Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City ( 2021 )

Solid Adaptation of the First Two Games (IMDB: 7)

On: 3/8/2022 12:00:00 AM By: Reviews_of_the_Dead
This was a movie that I didn't know was coming, but upon learning of it, I was intrigued. I heard a few people saw this and enjoyed it. When I had a free night to go to the theater, I decided to see this since I'd seen most of the other Resident Evil movies at the cinema, whenever possible. I was a big fan of the games growing up as well. The synopsis here is set in 1998; this origin story explores the secrets of the mysterious Spencer Mansion and the ill-fated Raccoon City.

We start this off inside of an orphanage in Raccoon City. Claire (Lily Gail Reid) wakes up by hearing someone whispering, or at least she thinks someone is there. Sharing her bed is Chris (Daxton Gujral). He tells her it is her imagination and to go back to sleep before they get in trouble. Claire gets up and follows a noise to a room upstairs. It is there she meets Lisa Trevor (Marina Mazepa). She seems to be wearing a mask and reveals that she lives under the orphanage. This girl disappears and Claire is startled by William Birkin (Neal McDonough). He pushes as to why she is there and Chris comes to her aid, revealing he is her brother. He does compliment the boy on watching out for her. William seems troubled.

The movie then shifts to 1998. We know that the Umbrella Corporation started in this city but has pulled out. The city is dying and the only people left are too poor to leave. Claire Redfield (Kaya Scodelario) is on her way to see her brother. She is with a truck driver who is making passes at her. It is raining hard and he doesn't see a woman that he hits with his truck. They get out to check on her, but she disappears into the woods. His dog does lick the ground where she was lying though. They continue to Raccoon City.

Also in this town is a Leon Kennedy (Avan Jogia). He's a rookie cop who after a mishap in training was sent here thanks to his powerful father. He hangs out in a local diner with members of the S. T. A. R. S. Team. They are special police officers, with them being Jill Valentine (Hannah John-Kamen) and Albert Wesker (Tom Hopper) to name the more important ones. Their boss is Chief Irons (Donal Logue).

Claire goes to see her brother, Chris (Robbie Amell), who isn't all too happy to see her. He feels she abandoned him and we see that Chris kept a relationship with William as a mentor of sorts. Chris must go to work and when he leaves, we see there is something wrong in Raccoon City. His neighbors attack Claire. The Bravo team of S. T. A. R. S. Went to the Spencer Mansion, the original site of Umbrella, but no one has heard from them. Alpha team is sent in to check on them. As they do, a siren goes off, demanding that residents stay in their homes. Raccoon City becomes a battlefield as those not affected try to survive.

That is where I'm going to leave my recap for this movie. Where I want to start is that I loved the homage that was paid to the video games of Resident Evil 1 and 2. There are some changes that were made, but I can live with that. They are mashing the two together so it is to be expected. Almost every name on the cast list I recognize in some way, shape or form, unless they are just a minor character needed to progress the story. This is the movie that I wanted when Resident Evil came out in the early 2000s. Teenage me would have gone crazy. Now that I'm a bit older, I still enjoy the references, but I do have my issues as well.

Where I'll start is the positives, which is the story. I think it works. We are getting a lot of lore from the games here. We are seeing things like Lisa Trevor, which if memory serves for Resident Evil lore is technically patient zero. We also get to see the Ashford twins, which we don't get until 'Code Veronica'. This could be laying the groundwork for potential sequels. We also have two concurrent stories going. We have the story from the original game, with S. T. A. R. S. Alpha team going to see what happened with the Bravo team at the mansion. Going with this is the second game with Claire going to the police station where she meets Leon. These two of course end up together as the games do, to an extent. The nerd in me loves all this.

Where my problem goes is that I think we have too much story for a movie that runs less than two hours long. It is interesting just watching the Fear Street trilogy before my first viewing, because this might have worked better to break them into at least two different movies. I think you can have some of the stuff we get in the beginning here with Claire, Chris, Leon and the rest of the S. T. A. R. S. Members, but I want to see them exploring the mansion more than we get. I'd also like them to investigate in the police station a bit more. I understand that there are puzzles and what not, so mashing it together like we get makes sense. I think there's more story here to uncover about Umbrella and how deep the corruption goes in Raccoon City. This movie is setting the stage for a sequel by introducing things involving Ada Wong (Lily Gao), so I'm wondering if this will do well enough to keep going. I like what writer/director Johannes Roberts did. I do have a feeling though those hardcore fans of the games might not be happy with this.

