Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for Hellboy ( 2019 )

Great movie! (IMDB: 9)

On: 7/20/2019 12:00:00 AM By: markua-77666
I loved the other two Hellboy movies so I was skeptical of this one with Harbour. I was pleasantly surprised and really enjoyed this one. The acting was great and the effects and fighting scenes were awesome. Some bad effects here and there but over all a decent film that I really enjoyed!

Hellboy. F-Yeah! (IMDB: 9)

On: 7/12/2019 12:00:00 AM By: deansheppard
OMFG!! So many people want way too much from this film.. It was terrific.. Stop trolling and hating!!! This movie is fun, exciting and true to the source material.. FFS, relax!!!

Let's pretend Hellboy never existed... the character and this film are SOOO BAD...I cant... (IMDB: 1)

On: 5/26/2019 12:00:00 AM By: jere_zabala
Man... I rarely walk out of the cinema before the ending of a film... but this was a torture... the plot, the script, the characters, everything in this movie and comic are always so BAD! SO BIZARRE AND OUT OF CONTEXT! NOTHING HAS SENSE!! I cant get why people like it, I mean, 99% of those must be possers, but the other 1% Im pretty sure they like it for real, and that's so sad, how people like a such an uncharismatic character?? Maybe because they see something that doesnt exist in reality and they are confused, anyway, -10/10, IMDB doesnt let negative notes or 0, so, sadly I have to give it a 1/10 :( But I really do want my money and time back, cause this was a waste!

Terrible (IMDB: 1)

On: 5/18/2019 12:00:00 AM By: craig_t9
Terrible. Didn't expect much from an unknown lead (decent accompanying cast though anything with Milla Jovovich in is usually worth a watch), and then when I saw 5.4 rating on here I was even more dubious. But, tried to read reviews and every one I saw listed was 9 or 10 so couldn't read the bad reviews.Anyway, persisted, started bad, continued bad, stayed bad. Half way through I gave up and turned it off.Not a patch on the first 2.

zzz .... zzz .... zzz (IMDB: 4)

On: 5/8/2019 12:00:00 AM By: FrenchEddieFelson
I really like the character of Hellboy with his little John McClane side, i.e. ? I did not ask to be here, but as I am stuck here, please let me smash them all, one by one, just to have a little fun ?, and the dark atmosphere. The soundtrack is punchy and punk rock. At last, the Computer Generated Imagery is globally successful. For now: that's heavy! Nevertheless, the story is so predictable and terribly far-fetched. In short: desperately annoying. It's really an uninterrupted series of dismemberments, decapitation and eye-gouging delights during manifold battles against apocalyptic monsters. These scenes are strung together at a blistering pace for one disappointing purpose: make you forget an incoherent script full of moronic plot twists. Well, well, well, ... another film without much interest than we will quickly forget.

Unecessary (IMDB: 1)

On: 5/6/2019 12:00:00 AM By: danoftheworld-85555
Already had a great Hellboy film with Ron Perlman. Sure the golden Army sucked but this film makes even that look like a masterpiece. Disjointed story, bad acting and certainly not entertaining. Didn't make you care about any of the characters. It is awful.

Even if the one with Perlman had not been made this film would still be awful, it is just a bad film. The fact that we have the Ron Perlman version just makes it extra rubbish as casting Ron as Hellboy was just perfect.

This film reminds me of the awful resident evil series, Mindless, cheap action with little sense to anything. Really struggled to get through to the end of this one. Tiny brain sheep will enjoy this.

I could not wait for this movie to be over. (IMDB: 1)

On: 4/22/2019 12:00:00 AM By: markwilliamraymond
Story was rushed, very little character development, and the climax was disappointing. They should have funded a 3rd Guillermo del Toro movie instead. I try and give movies a chance, including this one, but the film was really bad. The only other movie I've ever wanted to leave early for was Dumb and Dumber To.

A wash (IMDB: 1)

On: 4/20/2019 12:00:00 AM By: imdb020-643-129772
Unfortunately, the new "Hellboy" movie is a comics on a screen.It's flat, the dialogs are unnecessary, there are fights here and there, there are continuity issues, there are a bad camera work and bad editing.It looks like no one told the director that the cinematography is a very different form of art.The movie is boring and honestly bad.A waste of time and money.

