Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for Kajillionaire ( 2020 )

I don't understand all the negative reviews (IMDB: 9)

On: 10/26/2020 12:00:00 AM By: grdriver5
I was more than a little sceptical having read the one star reviews. This is not laugh out loud comedy, more of a drama really. I and my wife in our 60's just loved this quirky movie. It was so well acted I think its Oscar worthy. I can understand all those people who need belly laughter humour. But yeah I nearly gave it 10 stars

What was this film? (IMDB: 3)

On: 10/21/2020 12:00:00 AM By: MikaHaeli8
"Kajillionaire" wanted to be many things - a comedy, a heist film, a drama, a coming-of-age tale, an introspective character piece and more. It failed at being every single one of those things. Gina Rodriguez and the scene at the old man's house were the only good things about it. The parents had one trait shared between them and that was "being awful people", whilst the daughter had one trait and that was "needing therapy of the psychiatric and speech kind". It was slow, it was pretentious, it was boring. And it shouldn't have been billed as a comedy, let alone released in cinemas. Bad film, bad time.

Terrible, the most lifeless thing I think I've ever seen (IMDB: 1)

On: 10/21/2020 12:00:00 AM By: t-unknown-one
The movie is really as bleak as the lowlife penny pinching beggars it portrays. To call their pathetic schemes 'cons' is an insult to cons. The actors are good, Gina Rodriguez character actually has some life and bounce to her but there's nothing here unless you are entertained by pathetic people being as pathetic as possible. I don't mind that it's basically a vehicle for the message any love is good love especially if you've been deprived of it but the script is just terrible, the pace even worse. I can't really think of anything good to say about it. See it if you must but I'm telling you it's a clunker.

All the bad reviews are right. (IMDB: 1)

On: 10/21/2020 12:00:00 AM By: steven-lawer1
Don't bother watching this film, it's boring and of little merit. Stay at home paint a wall and watch the paint dry for a more entertaining evening.

Extremely Unexpected (IMDB: 10)

On: 10/19/2020 12:00:00 AM By: syahputraeqqi
Miranda July seems to do a very good job of directing this film. I was amazed throughout the film with all the elements in it. A neat combination of character oddities, heart warming feeling, with a crime-comedy dressing, and presenting the reality of the lower class economy. My eyes are always stunned to see every scene and story development that is neat, not rushed, and very interesting.

Even though it carries the title kajillionaire, I like it when it is only used as a premise and not continued in the twist, because it will feel cliche if it's done, good job miranda !. The story is funny and entertaining, with the strangeness of each character, in fact it actually supports the story to develop better. Evan Rachel Wood is very exceptional here. The other casts are also very balanced in playing their roles, the problems of each character also support the chemistry and connections that are shown to be more natural. The cinematography that is displayed is very pleasing to the eye, the color palette settings, camera works, and the existing photography-cinema games are amazing, so they bring a light atmosphere with the screenplay that is played. Supported by scoring and background music that add a plus in this film.

Overall, it's an amazing mix of all the film elements. I enjoy it so much. And i Love kind of movie like this.

A beautiful mess (IMDB: 7)

On: 10/18/2020 12:00:00 AM By: novacasa42
A beautiful mess of emotions and storytelling that pierces the heart in its way, KAJILLIONAIRE was all of that and some more.in this wacky and frankly out of sync delivery one tend to lose track of time and reality and just enjoy what's on display, this film offers something quite rare, the ability to see yourself and project your own feeling into it, and that is just amazing, it reflects so many aspects of life no matter what you do or where you live, it's quite universal.I believe that no medium except film can offer such a specific feeling or a style of life, I think this film encapsulates the never ending movie magic that leaves you unbelievably fulfilled.

Great performances, yet boring! (IMDB: 4)

On: 10/17/2020 12:00:00 AM By: raphaelmeillat
Could have been so much better thanks to the great on-screen performances. But I felt it tried too hard. Couldn't care much for the characters after while. And the pace is so slow it feels it's 1h longer than it actually is... Rarely a good sign! There are much better independent quirky movies than this one. So if you can't see the point after 30 mins, just get up and move on!

An interesting premise, that doesn't go anywhere really... (IMDB: 5)

On: 10/17/2020 12:00:00 AM By: 0w0
Imagine this: A movie following the exploits and scams of a family of scamming low-lifes... that sounds really interesting right? Well, they somehow managed to take that pretty interesting premise and make basically NOTHING out of it... the movie isn't funny, and it has very little intrigue, and extremely little drama, and very little adventure.... so it basically has nothing that a movie should have. The movie just kind of drags its feet for 1hour30minutes and then at the very end exhales a very agonizing and labored last breath... it's not really worth watching tbh, not even once! I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, unless you're a massive Evan Rachel Wood fan.

