12:00:00 AM By: johnnynotty
This is my partners favourite movie. And after 13 years I have seen it many many times. I like it more and more every time I see it, but to see how much joy it brings him is the reason I give this film 10 out of 10 rating x

"What a great bunch of kids". (IMDB: 3)

On: 1/8/2011 12:00:00 AM By: lost-in-limbo
A mostly unfunny, one-joke spoof on the high school / slasher sub-genre that got to me not because of the lack of laughs, but to just how tediously uninteresting the story felt. I found the two stoner buddies (Barry Diamond and Art Evans) amusing enough and so of Gerry Graham's mannered performance along with Anne Ramsey's grouchy cafeteria worker. However for most part I found it a hard task to sit through, trying not to fast-forward (yep I was watching it on a VHS tape). Deliberately goofball in tone --- it keeps its quips quite crude, where the running gags only get repetitively stale and even embarrassing. The material was penned by John Hughes, where he sets up the situation quite well enough but then does nothing then rely on its random, if witlessly lacklustre occurrences and disappointingly screwed-up conclusion. The silly plot sees the class of 72 returns to their old rundown high school Lizzie Borden High for a reunion, but they are soon terrorised by a former student that recently escaped the loony bin seeking revenge for the prank that put him there. Michael Miller's direction is gimmicky, but the low-scale execution holds up better than it should and there's a high-energy soundtrack to boot. The cast is made-up of colourful, over-the-top characters; Michael Lerner, Misty Rowe, Miriam Flynn, Stephen Furst and Mews Small.

My favourite Movie of all time (IMDB: 10)

On: 4/30/2010 12:00:00 AM By: daren-keegan
OK now this movie wont be for everyone but it happens to be my absolute favourite movie of all time. I remember first seeing this when I was about 7 years old and I haven't stopped watching it since. There is no master plot, a high school student is tricked into having it off with his twin sister and then choose to take revenge on them all at his ten year reunion. Trouble is his former class mates are all a bunch of weirdos so the job is easier said then done.

The former class mates are all very weird from the woman who has sold her soul to the devil (Dolores Salk) to the former beauty Queen Meridith in her stylish silver dress. This film is very about the character interaction and the humour.

Favourite scene - When Dolores first meets up with Bunny at the bar - weird but genius. Yes that is her thumb she uses to light a cigarette.

Great B-movie, funny if you don't expect too much, but worth a look (Red Hot Chili Pepper's Dad in it!!) (IMDB: 8)

On: 5/15/2006 12:00:00 AM By: cola_warz
Did you know, that Anthony Kiedis, (singer from the Red Hot Chili Peppers) father is in this movie. Blackie Dammit, is Anthony's father. I noticed this after reading "Scar Tissue" Anthony's autobiography, and saw a picture of his father. I thought, "well, that guy kinda looks like that guy from that movie I saw in the eighties. Then I read more and it said his father was an actor that had a few small roles. After checking this site, and comparing with a search on the net, I realized it really is his father in the movie. It's funny, because nowhere in the book does it mention him being in this movie. Perhaps his son was ashamed of his father's acting job in this flick, but he need not be. I think his father, Blackie, did a great job in the show.

S10 Reviews: National Lampoon's Class Reunion (1982) (IMDB: 7)

On: 8/17/2005 12:00:00 AM By: suspiria10
The Class of 1972 from Lizzie Borden High (nyuk, nyuk) is all gathering together for their ten-year reunion. All those guys you remember are back. The jock, ms. Popular, the cripple, the nobody, the class pump, the girl who sold her soul to the devil so she could get rid of leg braces and now breathes fire and has an Exorcist thing going on and let's not forget Howard Baylor. Baylor escaped from the loony bin just to get back at the poor slobs who pulled the senior prank on him (he made-out with his twin sister) and put him there to begin with. All that and a National Lampoon charter to boot?Whoa Nelly!

Certainly not the most popular National Lampoon film (it's got a serious reputation for being bad) but I actually had fun with it. It moved at a pretty fast pace with enough bad jokes and screwiness to keep me entertained. Give it a view. "National Lampoon's Class Reunion" may grow on you like that rash you got from gym.