Terrible Writing, Weird Directing and Awful CGI (IMDB: 2)

On: 4/20/2019 12:00:00 AM By: misho-29395
Watching this, it feels like a twelve-year-old wrote the screenplay by tacking together scenes that might look cool without giving any thought to what the dialog would sound like when spoken out loud by human beings. Ian McShane does his best to sound convincing, while some of the other actors don't seem to see the point in even doing that and it's hard to blame them. There are plot holes throughout and segments that make little-to-no sense and add nothing to the story, although would maybe look neat if the effects were any good. The whole thing generally feels like someone slapped together at least four or five stories and tried to turn them into a coherent whole, which wouldn't surprise me, although I don't know enough about the comics to say for certain.

I'm not sure where to place the blame for the awful pacing, but the movie is just unrelenting. There are times when things should wind down, but then it's just more noisy stuff happening. For example, at one point a character is in need of specialized medical attention and they find out it'll be a fairly-long and "treacherous" trek to get it. The character is then cured within 1-2 minutes of runtime, the trek portion being a few seconds of that, then we jump straight into some exposition, then we jump straight back to what we were doing before, presumably after a long and treacherous trek back that also happens instantaneously. To get an idea of how jarring this feels, imagine if Gandalf told Frodo about what it would take to destroy the ring and the next scene was at Mount Doom.

The direction is mostly just odd, and I have no idea if it's because the director couldn't figure out what was happening in the script or because someone was meddling with his work.

Finally, the CGI monsters look terrible. There are some impressive uses of practical effects, but the transitions between those and their CGI counterparts are blatant.

This ain't it chief (IMDB: 5)

On: 4/20/2019 12:00:00 AM By: lawrencestevens-58369
First off I haven't read any of the source material or seen the pearlman films in years so my knowledge of the source material is limited. However I can comment that the script is just so bad, with very cliche lines and moments. The acting from a lot of the supporting cast is quite poor as well with a noticeably poor English accent from Daniel Dae Kim. The comedy missed more than it hit and felt like it was trying to hard. There was a ridiculous amount of exposition that just bored me that kept coming from characters (particularly Ian mcshane, was probably 80% of his script). There was a hell of a lot of violence, I expected that and it was quite fun to watch but perhaps a bit too excessive and unnecessary at times. I give it a 5 because it isn't all bad, David harbour as hellboy was absolutely brilliant and carried the rest of the cast as well as I there was some nice action set pieces and choreography throughout (I particularly liked a one-shot like scene at the end). The cgi was a mixed bag, with some scenes looking good but some scenes at the end particularly laughably bad. Overall this film is quite poor and I don't recommend you see it in cinemas and spend money, perhaps wait till your drunk at home with some friends and watch it on tv or Netflix or whatever. That'll be more of a appropriate viewing experience

Soulless lifeless dull af boring cgi action flick (IMDB: 4)

On: 4/18/2019 12:00:00 AM By: mr_chatila
Had to write this review seeing how so many others give it a 10, seriously? There's almost nothing to like or admire about this compared to the great 2 previous hell-boy movies directed by the great Guillermo del Toro. So disappointing and so forgettable, it's a tragedy and sin to moviegoers they opted to make this ramshackle ruinous flick instead of ending the initial hellboy trilogy by making hellboy 3. The horde (audience) wins over the others who appreciate really good things I guess!!!

Makes Uwe Boll's movies look good. (IMDB: 1)

On: 4/17/2019 12:00:00 AM By: tofairyfuture
It's like and old video game. A rather simple plot, fights in different locations and short cut-scenes with dialogues between them.

This is now the worst film I've ever seen. (IMDB: 1)

On: 4/16/2019 12:00:00 AM By: nopplex
Somewhere there's a monkey at a typewriter claiming plagiarism. I really don't know where to begin with what I hated about this film. Simply put, I would say imagine 7 seasons of Game of Thrones lore and plot twists condensed into 2 hours via a series of flashbacks with added dick joke humour. I imagine my review will be removed but I'll add that the creators manage to include 2, that I can recall, child abuse jokes... because, you know, that's always funny?!

Its Just boring (IMDB: 1)

On: 4/14/2019 12:00:00 AM By: mrkller
The CGI sucks, the editing is poor, hell boy does not act like hell boy and the movie is just boring in general.

