Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for She's the Man ( 2006 )

Just One of the Guys of the Soccer Team (IMDB: 6)

On: 9/5/2010 12:00:00 AM By: Claudio Carvalho
When the Cornwall school cancels the women's soccer team, the player Viola (Amanda Bynes) is absolutely disappointed since the sport is her passion. Then her twin brother Sebastian (James Kirk) skips class to travel to London to play his songs and Viola disguises herself as if she was Sebastian to join the Illirya soccer team. Viola falls in love for her roommate Duke (Channing Tatum) that has a crush on Olivia Lennox (Laura Ramsey) that feels attracted by the sensitive Sebastian (indeed Viola) that is chased by his girlfriend Monique (Alex Breckenridge). Out of the blue, the real Sebastian anticipates his return from London and he is not aware of the situation and has to play soccer game against Cornwall.

"He's the Man" is a funny and entertaining comedy with a predictable story similar to the 1985 "Just One of the Guys". The cute Amanda Bynes does not look like a boy but her performance is pleasant. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): "Ela é o Cara" ("She is the Guy")

Just One of the Guys of the Soccer Team (IMDB: 6)

On: 9/5/2010 12:00:00 AM By: claudio_carvalho
When the Cornwall school cancels the women's soccer team, the player Viola (Amanda Bynes) is absolutely disappointed since the sport is her passion. Then her twin brother Sebastian (James Kirk) skips class to travel to London to play his songs and Viola disguises herself as if she was Sebastian to join the Illirya soccer team. Viola falls in love for her roommate Duke (Channing Tatum) that has a crush on Olivia Lennox (Laura Ramsey) that feels attracted by the sensitive Sebastian (indeed Viola) that is chased by his girlfriend Monique (Alex Breckenridge). Out of the blue, the real Sebastian anticipates his return from London and he is not aware of the situation and has to play soccer game against Cornwall.

"He's the Man" is a funny and entertaining comedy with a predictable story similar to the 1985 "Just One of the Guys". The cute Amanda Bynes does not look like a boy but her performance is pleasant. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): "Ela é o Cara" ("She is the Guy")

(IMDB: )

On: 12/18/2006 12:00:00 AM By: J. R. Jones
A comedy that lacks both the verbal sophistication of its source and the sexual sophistication of its target audience.

Just Bad (IMDB: 3)

On: 9/17/2006 12:00:00 AM By: cloudmerchant
My girlfriend talked me into renting She's the Man and I will never forgive her for subjecting me to the horror that was this "film". The only slightly intriguing aspect was the idea of Amanda Bynes dressed as a boy. Sadly, even that was not enough to pull it off. Admittedly, there were some entertaining lines and I may have laughed out loud once or twice but the painful moments and pathetic, repeated attempts at humor (during Amanda's attempts at faking masculinity) just made me wince and shake my head. If you've recently been subjected to a lobotomy and have lost all sense of what entertainment is, this is the film for you.

Love Polygon (IMDB: 3)

On: 8/14/2006 12:00:00 AM By: glocksout
On a flight back from London, I watched She's the Man; apparently Air Canada has a crap movie policy. Perhaps that's not the best way to start a review of this movie. Amanda Bynes plays a girl who loves soccer so much that she pretends to be her twin brother to get on a team at a boarding school across town. Even if you check your mind at the door (on a 6 hour flight you have to), the story is implausible and ridiculous. There are some moments of humor, mostly from comedian David Cross as the principle, but the intricate love polygon doesn't really inspire emotion, although is is cleverly mixed (with the caveat of mindless plausibility). The ending is just as ridiculously mindless as the rest. I guess if I was a 12-year-old girl, I might have really enjoyed this one.

Yeah, a bit predictable, but still enjoyable (IMDB: 8)

On: 8/4/2006 12:00:00 AM By: Kristine
I have to be honest, I really had a good time watching She's the Man. Despite it being a typical teenage comedy or if you will the switching of the sexes movie, it had some pretty decent laughs that I think anyone could get. Adults and teens alike would over all enjoy this movie.

Amanda Bynes is your typical rebellious teen who dresses and acts like a guy, and when she is turned down to try out for the boy's soccer team, she decides to take over her brother's appearance to prove herself worthy of being on the boy's soccer team. Of course, love shows itself when she meets another guy who thinks she's her brother. She also has a girl who is chasing after her. Well, the tag line says it all.

This is a fun little teen drama that I think will be remembered for a while. Amanda Bynes did prove something in the film, it's really hard to really act like a guy. :D Well, it's true!