The last thing for the story I'll go into would be the social commentary. We are seeing corruption here from capitalism. Everyone knows that Umbrella is this great company that is the leading producer of pharmaceuticals, but we see the problems as well. They are poisoning the water and not telling the citizens. They're also doing illegal research as well. This isn't anything new and we've seen this play out in the other movies from this video game line as well as from others outside of it. Big Pharma being something that people are speaking out about as well.

So, then I'll go over to the acting. I thought it was solid to be honest. I think that Scodelario makes a good Claire. She is suspicious about things from her childhood which works. I like that she is pushing her brother to see the truth, but he's a bit blind. I do think Amell makes for a good Chris. John-Kamen plays Jill different than I was expecting, but I liked it. Hopper makes for a good Wesker. He doesn't play it as villainous which is interesting with knowing this character's history and arch. I think there is room for growth to that. Jogia also doesn't play Leon as I would expect. It is different to make him bumbling. I can see why now after this viewing. It gives room for growth, but I'm not the biggest fan. Logue, McDonough, Gao, Mazepa and the rest of the cast rounded this out for what was needed for me as well. No one here is great, we get some wooden acting, but it is more about the monsters and the action to be honest.

Next should be the effects, cinematography and the soundtrack. For the former, this is important to these movies. I thought they did well. We are seeing the zombies in the beginning stages. It looks like they're mostly done up with make-up which is good. I like how they're still somewhat human, but just rabid. We get to see infected dogs and crows as well. There's CGI there, but it was fine. We also get to see a licker, which I thought was also good. The main monster is something created from the G-virus and it looked solid to me despite being mostly computers as well. I didn't have issues with any of this to be honest. It is heavy with the computer effects, which unless you just do zombies, there isn't much you can do. I think we get some great cinematography as well. There are so many shots taken from the games and the nerd part of me again, approves. The soundtrack also hit differently with another viewing. I've come up there.

In conclusion here, I enjoyed this movie quite a bit. It is fun and I think fans of the games will appreciate how faithful they try to be with giving us that story, even if it is just the glossed over version of the first two. Teenage version of me would have loved this. Adult me who watches more critical still had some issues. I think this would have been better served to split the story into two movies as it feels like it rushes through things. Regardless though, it still works me. I think the acting is good across the board. They do well in bringing these familiar characters to life. The effects were good to me, both practical and CGI. The cinematography does well in recreating shots from the games that I liked with the soundtrack adding to the atmosphere. I would have to say that this is an above average movie. Fixing some of my issues could have pushed this higher for sure. After my second viewing, I've come down slightly, but I still enjoyed it overall.

My Rating: 7 out of 10.

If John Carpenter Made A Resident Evil Film. (IMDB: 7)

On: 2/21/2022 12:00:00 AM By: lukem-52760
I was so impressed by this new Resident Evil movie. Directed by Johannes Roberts, a great Director who makes suspenseful Thriller's such as his killer shark films 47 Metres Down & 47 Metres Down: Uncaged & the sequel to serial killer thriller The Stranger: Prey At Night & the low-budget British Hoodie Slasher "F"Johannes is also a fan of & influenced by the legendary John Carpenter (my favourite Director) & it shows in this excellent new version of Resident Evil.

I saw homages & got vibes of Carpenter Classic's such as The Fog, The Thing, Prince of Darkness, Halloween, Big Trouble In Little China & Assault on Precinct 13. It was Awesome!!!

Here Raccoon City, which was once a booming home of Pharmaceutical giant Umbrella corporation, is now a kind of ghost town with just a few remaining residents of the small town left. Some of the remaining residents are cops including new rookie Leon Kennedy, played by Avan Jogia (known for playing laid back & cool Beck from Nickelodeon's Victorious) he's very good in his role, very likeable & my favourite character in the movie. Also there's Chris Redfield played by Robbie Amel (also a likeable guy) & Jill Valentine played by Hannah John-Kamen (a tough no-nonsense chick) & a few other's. Also Chris Redfields sister, Claire Redfield is back in town, played by the excellent Kaya Scodelario (The Maze Runner Trilogy, Crawl) this girl is tough, smart & a perfect bit of casting. Surprisingly all characters & performances are Awesome.