'a leisurely evacuation' (IMDB: 6)

On: 6/20/2005 12:00:00 AM By: transient-2
You can't convince someone to like this movie. I found the image of a high school class singing The Supremes over the ornate corpse of a Krishna to be comically endearing. I also liked the image of Scatman Caruthers bicycling through flying sausages in "Zapped!" with Scott Baio; neither of these films can be called excellent, but each has a tepid silliness which is pleasant. Gerrit Graham and Michael Lerner make memorable characters, and the rest are painless. 'Painless' is a high rating for any as jaded as I.

Never having read the original lampoon concept, and never having seen a 'John Hughes' film prior to this one (it is hard to recognize John Hughes in here - although the film takes place in a high school, the characters are all adults) I thought it was at least as funny as Animal House, which I never really found that funny.

People Can Be So Cruel (IMDB: 10)

On: 4/7/2005 12:00:00 AM By: jamesbourke59
Personal taste rules when it comes to talking about movies such as this treasured little gem. Way back in the eighties, the early eighties, i discovered this movie, like so many released at the time, "Night Patrol" "Bad Manners" or even "King Frat" the artwork and blurbs on the back of the covers tempted and teased you.

Of course being of an age, movies like that i have already mentioned as well as stuff like "Screwballs" and the many others, captured the imagination, and thankfully many years later i still remember some with fondness and some with disdain the many movies that help maintain my love of such genre as parodies or pastiches.

Made many years after the huge success of "Animal House" and having seen how it had fared down through the years, I now know that there would be no way this movie would ever eclipse the box office bucks obtain aforementioned nor would it linger in the memory, much like that of National Lampoon's Vacation.

To be honest, not everything that has carried the National Lampoon Logo has been a wild success, however to me Class Reunion remains one of my all time favourite movies, with instantly recognisable characters, such as the aloof Bob Spinnaker played to perfection by Gerrit Graham, so good in Charles Band's "Terrorvision" still lingering in the past glories of his youth. Or how about Stephen Furst's brash and ballsy turn as the high school lazy drunken sex crazed bum Hubert Downs.

Sweet as. Which makes me ponder. As i already said, personal taste not withstanding. People can be so cruel, so it will never win any awards or be compared to the like of its's peers within the comedy world. It does have some merit. Being one of the earlier scripts penned by John Hughes, who would later go on to do one of my own favourites of his work "Weird Science" as well as having a wonderful theme title sung by the great Gary U.S Bonds.

What more can i say, it's a movie just waiting to be rediscovered, time and time again.

Where's the Beef (IMDB: 4)

On: 3/18/2005 12:00:00 AM By: caspian1978
Gerrit Graham is a great actor....but he can not star in a movie. Much like football, Gerrit has the talent to run the ball in for a touchdown but can't. However, he is a guarantee 3 points every game. Here, Gerrit is good but does nothing as the star of the movie. The entire cast has there moments, but nothing worth keeping your attention for an entire 90 minutes. The movie at times seems too low budget to be anything great like Animal House or Chritmas Vacation. The story is pure humor, nothing but quick and sometimes witty fart jokes that only make you laugh for a second or two. Nudity is added just for pure laughs, nothing terrific. All in all, it is a quick comedy with nothing to show for it. The movie starts out good with a potential story but ends quick and corny.

It lasted one week in theaters! (IMDB: 1)

On: 5/5/2004 12:00:00 AM By: Maciste_Brother
NATIONAL LAMPOON'S CLASS REUNION was a flop when it was released. It didn't stay long in theaters in my big city. Why? Because it's BAD!!!!!

Not bad in a good way but bad in a really painfully unfunny way. The entire cast of actors were mostly unknowns then and have remained unknowns after this turkey.

The idea is actually great (a parody of slasher flicks) but the execution is sorely lacking in every aspect.

Just avoid this "comedy". Your time is more precious than spending a nanosecond watching this embarrassing misfire.