8/10

Yeah, a bit predictable, but still enjoyable (IMDB: 8)

On: 8/4/2006 12:00:00 AM By: Smells_Like_Cheese
I have to be honest, I really had a good time watching She's the Man. Despite it being a typical teenage comedy or if you will the switching of the sexes movie, it had some pretty decent laughs that I think anyone could get. Adults and teens alike would over all enjoy this movie.

Amanda Bynes is your typical rebellious teen who dresses and acts like a guy, and when she is turned down to try out for the boy's soccer team, she decides to take over her brother's appearance to prove herself worthy of being on the boy's soccer team. Of course, love shows itself when she meets another guy who thinks she's her brother. She also has a girl who is chasing after her. Well, the tag line says it all.

This is a fun little teen drama that I think will be remembered for a while. Amanda Bynes did prove something in the film, it's really hard to really act like a guy. :D Well, it's true!

8/10

Completely Corny yet Still Very Entertaining (IMDB: 6)

On: 5/18/2006 12:00:00 AM By: christian123
Viola Johnson (Amanda Bynes) enters a prestigious boarding school disguised as her brother, so that he can run off to London to become a musician. Unfortunately, she immediately falls for her male roommate, who already has a crush on a girl who now has a crush on the male version of Viola.

Combining the story of "Just One of the Guys" and Shakespeare's The Twelfth Night may sound like a recipe for disaster but She's the Man is a funny, charming and cheesy movie. The original trailer looked really lame yet the film turned out to be quite enjoyable. The story is clearly nothing new but it still works fine. The fact that the screenplay is written by Karen McCullah Lutz explains everything. She's good for harmless, fun films like She's the Man, Legally Blonde and Ella Enchanted. Andy Fickman does a decent job as the director. He never lets the film become too serious or else it would ruin the movie's appeal. He does overload on a few lame jokes though. That was the major problem I had with this film. Some of the jokes just fell flat while others were just incredibly cheesy, even for this film.

The acting was good for this type of movie and most of the actors were enjoyable to watch on screen. Amanda Bynes is full of charm as Viola. It was very hard to actually hate her and she's a much better actress than Hilary Duff. Channing Tatum was not as strong as Amanda. His performance was okay, sometimes his reactions were a little fake. Laura Ramsey plays Olivia and she gives a decent performance. Alex Breckenridge gives a pretty good performance as Monique. Her character was pretty interesting and she had decent chemistry with Amanda. The rest of the supporting actors are good except for David Cross. He plays the school principal and his performance was not funny at all.

If you do give She's the Man a shot then keep in mind that the entire film is highly unrealistic. I was reading some of the posts here and a few people are bashing the film for that. While the movie is pretty entertaining, it's also easily forgettable. It was a fun way to spend 100 minutes but it won't stay in your memory for long. It's also not just a chick flick and a guy could also like the movie. In the end, She's the Man is worth checking out whether that be in the theaters or on video. Rating 7/10

Charming (IMDB: 9)

On: 5/12/2006 12:00:00 AM By: phillipstephenso
This film is full of charming situations and healthy young people easy on the eyes, whether they are wearing clothes or not. The strong superstructure of its plot is upheld by the art of Shakespeare. As Joseph Papp discovered back in the 1950s in Central Park, Shakespeare's plots can be adapted to the manners and customs of the present. And, so the classic tales of cross-dressing and other mischief found in such lighthearted comedies such as Twelfth Night and A Midsummer Night's Eve and As You Like It are used to good effect in this film. All the young actors and actresses do a good job of advancing the plot with their blocking and dialog and costumes. And the idea of a soccer game to bring things to a climax reminds me of Bend It Like Beckham, another charming coming of age movie.

hilarious, romantic, a real tail of hope and faith (IMDB: 10)

On: 4/11/2006 12:00:00 AM By: NaTaLiE899788
OK, now at first i thought this was going to be another cheesy romantic comedy, which held back on the comedy but this wasn't. I mean how could it have been with the fabulous Amanda Bynes staring in it! She was amazing, really funny & is still stunning! The boys in it were also extremely fit, one major reason for going girls! The plot is strongly based upon the Shakespeare play 'Twelfth Night', as it was extremely similar, there was even a spider called malvolio, which belonged to the malvolio like character. The script was really well written and pulled together and it was very witty. The football skills in it were also amazing, it even made me think of playing football myself! Anyway, to sum it up this is a light hearted film about young romance, which gets very confusing! Go and see it!