On a dark & rainy night everything falls apart in the little town when a all hell breaks loose as townsfolk become flesh hungry mutants & it's up to a small group of survivors having to work together to survive this night of Horror.

I loved the creepy "The Fog" style look & atmosphere of the town, it's very moody & full of Carpenter visual style & i loved it. The music is creepy & fun. The creatures look fantastic with a great use of practical & CGI effects. I loved the under seige feel, similar to Carpenter's Assault on Precinct 13.

This is a thrilling action Horror Thriller that's full of creepy atmosphere (like the old games) & i loved the 90's setting & the big spooky mansion & the isolation feel to everything.

This film is up there with the very first Resident Evil film that came out in 2001, i loved that film & none have been as good since until "Welcome To Raccoon City" both Excellent Thrilling films.

Very dissapointing (IMDB: 5)

On: 2/19/2022 12:00:00 AM By: 851222
Greetings from Lithuania.

"Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City" (2021) is video an adaptation of 2 great video games "Resident Evil" and "Resident Evil 2". This movie smashes plots of both games into 1 movie. That wouldn't be a problem if the writing and directing were solid. In this movie's case, they are not. Writing and directing of this movie were pretty bad in my opinion. And performances were very forgettable, but you can't blame the actors much. I didn't like what they did with Leon character - he was more like a clown and comical dumb sidekick then game based character.

Overall, "Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City" is a poor movie. Its not a terrible one, there are some scenes that do work mostly in third act, but as a whole its a massive disappointment. It just shows that it is not as easy to make a good movie based on video games as it looks like. You can't just recreate the plot. You have to make a good movie, and as there two media's are very opposite they require different skills and techniques to engage the view or gamer. This movie unfortunately failed to do so.

Exactly what I was expecting, some good zombie killing. (IMDB: 7)

On: 1/30/2022 12:00:00 AM By: deloudelouvain
I see there are a lot of unstatisfied reviewers here but to me this Resident Evil was right what I was expecting. I don't say it was better than the previous ones but it was for sure entertaining. You don't watch a Resident Evil movie for educational purposes, you watch it because you want to see some zombies slashed and butchered and that's exactly what you get with this movie. The acting wasn't bad, the CGI's were quite good, the monsters creative, so no I'm not going to complain, because this was what I was expecting, and for this genre of movies it's just more than decent.

Come back Milla and Ali. Please. (IMDB: 4)

On: 1/23/2022 12:00:00 AM By: BA_Harrison
Say what you like about Paul W. S. Anderson's Resident Evil films, but they were a lot of fun (all except for the Final Chapter); this reboot not so much. Directed by Johannes Roberts (47 Meters Down), the film might be closer to the games in terms of atmosphere and events, but that doesn't necessarily make for a good time - it's a full 45 minutes before anything remotely interesting occurs, and while the zombie attacks, when they eventually happen, are reasonably well-staged with some gnarly gore, real scares are few and far between and the muddled plot relies too much on familiarisation with the games (I played them years ago, and I'll be buggered if I can remember all of the characters and details).

It's also interesting to note that, although Welcome to Raccoon City was made almost twenty years after Anderson's first movie, the CGI doesn't seem to have improved much: if the makers were going for the full on retro feel (this film is set in 1998), they hit the nail on the head with the turn of the millennium digital effects - that zombie crow that hits the diner window is one of the most embarrassingly unconvincing CGI creatures I have seen in a major movie (the film's zombie dog is not far behind).

3.5/10, rounded up to 4/10 for IMDb. I think another reboot is in order, to erase the memory of this reboot.

Not the reboot this series needed at all (IMDB: 3)

On: 1/12/2022 12:00:00 AM By: jtindahouse
I once set myself a challenge to watch all of the 'Resident Evil' movies. That might not sound like much of challenge to some people but I really struggled to find anything interesting about them so it was a battle to get it done. I did it though and I was free. I had no obligation to watch 'Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City'. But then I saw the poster (the one with a bloody umbrella in front of R. P. D) and it got me kind of excited. It's a really good looking poster. Sadly, that is one of the only good things about this film.

What a mess. Where to begin? Let's start with the characters. Absolutely none of them are in any way likable. And it's not like the film was trying to make them likable and failed. It seemed to be going out of its way to make everyone as unlikable as possible. So not only did I have to stomach these atrocious people for 107 minutes, I also couldn't for the life of me care what happened to them.