Zane Buzby (IMDB: 7)

On: 1/7/2003 12:00:00 AM By: barbarella70
Dreadful spoof on '80's horror flicks isn't on the rock-bottom-level as Scary Movie 2 only because it's too dull. I have no real idea why I'm writing about this movie but I do want to say that Zane Buzby's comic timing as Doloris -the crippled girl who sold her soul to the Devil- is perfect and made me laugh like crazy. Her initial introduction at the bar, all her banter with Miriam Flynn's Bunny, and her final dance while the credits rolled are funnier than most of the teen cult movies and Saturday Night Live skits we have now! I've never seen her since but she was great here!

Also worth mentioning are the brief appearance of the late Anne Ramsey (Throw Mama from the Train) as the cigarette smoking lunch lady and a set piece involving a nervous young wife's confession to a priest about her extracurricular activities.

This is one of those bad movies you see that contain some great honest laughs but you're too ashamed to tell anyone about it.

Classic Comedy (IMDB: 10)

On: 11/25/2001 12:00:00 AM By: delago1245
This movie is probably my favorite movie of all time. Miriam Flynn is excellent as Bunny Packard. Zane Buzby as Delores is comic genius. The rest of the cast is amazing, and the film is really really funny. A definite satire of horror films, with a zany twist. If you enjoy a fun, comedy filled evening, then go and rent this classic. You'll laugh all the way through!

funny! (IMDB: 7)

On: 4/30/2001 12:00:00 AM By: AppleAsylum
this is a funny one! it is one of those "porky's" kind of movies. the stoners,the bimbo,the dork,the cook,the jock, & the killer make up 2 hours of silly fun. zane buzby has to be the best part of this movie though. on scale of 1-10 & keeping in mind that its pure fun. (7)

Under-rated? More like under-achieved! (IMDB: 2)

On: 2/19/2001 12:00:00 AM By: Glyde Stick
Anyone who thinks this film has not been appreciated for its comic genius must have been smoking with the two stoners in the film. This film is NOT under-rated...it is a bad movie.

There should be no comparisons between this film and The Naked Gun or Airplane since the latter two films are well written and funny. Class Reunion is neither of those things. The sad thing is it had such potential (good cast, good story lines) but the good jokes are few and far between. The scenes that were supposed to be funny came off more annoying than amusing. The stoner guys, the vampire, the blind girl...NOT FUNNY. The only funny character were Delores (the one who sold her soul to the devil).

National Lampoon has made some really good films (Animal House, Vacation) but this isn't one of them. I certainly expected more from John Hughes.

Not as bad as the critics make it out to be. (IMDB: 7)

On: 8/15/1999 12:00:00 AM By: Andy B-8
I first saw this film around ten years ago and I thought it was very funny indeed. It was not as bad as some critics were making it out to be. The fact that it was written by the usually dependable John Hughes shows that you can at least expect some funny dialogue. (By the way, I also think Weird Science is quite good which was also penned in lightning speed by Hughes).

The film has a very garish look to it using all the primary colours - reds, yellows etc - which makes it look quite unique. The cast are also quite good. The prudish Bunny Packard and the devil-possessed Delores Salk are a stand out.

The film has certainly dated a little but I personally prefer it to all the other 'Lampoon' series.

A highly underrated film... (IMDB: 9)

On: 1/18/1999 12:00:00 AM By: Chris-375
National Lampoon's Class Reunion is a classic comedy film from the early 80's which combines unique characters, lots of laughs, and some great music from Chuck Berry. When Walter Bailor is absolutely humiliated by his classmates at their high school graduation he seizes the opportunity to get his revenge at his class reunion. One by one he stalks his classmates who include an innocent blind girl, a horny fat guy, the high school beauty, the king of all preps and even the ugly old lunch lady who served up slops to all the kids during highschool. This film has a sort of scary element in it and it has a few brief scenes of sexuality so I wouldn't recommend it for young children but it's a great movie for teens. If you are looking for a movie with a beautiful score, complex characters or killer special effects you might not love Class Reunion. If you want to sit down for 90 minutes and have some great laughs and a lot of fun (and who doesn't) then this movie should be on your movies to see list. ++