She's not the man at all, she's just embarrassing! (IMDB: 2)

On: 4/5/2006 12:00:00 AM By: Tim Hunter
I went into this film not expecting much, so in that respect, I wasn't disappointed, but even then, I can't believe how dire this film really is. Amanda Bynes as the cross-dressing Viola/Sebastian takes every opportunity to mug for the camera, and reinforce the gender stereotypes that always plague such teen comedies. It's so full of over-exaggerated types, that it seems like the filmmakers took a teen comedy proforma and just ticked the boxes: spunky/pretty/feisty girl? Check. Spunky but dumb athletic jock boy? Check. Ditzy frou-frou mom? Check. Gay best friend/hairdresser needed for makeover? Check. Beautiful but unattainable girl who really is shy? Check. I could go on. What's most disappointing is that this film had a real chance to say something, albeit through comedy, about gender roles, cross-dressing and even sexual attraction, but backed away quickly whenever it got close. The concept of same-sex attraction isn't explored at all in the film: when Duke finds himself attracted to 'Sebastian'; he just says it'd be 'weird'. I'm just giving it 2: one for the all the scenes where Channing Tatum and his hot friends are topless, and one because you can't really muck up Shakespeare that much.

Daddy, let's go see She's the Man (IMDB: 10)

On: 4/5/2006 12:00:00 AM By: klutzyqueen22891
While on spring break my mom, dad, 9 year old brother and I went to see She's the Man. Being a teenage girl I could not wait for this movie for many reasons. Reason 1: Amanda Bynes is my hero. 2: It has soccer in it. 3: Looks really funny 4: Boarding School 5: Guys soccer 6: Channing Tatum with out a shirt. Typical, but very good reasons. We got to the theater and of course my dad was being grumpy and complaining about the previews and how we wouldn't be out of the movie until after dinner. Continuing with his current mood, 25 minutes into the movie my dad turned to the rest of us and said, "You guys owe me big time." But, he was laughing so hard sometimes that he was slapping the arm rest in the theater. If this movie can make a 45 year old man laugh it's way worth seeing.

If you liked "Bring it On," you'll love "She's the Man" (IMDB: 3)

On: 4/3/2006 12:00:00 AM By: itsnotezbngashoe
This movie sucked. It made me long for Garfield the Movie. I sat through Gigli mildly entertained, yet I wouldn't wish this on Sadam. Its almost as if Amanda Bynes has a King Midas-like ability to turn everything she touches into refuse. So if you're looking for a good movie, or even just a movie that is not too funny but at least somewhat entertaining, then go see Ice Age II. Otherwise just save yourself the nine dollars I paid to Muvico Cinemas and stare at your watch for two hours because that's what you're going to end up doing if you go to see "She's the Man. For further reasoning on why this modern day adaptation of Twelfth Night sucked, here is the review i'm turning in to my English teacher who forced me to sit through this wretched abortion.

For some reason the writers of this movie decided to not only put the story of "Twelfth Night" not only into modern times, but into the lives of high school kids who look like they are twenty five and act like they are twelve. The character of viola is bastardized and betrayed almost entirely. Her motivation from the beginning is changed from fighting from her life from a shipwreck and looking for a way to survive and keep herself alive, to having her high school soccer team dismantled. She joins another schools team pretending to be her brother simply to get back at her ex boyfriend even though she believes ahead of time that she will not be recognized by scouts or prospectors for anything she does nor receive any benefit from her efforts at all in anyway because she is pretending to be her brother. Thus, she has no motivation whatsoever and is not a realistic character.

The characters Toby and Andrew are also abandoned. they are simply friends of Duke and therefore become friends of Sebastian. They have nothing to with the story. They are simply fall back characters to toss lines to whenever writers couldn't think of anymore substantial dialogue for Duke or Viola and needed yet another lame sexual innuendo to fill the dead air time,lest the audience actually listen to the story.

The name Malvolio was used but in such a poor and shamelessly vain way that you cant really give the movie any credit for having such a character. In "She's the Man", the Feste character loses his pet tarantula and passes out fliers. On one of these fliers is a picture of the spider and the name Malvolio. This is thrown in for no other reason than to remind you that you are watching a movie based on Twelfth Night, and trust me if they didn't continue to shamelessly point that out you would forget it very quickly.