The film was also very disappointing visually. The CGI was borderline embarrassing. There is a bird early on that has flown into a window and it is the most obviously computer generated thing I've seen in a film in years.

I hate that the zombies in this movie move at the speed that is required by the scene too. At times they are at full sprint, other times they are at a crawl. Whatever works best to maintain the tension is what they'll do.

The biggest thing though was that I just found the whole experience painfully boring. It dragged on and on and I just couldn't have cared less about what was going on on the screen. What was the purpose? Survival? Who cares. This was a shocker I'm sad to say. A generous 3/10.

people who don't play the games won't understand this (IMDB: 8)

On: 1/4/2022 12:00:00 AM By: trashgang
While all other Resident Evil flicks went away from the games this one do follow loosely the game. So I do get it that some do say, this is bad or I don't get it.

That said, I fund it a really great flick. The use of retro shot, desaturated colors, wide angle, it all gave it a 80's feel. The score was creepy as hell and did work here.

I must agree with some that towards the ending the flick loses a bit of credibility but the giant monster with all those eyes, yes I still can remember it as a boss fight in the games.

Great atmosphere, and full of gore on-camera as with CGI.

Gore 2,5/5Nudity 0/5Effects 3/5Story 3/5Comedy 0/5.

The reboot we didn't need. (IMDB: 6)

On: 1/3/2022 12:00:00 AM By: Top_Dawg_Critic
Don't get fooled by the "Resident Evil" in the name, this film is nothing even close to the OG Resident Evil franchise with Milla Jovovich. The writing and directing by Johannes Roberts basically gives us a dumbed-down version of the series as a prequel. It has every cliche possible for your basic zombie film, with choppy action, and a flat and sloppy screenplay that's riddled with plot and technical issues. The S/VFX and cinematography were the only decent parts of this film. The cast did their best trying to make this film interesting, especially Neal McDonough and the decent Venom-ish prosthetics and gorey visual effects, but even they couldn't save the writing and directing. If you go into this expecting the resemblance of dynamics and creativity from the original series, you'll be very disappointed. If you go into it as just another zombie flick, you might enjoy it. It's a generous 6/10 from me.

Faithfulness to the games alone can't make a great adaptation! [+49%] (IMDB: 5)

On: 12/29/2021 12:00:00 AM By: arungeorge13
I guess picking Johannes Roberts to direct a Resident Evil reboot was an obvious choice. He's one of the more expensive B-movie directors, with 47 Meters Down his best work by far. He's a thrill-per-minute sort of filmmaker. But he does get a few things right in the first installment that adapts RE1 & RE2. First is the film's overall tone. The grimness is set early on from the opening scene at an orphanage, abruptly cutting to the late '90s. We get to see an already-crumbling Raccoon City with its first-known sightings of "zombies." The lead characters, while not getting enough time to be themselves (the film is just under 100 minutes), each have one standout trait. Chris and Claire get childhood backstories, Jill's obsessed with guns, Wesker shows he's unreliable early on, and Leon (for some unexplained reason) is clumsy as hell.

The script doesn't offer many surprises, but it at least stays faithful to the setting of those two games. Two significant scenarios play out at the Raccoon City Police Station and the Spencer Mansion. It was intriguing to see that the camera even follows some of the fixed angles from the games. The CGI isn't exceptional by any means, with scenes often resembling the cinematics of a video game though that's not the intention. I mean in a way that it wholly works in the games, but in a live-action movie, it looks somewhat out-of-place. 90s references are all over the place - including pagers, a bricky cell phone, Blockbuster, chat rooms, and what-not. The casting choices are okayish, especially since most of the character-sketching is two-dimensional.

Maybe, the RE games do not need a film adaptation. They're best enjoyed as video games alone. These are scary-as-hell games to play, but the output never translates when you adapt them into a film. It loses its murky atmosphere with scares simply restricted to zombies jumping at the leads out of nowhere. The Easter eggs, sprinkled throughout, ensure that it remains fun to watch, but that doesn't make it a good film. The best set-piece arrives when you least expect it, set in a dark room, with zombies rushing at Chris. The climax is incredibly rushed, with no real payoff at the end except for survival. Maybe, the sequels will have answers, but who's to know if they see the light of day.