Miranda July, you beauty (IMDB: 9)

On: 10/17/2020 12:00:00 AM By: shawnna777
If you're familiar with Miranda July's films and books you will not be disappointed! It's a truly original film with the perfect cast, it's a work of art.The mess of everything that is 2020 desperately needed this remarkable film!

artificial originality. that's a new one (IMDB: 4)

On: 10/17/2020 12:00:00 AM By: mrpicky
Con movie about con bums. All movie it posed as drama on abused child and then showed it's true artificial shallow nature. Tone deaf. Cringe and cartoonish character of Old Dolio. Cringe story. Cringe ending. It does have something , but the topic of being born into crime families deserved more then this joke.

No. (IMDB: 1)

On: 10/17/2020 12:00:00 AM By: shaik215
No.

Oh god please no. This is the most boring I've seen this year. Had 5 "what the f is goin on?" moment.

Watched it for Evan Rachel Wood and all the postive reviews. But no.

Ugh.

Slow, borring out of this world (IMDB: 2)

On: 10/17/2020 12:00:00 AM By: romandeak
Maybe its me being old just not understanding how this is an art.Slow, slow slow and most important was last minute scene .....Avoid and save 2h of your life.

A movie full of lies! (IMDB: 2)

On: 10/16/2020 12:00:00 AM By: itsabacus2009
Seriously, this is supposed to be, 'the smartest original comedy of the year' burning garbage is more funny and entertaining than this pure rubbish! The movie was annoying, and really the only reason why I watched this movie was because Jenkins was in it; not even he could save this movie! Just another movie where they must have, 'bought positive reviews', because if any of them were legitimate, they wouldn't be praising this film, they would be condemning this movie! Seriously, don't waste your time with this soulless soul sucking movie! Read a book, watch something else, or something; spare yourself this crap fest movie!

Intoxicating (IMDB: 8)

On: 10/16/2020 12:00:00 AM By: sweidman-28016
"We can only ever be how we are."

Miranda July has won me over with her writing and directing. I haven't seen any of her other works but just from this movie I can tell she's someone I should look out for in the future. As a crime-comedy, this works on all levels. Through it all I was entertained. I found the comedy refreshing and worked around human emotion rather than making dumb jokes. What really invested me is the drama. Coming out of the theater I felt like I went through an existential crisis. Starting around the second act, at a certain moment in fact, things take a turn. Not a twist in the story but rather the tone and theme. I enjoyed the first act but wanted a little more out of it. Initially I thought the film would follow this plot with some drama weaved in there somehow. Well that drama came in the most unexpected way where it felt like a kick in the gut. From that moment on I hoped the film wouldn't end.

As a filmmaker, July has a distinct style. She could be categorized under a similar style as Wes Anderson and Taika Waititi. The wide shots showing the uniqueness of the characters early on tell the audience what they're getting into. The camera work in general is well done. There's a scene that everyone will take away after viewing where the cinematography, writing, and directing come hand-in-hand. The way it's done could've been told in a normal fashion, but July makes an awesome decision. I found myself just gawking at the screen.

Through the character of Old Dolio, life lessons are told. Evan Rachel Wood has an amazing transformative performance. Had I not known previously that she is the lead, I would've never guessed. There's something about the film that felt off and it took me a few days to figure it out. Throughout the film, Old Dolio is discovering truths about life. They're truths that we all know about, though, so there's a bit of a connection issue with her character and script. Not that you can't connect with her character because there are some really emotional gripping scenes, but since you know more about the real world than her it's a little more difficult to feel exactly what she's feeling. The character that we can (hopefully) relate to most is Gina Rodriguez. One of her better performances since Annihilation and Jane the Virgin, she brings a lot more to the film than expected. What first seems like a cameo from her actually turns out to be a key role. Richard Jenkins always does a great job and that's no exception here. I found him to be comical yet extremely frustrating. And finally Debra Winger has a similar performance to Jenkins. They match each other well as a duo and she has a powerful scene with Evan Rachel Wood.