So do yourself a favor and do something else with your time, maybe read or something,, maybe even Twelfth Night. Just don't make the same mistake i did because i will never get back to two hours of my life that movie stole from me, good luck

outrageously funny!!! (IMDB: 9)

On: 3/22/2006 12:00:00 AM By: j woods
I just took my 11 year old daughter and 8 year old son to this movie and I can't remember a movie where I laughed SO hard -- literal out loud, deep bursts of laughter because this movie is hilarious. Granted the story line is predictable but the ride is so extremely enjoyable it doesn't matter that you know how it's going to end. The actors' comedic senses of timing were impeccable. The actors were perfectly cast. My children mentioned that Amanda Bynes seems to be the last of the young women actresses who aren't ruining their lives. She is so refreshing. My children said this is now their favorite movie of 2006. Our money was well spent on this movie.

outrageously funny!!! (IMDB: 9)

On: 3/22/2006 12:00:00 AM By: soli1313
I just took my 11 year old daughter and 8 year old son to this movie and I can't remember a movie where I laughed SO hard -- literal out loud, deep bursts of laughter because this movie is hilarious. Granted the story line is predictable but the ride is so extremely enjoyable it doesn't matter that you know how it's going to end. The actors' comedic senses of timing were impeccable. The actors were perfectly cast. My children mentioned that Amanda Bynes seems to be the last of the young women actresses who aren't ruining their lives. She is so refreshing. My children said this is now their favorite movie of 2006. Our money was well spent on this movie.

Absolutely Hilarious (IMDB: 10)

On: 3/21/2006 12:00:00 AM By: peppermintbuddi
I thought this movie was absolutely hilarious. I already knew it was going to be a funny movie, but it was funnier than I expected. Sure there were some lame jokes, but they cracked me up. I thought the actors were going to turn out to be pretty bad, but the actors were good in acting out this comedy. I have to give kudos to Amanda Bynes, she looked surprisingly like her brother and pulled off an awesome performance as a boy. As for the other actors, they were funny as well. Of course there were moments where you yell at the screen "how can you not tell?", but that's all part of the fun. In the end the plot turned out pretty well. There's a happy ending, but what'd you expect.

Overall,just hilarious.

(IMDB: 1/4)

On: 3/21/2006 12:00:00 AM By: Peter Travers
There I sit, suffering total numbness of body and brain, no longer having to wonder what it might be like to be buried alive in gooey marshmallow.

Roll in the aisles funny, a real blast!! (IMDB: 9)

On: 3/20/2006 12:00:00 AM By: Robert W.
She's The Man was everything I wanted it to be and maybe even a little more. I love the teen type "chick flick" films and I knew this one would be great!! In the same vein as 10 Things I Hate About You (one of my all time faves) She's The Man is a unique, well written, very well performed comedy with some of the funniest lines, and physical comedy I have seen in a long time. It's probably the funniest movie I've seen this year (with the exception of the hilarious Pink Panther.) But She's The Man is actually a more intellectual funny and most of the humor relies on the witty script, "Three's Company" style story of mistaken identities, and mixed messages, and the cast.

Amanda Bynes is a star!! Even since the days of the horribly campy (yet strangely entertaining "The Amanda Show", she has shown a brilliant talent for comedy. She's probably one of the most talented comediennes out there. Her style of physical comedy, impersonations, and witty dialect makes her hilarious. Previously her big screen debut (where she was the star) was the rather hilarious and well made "What A Girl Wants." If that wasn't her break out vehicle than She's The Man takes care of that hands down. Bynes is really the ultimate girl next door. It's a shame she doesn't do more big screen work because she could be the next "It" girl. She is the All American, cute, down to earth, bubbly teen (although she's twenty now) and whether or not she'll be able to carry her talent and style over to being an adult actor will remain to be seen. But for the purpose of this film she is perfect!! She actually legitimately pulls off the rather outlandish plot of her impersonating her twin brother and makes it believable. Not entirely...but believable enough. Most of the script relies on the comedy of her errors trying to be a guy but it's just hilarious, non stop laughs. Channing Tatum redeems himself from his deplorable performance in 2005's "Havoc" by plays Duke. He's the jock, the captain of the soccer team, and eventually Bynes' object of affection, unfortunately he's also Sebastian's room mate (who is Bynes.) He's a good leading man, and the chemistry is perfect between them. Laura Ramsey is Olivia, who happens to be attracted to Sebastian (who again is Bynes.) She does good as well although her part is small and she doesn't really effect the rest of the cast one way or another. James Kirk is great in his small role as the real Sebastian. His resemblance to Amanda Bynes is astonishing...they are absolutely believable as twins and further more, from a distance you could understand someone believing Bynes is Sebastian. The rest of the cast all fit in there somewhere and their roles range from brief to more supporting but essentially they are all supporting the story between Bynes and Tatum but everyone is more or less supporting Bynes terrific performance. She easily carries the film with no hesitations and makes it worth while.