Resident Evil game origin film. (IMDB: 6)

On: 12/26/2021 12:00:00 AM By: Horror_Flick_Fanatic
I am not a hard-core fan of the game franchise, nor have I played the games. So, take my opinion with a grain of salt if you are a die heart gamer. But as a film, I didn't think it was terrible. I appreciated that they kept the CGI to a minimum. I am surprised it is getting a large amount of hate on IMDb. I thought it would fare better. But again, I am not the target audience even though I love horror films. Just not a gamer. As a film, I don't think it deserves the 1 and 2s I see.

good first half (IMDB: 6)

On: 12/26/2021 12:00:00 AM By: SnoopyStyle
It's 1998 Raccoon City. The Umbrella Corporation is shutting down operations in the city. Claire Redfield (Kaya Scodelario) has come back to warn her brother, policeman Chris Redfield (Robbie Amell). There are rumors of poison in the water. The company had actually leaked the virus into the town's water and it's turning its inhabitants. Chris, Jill Valentine (Hannah John-Kamen), Albert Wesker (Tom Hopper), and others are heading to the mansion to search for missing cops. Chief Irons (Donal Logue) leaves slacker new rookie cop Leon Kennedy (Avan Jogia) alone in the station as he tries to escape. William Birkin (Neal McDonough) is the lead doctor in the experiments.

I really like the first half of this movie. It's relying more on the franchise's horror elements. It's a zombie horror movie. It reboots the franchise from other characters' POV. It really works. The story should gather the characters into that police station and let them fight their way out. At first, I thought it would gather the characters in that diner. That would have been great, too. Instead, the movie insists on filling out the checklist of the franchise lore and go back to the mansion. I understand the allure of revisiting and repeating. Star Wars keeps going back to the same planets despite having a whole galaxy. I really wish that they would do a side story with new characters that can branch off into somewhere new and unexpected.

Wow the original is a masterpiece compared to this derivative codswallop! (IMDB: 3)

On: 12/25/2021 12:00:00 AM By: omendata
Crash, bang, wallop virtually zero atmosphere, zero story compared to the original , dreadful acting; bottom of the barrel bad, so darkly filmed it was hard to make out what was going on and the monster an special effects looked like they had been done on a Scifi Channel budget and it proves my opinion of Mark Kermode as an overrated luvvy with nn taste as he said this was a great movie - How could any serious reviewer in any way think this brainless tosh was any good is beyond me and I am a big Scifi and horror fan but this is another massive disappointment as was Army Of The Dead; both overhyped and over-rated hollywood tosh.

If this is the future of movies then I am going back to listening to the radio!

Welcome to Bore City (IMDB: 3)

On: 12/22/2021 12:00:00 AM By: Tweetienator
A total bore and big letdown. A big one. How one can make of such material such a bore feast, I dunno. The movies by Anderson starring Milla are not perfect but masterpieces compared to this reboot or whatever it is. I also don't remember that the games are such dragging and boring affairs - this is my note to all of those who boldly claim that Raccoon City is true to the games. I will not analyse the movie because it is not worth that effort, I only can state that I was bored that whole time, indifferent and very disappointed. Bad, fails in almost every aspect.

Bad effects, less scare factor n lousy script. How come Lisa Trevor recognises a grown up Claire? (IMDB: 3)

On: 12/22/2021 12:00:00 AM By: Fella_shibby
I have seen all the 6 parts in theatre n have enjoyed all except for the 6th one.

This one is worse than the 6th part n thank God I didn't see this in a theatre.

The initial scenes are well shot with sufficient atmosphere, rains 24/7, isolated town n a sense of brooding terror. But then later the movie went downhill.

The effects of the monsters ain't good n there is absolutely no scare factor regarding the zombies n the dogs.

How come Lisa Trevor recognises a grown up Claire?

Claire escapes from Birkin when she is selected to participate in an experiment and that too like a piece of cake.

Ben is holding a gun n he is in a lock up along with an infected fella. Why cudnt he be more alert or shoot the infected fella.

Not a decent reboot.Many reviews overhype this one. (IMDB: 5)

On: 12/22/2021 12:00:00 AM By: surfisfun
Disappointed.

Didnt feel dreadfull like the old game or movies,direction and script mediocre.

A fast forward movie type.

A big miss recomended on this more like a 4 movie.

.

A disaster (IMDB: 3)

On: 12/22/2021 12:00:00 AM By: kuarinofu
Now I understand why Paul W. S. Anderson's REs were so different. You can't just do a Resident Evil game adaptation, it doesn't work in a movie format.