Whats wrong with all these critics !.10% on Rotten?.really?This is a really good Hellboy movie with R rating !.Why so many people dislike it? (IMDB: 10)

On: 4/14/2019 12:00:00 AM By: gimlikos
Whats wrong with all these critics !.This is a really good Hellboy movie with R rating !.Why so many people dislike it?.Acting is really good.The story is also really good and unexpected !.The action scene and gore wit R rating is so awesome to see in Big screen.I think I preffer much more the new version of Hellboy movie R rating, than the old one with PG13 !.On RottenTomatoes just 10 % really ?.What is wrong with all these critics I say.I saw much more worse movies in my life , with 90 % on Rottentomatoes.So wtf is wrong with these all critics?.I didnt like the trailer as everyone.I didnt expect to be even average after the trailer.I went to the cinema , and I saw a really good Hellboy movie with one of the best action scene I have ever seen.Really good story and acting.I love the actor that play Hellboy.I recommend this movie.Dont listen all these critics.I think people just dont like so much different ideas in new Hellboy movie with R rating, compare to the old one from Dell Torro which I also like it very much.From me its 8\10.

Monster mash is stomach-churning fun. (IMDB: 10)

On: 4/13/2019 12:00:00 AM By: Phil_M_A_Kerr
It never hurts to be reminded that an Apocalypse is likely to be an horrific event. A handful of shots and scenes in Hellboy deserve to be quickly swept under the carpet of the subconscious. One sequence in particular I found granted the movie it's R rating. Much of it is beyond the pale ... what you'd expect walking in to a R-rated movie. Based on the tone throughout this fillem I think it highly logical that the conclusion was reigned in a good deal. That's not to give anything away because there is a stack of crazy ideas from go to whoa. Not for lovers of fine cinema but for those who might enjoy the charms of a modern monster mash.

Trash. (IMDB: 1)

On: 4/13/2019 12:00:00 AM By: wiseguyclothing
Forced gore + forced humor = TRASH. Maybe if you're an immature 12 year old, you might find this movie entertaining. Anyone with a brain will not. Period.

Unfairly slammed and not given a chance. An actual accurate adaptation from Mignola's comics. (IMDB: 10)

On: 4/12/2019 12:00:00 AM By: philpembentino
Just because Del Toro isnt directing and Hellboy isnt Perlman doesnt mean this film should be getting slammed unfairly the way it is. it's a new vision and adaptation that actually works even better as far as following comic source material. The action and pacing is intense and the horror aspects are really well blended. People keep slandering the cgi and honestly its excellent cgi. The story blends many different particular comics together and it works. David Harbor gives a lot of great character to hellboy as well. Just see this and pay no mind to delusional biased critics and haters. It's a fun adaptation.

A fun movie (IMDB: 9)

On: 4/12/2019 12:00:00 AM By: mckeesean
The new Hellboy was a helluva good time. Yes, it's different from the previous two films. But give it a chance. Harbour does a fantastic job as Hellboy. And the movie draws far more on the source/comic material than the previous films. If you loved the comics, you'll enjoy this movie. Plenty of humor, action, and fantasy to hold your interest.

Love it, need more. (IMDB: 8)

On: 4/12/2019 12:00:00 AM By: lantzstumpp
I strongly urge anyone that considers themselves a fan of #Hellboy, the comics, the characters and not just the #GuillermodelToro/#RonPerlman films, please go see this film. This is a very different take on these iconic characters and the world they inhabit and it is the most fun version that I've seen so far. Don't get me wrong, I loved GDT's films, the man crafts beautiful modern fairly tales and this film was smart no to try and replicate that. Instead, this movie has more in common with #SamRaimi's #ArmyOfDarkness, over the top violence and Gore, not for those with a weak stomach, and frequent profanity. #DavidHarbour does an excellent job and plays the role very differently than Perlman did and it has the potential to propel him from TV into a full time movie star. #IanMcShane brings his usual gravitas and presence to the role previously embodied by the late great #JohnHurt, again being smart to not emulate that performance and make this role entirely his own.

I feel like this movie is suffering from the same disconnect and out of touch effect that critics had with last year's #Venom. Critics almost universally panned that film while audiences similarly loved it. Every negative review I've read for this so far continually compares it unfavorably to the previous films and many also take issues with the excessive use of violence, Gore and adult language. What did you expect, this is an R Rated film and is thoroughly advertised as such.

I hope positive word of mouth from fans makes this successful as they set up some very cool stuff for a potential sequel.

If you love these characters like I do, if you love balls to the wall, over the top action horror, please see this film.