This is one of those films that shows so much in the trailer and yet it's not one of those films that when that part comes up it's not funny anymore. The parts in the trailer that make you laugh are even more hilarious in the actual film. Relative newcomer director Andy Fickman does such an incredible job on this film. He weaves together a potentially complicated storyline and makes it flow naturally and makes everything fall together. The story which is loosely based off of Shakespeares Twelfth Night but it's remarkable how much they managed to translate over to this modern day film. It's seemingly completely off the wall but more exact to the classic comedy than you'd think. There isn't too much to say about a downside except that the last half hour drags a little and also becomes a might predictable but it doesn't change the hilarity of the first half of the film. Nonetheless you'll be laughing to tears and it's one of the funniest films in the theater right now hands down!!! 9/10

(IMDB: )

On: 3/20/2006 12:00:00 AM By: Richard Roeper
Mere words cannot convey how awful Bynes is at playing a girl playing a boy.

Roll in the aisles funny, a real blast!! (IMDB: 9)

On: 3/20/2006 12:00:00 AM By: Robert_duder
She's The Man was everything I wanted it to be and maybe even a little more. I love the teen type "chick flick" films and I knew this one would be great!! In the same vein as 10 Things I Hate About You (one of my all time faves) She's The Man is a unique, well written, very well performed comedy with some of the funniest lines, and physical comedy I have seen in a long time. It's probably the funniest movie I've seen this year (with the exception of the hilarious Pink Panther.) But She's The Man is actually a more intellectual funny and most of the humor relies on the witty script, "Three's Company" style story of mistaken identities, and mixed messages, and the cast.

Amanda Bynes is a star!! Even since the days of the horribly campy (yet strangely entertaining "The Amanda Show", she has shown a brilliant talent for comedy. She's probably one of the most talented comediennes out there. Her style of physical comedy, impersonations, and witty dialect makes her hilarious. Previously her big screen debut (where she was the star) was the rather hilarious and well made "What A Girl Wants." If that wasn't her break out vehicle than She's The Man takes care of that hands down. Bynes is really the ultimate girl next door. It's a shame she doesn't do more big screen work because she could be the next "It" girl. She is the All American, cute, down to earth, bubbly teen (although she's twenty now) and whether or not she'll be able to carry her talent and style over to being an adult actor will remain to be seen. But for the purpose of this film she is perfect!! She actually legitimately pulls off the rather outlandish plot of her impersonating her twin brother and makes it believable. Not entirely...but believable enough. Most of the script relies on the comedy of her errors trying to be a guy but it's just hilarious, non stop laughs. Channing Tatum redeems himself from his deplorable performance in 2005's "Havoc" by plays Duke. He's the jock, the captain of the soccer team, and eventually Bynes' object of affection, unfortunately he's also Sebastian's room mate (who is Bynes.) He's a good leading man, and the chemistry is perfect between them. Laura Ramsey is Olivia, who happens to be attracted to Sebastian (who again is Bynes.) She does good as well although her part is small and she doesn't really effect the rest of the cast one way or another. James Kirk is great in his small role as the real Sebastian. His resemblance to Amanda Bynes is astonishing...they are absolutely believable as twins and further more, from a distance you could understand someone believing Bynes is Sebastian. The rest of the cast all fit in there somewhere and their roles range from brief to more supporting but essentially they are all supporting the story between Bynes and Tatum but everyone is more or less supporting Bynes terrific performance. She easily carries the film with no hesitations and makes it worth while.

This is one of those films that shows so much in the trailer and yet it's not one of those films that when that part comes up it's not funny anymore. The parts in the trailer that make you laugh are even more hilarious in the actual film. Relative newcomer director Andy Fickman does such an incredible job on this film. He weaves together a potentially complicated storyline and makes it flow naturally and makes everything fall together. The story which is loosely based off of Shakespeares Twelfth Night but it's remarkable how much they managed to translate over to this modern day film. It's seemingly completely off the wall but more exact to the classic comedy than you'd think. There isn't too much to say about a downside except that the last half hour drags a little and also becomes a might predictable but it doesn't change the hilarity of the first half of the film. Nonetheless you'll be laughing to tears and it's one of the funniest films in the theater right now hands down!!! 9/10