At times I almost thought that slow pacing, lots of static camera shots, and overall confusion were intentional, but in the end, I don't think so anymore.

Besides the overall atmosphere, a couple of cool close-up shots, and one music track there is nothing of good in this film.

The plot doesn't kick in until 40 minutes into the film, the supposedly introductory scenes don't really introduce anything, since everything is delivered through "as all of you know" scenes. Yeah, we all love these.

I mean, you don't have to recreate every single element of the game, complete with door animations and static room angles. Callbacks and references are fine, but this is a film. Firstly, it should be understandable by the viewers. I played the first RE game when I was a kid and I am overall familiar with the story, but here it comes as a random mess of confusion and absent motivations. There are so many times when characters act with random intentions, speak about things they are not aware of. Was bad line delivery also a callback to the first game bad English voice acting? I guess so.

Every line of dialogue is messy. Most of the action scenes are bad, the "in the dark" action scene felt like it was done by Uwe Boll. Seriously, what was that? A reference to Alone in the Dark? Jesus Christ. And the casting...just...just Leon. Yeah, a great character arc, he's despicable, but then just turns Rambo, fine. I was fine with the CGI since the budget was probably minimal.

Just look at this film as an average viewer. A special police force group wanders into a mansion that happens to be a secret lab. They wander around until they find a scientist they know from their childhood, he turns into a monster and decides to kill them. Then he dies to a random bazooka that manifests itself into the hands of the despicable miscast non-character. This is what a person that is not familiar with the games will get from this. The information on Lisa Trevor and the Ashford twins is pointless to the non-fans. There is no build-up, there is no tension, and the ending feels like nothing important happened today.

As for us, people, who played the game(s), we will surely enjoy some references. And even if the style was intentional, it still doesn't make it a good film.

Maybe it was made to fail. Maybe no one cared, I can't tell. And even though the latest RE films were all bad, this one still can't hold up to the okayish ones like the first and the third one.

RE games fans might shed a tear of nostalgia, but an average viewer surely wouldn't like this one.

Hoped to be great, but now, disappointed a lot. (IMDB: 4)

On: 12/21/2021 12:00:00 AM By: silvermistvio
OK, I know that my review is going to get a lot of disagreements but I think I should say this. So, here I go.

When I saw Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City is going to come out, I was happy for a moment. And then I saw the trailer and it made me think this is the movie about zombie or what? And now, after I watched this movie, that question is still unclear. I'm still thinking this is about zombie or vampire? Or zompire? I don't really know. They eat people like zombies but they really seem like vampires. In Resident Evil 2002 version, it's zombie. And 2021 version? As I've stated in above, I really don't know what they are. They don't completely seem like a zombie or vampire as well. The director must have created a new creature, zompire (zombie + vampire). ??????

The second thing is the cast. In my mind, Claire Redfield is kind of tough. But in this movie, it's totally different. If the story is the same and Claire is the same from previous version, Kaya Scodelario isn't the right actress to play the character. Kaya Scodelario seems to be weak to me. She doesn't fit in the Claire character. So, my opinion is that they have chosen the other actress, it'd be better.

The third thing and the last thing is the original score. The background music/sounds are the only thing that made me annoyed. In my point of view, I think the original score somehow destroyed the movie. If it isn't the whole, at least 50% of the movie is destroyed by the original score.

Before the trailer and movie came out, I think this one's going to be great. Right now, I don't think this makes a good movie. I'm disappointed a lot. Hence, 2002 version is way much better.

Disclosure: never played the game (IMDB: 7)

On: 12/21/2021 12:00:00 AM By: A_Different_Drummer
But I am an IMDb Top Reviewer w/1700+ reviews, loved the first three in the franchise, thought the rest were awful, and have seen more bad movies than anyone should have to in one lifetime. This is not a bad movie. It is well crafted and well-acted. Holds the attention. A perfect film to watch while you are trapped on the runway for 2 hours because a passenger on some other plane went postal over all the "keep you safe" rules. What's with the hate?

Definitely an interesting take on the franchise... (IMDB: 6)

On: 12/21/2021 12:00:00 AM By: paul_haakonsen
What can I say, other than I was really stoked about this 2021 reboot of the "Resident Evil" franchise as a movie. Especially since the Paul W. S. Anderson movies started out alright, but then just got progressing worse and worse with each movie added to the franchise.