Much like The Favourite and Phantom Thread, Kajillionaire becomes increasingly the intoxicating every day after watching. The great score by Emile Moserri has been on repeat in my head and on Spotify. Scenes have played out when I close my eyes. What started as really good movie has become one of the best of the year for me. I urge you to see Kajillionaire. It won't be everyone's cup of tea but it's a great example of filmmaking and acting.

Bleak lesbians (IMDB: 5)

On: 10/15/2020 12:00:00 AM By: ja-berg5
With a few belly laughs along the way!Yes, oddball and so-so.The girl is very pretty though. Fans of feminine girls know what to do.

The Depression, Death, Loneliness, Rebirth, The Smile and The Experience of How to Feel of One Old Dolio???? (IMDB: 8)

On: 10/14/2020 12:00:00 AM By: DoNotComeToTheCinemaDepressed
To Be honest, This Movie Is Most Certainly not for Everybody, but in my Opinion, it's Very Enjoyable to watch and some of the Symbology was Beautiful to Watch.

It is very very Strange at Times and also quite depressing as it Dives into Topics Many People Face.

It made me laugh 3 times Loudly but this is definitely not a comedy but it does have Sporadic Comedic Elements within it. Overall, I Enjoyed It.

NO! NONONONONO!! (IMDB: 1)

On: 10/13/2020 12:00:00 AM By: lachcatoknca
This is a very bad movie. Bad acting. Senseless plot. Depressing, but not in a cathartic way.

I didn't walk out because I kept waiting, waiting for some redeeming aspect to reveal itself. Didn't happen.

If I had paid money to see this movie, I would be very angry. Indeed knowing what I know now, if necessary I would pay money to NOT see this movie. Up to $20.

Interesting film if a little odd and slow (IMDB: 6)

On: 10/13/2020 12:00:00 AM By: coombsstephen
The film is a little strange and often doesn't make a lot of sense but ,none the less, it is watchable and does draw you in.

The characters are OK and just about believable but overall the piece of the film is slow and it lacks a bit of direction.

Worth a watch but don't have high expectations.

A little too odd at first, but really comes into its own later on (IMDB: 7)

On: 10/10/2020 12:00:00 AM By: themadmovieman
There's no getting away from it: Kajillionaire is an odd film. At first, it seems like a movie made for the sake of being weird, but as its story unfolds, you begin to see the method to Miranda July's madness, with an ultimately touching, bittersweet tale of personal independence making for a memorable watch.

First things first, if you're not party to a little bit of eccentricity and dry humour, you might find Kajillionaire rather inaccessible at first. Undeniably, the film struggles to find its feet in an eye-catching but admittedly dull opening act, as we follow the strange day-to-day exploits of a family of scam artists.

Evan Rachel Wood, Debra Winger and Richard Jenkins are fantastic in those roles, but there's very little to their characters early on, and it takes a while for Kajillionaire to really grab you with any real dramatic depth.

Fortunately, things take a turn for the better with the arrival of Gina Rodriguez, who brings a little bit of sense to an otherwise totally bizarre world. The film retains its offbeat sense of humour, but to have that grounded perspective with Rodriguez's excellent performance really helps you to find an in with this family, and the story begins to work off that really nicely.

Unfolding in thoroughly engaging fashion from then on, Kajillionaire deals with a range of interesting and sobering themes including poverty, neglect, abuse, all with a tinge of odd, dark humour to make it that little bit easier to stomach. Admittedly, the film's stranger side does occasionally undermine some of its more serious ideas, but without that charisma, it would likely have been a far less interesting watch.

Kajillionaire really comes good in its final act, however, where it begins to push the boat in terms of weirdness, but also in real, challenging drama. The run to the finish here features some of the movie's oddest moments, but also some of its most affecting and heart-wrenching ones, as we follow Evan Rachel Wood as she begins to discover the world for herself - away from her parents' unique worldview.

Along with Rodriguez, Wood is really fantastic and brings an impressive dramatic dynamic to a film that can occasionally feel a little emotionally opaque. Again, its themes aren't quite as hard-hitting because of its oddity, but there is real, affecting drama in the film's final stages, and that really caps it off in impressive fashion.

Overall, I liked Kajillionaire. It's not a perfect film, and perhaps doesn't manage to use its capacity for eccentricity to full effect, but there's still a worthy story to be heard here. With great performances, interesting themes and unique humour, it's a memorable, if not undeniably odd watch.

One of the worst films ever (IMDB: 1)

On: 10/9/2020 12:00:00 AM By: dawsha-49722
The worst, very slow, have not enjoyed at all unfortunately