Normally I am not a movie viewer that is keen on reboots or remakes, but I have to admit that after seeing the trailer for "Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City", then I was definitely looking forward to getting to sit down and watch what writer and director Johannes Roberts could and would do with the "Resident Evil" franchise.

And then I had the chance to sit down to watch "Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City", at long last. And let me just say that this 2021 movie is how the very first "Resident Evil" movie back in 2002 should have been. I definitely enjoyed the way that writer and director Johannes Roberts incorporated key elements from the first and second "Resident Evil" game and combined it into a movie.

I found "Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City" to be enjoyable, of course I did, especially with all the elements and scenes from the games, as it was pure nostalgia. But when that is said, then I also have to say that I was somewhat sitting there with a sense of 'was that really it?' when "Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City" came to an end. How so? Well, because lots of scenes didn't feel like they had a fulfilling climax to it, as if writer and director Johannes Roberts just crammed as much stuff into his movie from the games as possible, without there being much to back it up or any real effect of it being in the movie.

"Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City" is enjoyable, I will say that much. I just feel somewhat cheated out of a more fulfilling movie experience here some how. And yeah, I will definitely keep watching if this movie spawns any sequels.

They had a nice ensemble of actors and actresses in the movie, and they certainly did cast Kaya Scodelario (playing Claire Redfield), Robbie Amell (playing Chris Redfield), Hannah John-Kamen (playing Jill Valentine), Tom Hopper (playing Albert Wesker) and Neal McDonough (playing William Birkin) quite nicely. It was a treat to see Neal McDonough (playing Chief Irons) and Lily Gao (playing Ada Wong) in the movie. One casting choice made zero sense to me, and that was Avan Jogia (playing Leon Kennedy). I didn't enjoy him in that role one bit, as it didn't feel like the Leon Kennedy character from the movie in any way.

Visually then "Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City" was nice. You don't really get to see a lot of gore or decay, as this is of course during the first hours out of the Umbrella incident. But the CGI and visual effects were adding a lot to the movie.

I am rating "Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City" a six out of ten stars. What is holding the movie back from landing a higher rating is the fact that most of the scenes in the movie just had no impact on whatever scenes came next, so it was rather anti-climatic.

Chernobyl Documentary Meets Zombie Apocalypse B-Movie (IMDB: 7)

On: 12/16/2021 12:00:00 AM By: kluseba
Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City is a reboot and prequel to the movie series based upon the Japanese video game franchise. This seventh instalment is closely inspired by the first two video games and should certainly please genre fans. For those unfamiliar with the video game and movie franchise, this new movie is however of a rather average quality and they should certainly discover the franchise chronologically.

The plot revolves around Claire Redfield who grew up in an orphanage in Raccoon City with her brother after her parents died in an accident. As a child, she met a strange woman who claimed to live below the city where scientists from the Umbrella Corporation that had founded the city were conducting secret experiments on human beings. When the young girl realized that she was going to be chosen for such odd procedures as well, she decided to escape and never come back. As an adult, she has decided to change her mind when she heard about a potential virus that might menace the entire population, including her estranged brother who has become a police officer. Claire Redfield takes a ride from a perverted truck driver to get back to town in order to save her suspicious brother. As soon as she arrives however, she doesn't only have to confront the demons of her past but must also fight for her survival through a deadly night that will change the lives of the resident of Raccoon City forever.

This movie convinces on quite a few levels. First of all, the movie is closer to the original video games than any predecessor which makes it a highlight for faithful fans. The movie has a perfect running time of one hour and forty-seven minutes without any lengths. The locations are well chosen and vary from desolate houses over an abandoned police station to a mysterious mansion on a hill in the middle of the forest. This film has a few efficient action scenes, such as the confrontations in the orphanage, the duels in the catacombs and the final train ride that ends the movie on a high note.

On the other side, the film also has its flaws. Even though it was advertised as a truly scary movie, the film might ooze with atmosphere but never ever really gets tense or even terrifying. The few jump scares are quite predictable. The special effects are also rather underwhelming and would rather fit into a vintage video game than on a big screen. Especially the monsters don't look impressive at all. The story itself is also by the numbers and mostly feels like a mixture of a documentary about Chernobyl and some zombie apocalypse b-movie.

At the end of the day, Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City should please fans of the movie and video game franchise and is entertaining from start to finish. However, it's neither among the franchise's best nor its worst movies and might not bring in new fans. Anyone unfamiliar with the franchise should simply discover it in chronological order as the very first movie is still the best by a mile.