Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for Teleios ( 2017 )

Very smartly crafted Sci Fiction movie (IMDB: 8)

On: 3/30/2019 12:00:00 AM By: abisio
TELEIOS is uses typical sci-fi stories to assembly a very deep discourse about the human condition. TELEIOS and its crew of genetically modified humans are sent to TITAN to recover a distressed cargo vessel whose crew apparently killed themselves.A human survivor and a robot are found but communicating with them is not easy and things became very strange for everybody. Some things are explained but others not; so it is better to look for yourself.Considering it is an independent and low budget movie; the special FX are fantastic. The acting is somewhat wooden but eventually you realize that is the way it should be as things progress.Without giving to much up, it is a tale about greed but also about racism and segregation.

In brief; far better than you could expect

Spooky lower budget thinking movie (IMDB: 8)

On: 2/5/2019 12:00:00 AM By: robertemerald
The space effects here are good. I rather think they could have included them more often to build atmosphere, and as a breather from the understandably (only) slightly claustrophobic effect of the limited set. I think the makers realised that too and thus put thought into screen backgrounds, a nice touch. If you watch the movie, and you definitely should if you love intelligent sci-fi, then you'll see what I mean. The computer graphics effects were also really good and a plausible technological look forward. I just read the synopsis/blurb for this movie and, if you haven't read it, don't. You'll enjoy the movie much more if you go in blind. At first you may feel the acting is a bit stiff, even for corporate/military astronauts, but bear with it. I loved the story/plot. I would have given it more stars if the direction had heightened the tension of the big reveals. In my humble opinion that required a bit more effort. We want dazzling wow moments, not just how-about-that moments. More than that is the sets, which needed to be way more spacious and a tad grungy, as in Alien movies (it is a mining ship). There's some odd bits of editing too, too many shots of people's boots (very minor criticism). The image on the dvd cover is separate artwork from the movie, though consistent with the style of the cgi. There were some nice effects with luminous pieces of uniforms and light displays on weapons, especially during power outages. I would have loved to have seen more of that. Really cool robot as well. To be honest its hard to review this movie without spoilers. Intelligence over aesthetics, so it's a solid 8 stars from me.

Interesting premise, terrible execution (IMDB: 3)

On: 1/11/2019 12:00:00 AM By: imdb-57934
The acting is about what you'd expect from a low budget film, the two main issues that really drag it down are the pacing and directing: you could easily remove 30 minutes of the film where the characters are just aimlessly existing on the space station. The time wasn't used to develop the characters - there are none - they just keep restating their mission, I almost turned it off during that time because it didn't seem to be going anywhere.

The directing is something else entirely, 90% of the movie the camera just keeps swining side to side, like you're tilting your head left and right constantly, it started making me nauseous and it didn't seem to have a purpose to it either - they had artificial gravity the whole time - it was purely a stylistic choice and it sucked.

looks like Star Trek, watches like Stargate (IMDB: 7)

On: 12/2/2018 12:00:00 AM By: MunkyMovie
Most of what seem to be the strange decisions of the writer/director turn out to have a reason, eventually. This movie is worth giving a chance -- the key story point is revealed, pretty quickly, about two thirds of the way through.

No gaping plot holes and a few surprises (IMDB: 7)

On: 4/30/2018 12:00:00 AM By: codive
Had this been a 50 million dollar project from a big studio with budget all over the place you'd have stars and perfect lighting, fresh dialogue, a lot of ka-boom, and whatnot, but probably also some really stupid plot holes.

Then I would rant on about some of the camera, some lighting here and there, and some of the acting, but most of all about the plot holes. I have a problem with films that tell me one concept in the beginning, and then trash that ten minutes later, as if I didn't remember.

But in this case, I just have to root for the makers. They only had a million, and came up with characters, and a pretty good story, that does not have the plot holes. So, at no point in the film I felt as if the makers thought I was stupid. On the contrary. The story even came up with a few twists, that I did not see coming.

Is it as intricate and mind-beding as "Primer"? No.

Is the acting as staggering as Sam Rockwell in "Moon"? No.

But if you saw Primer or Moon, and you liked those, I think you'll have a good time with this one.

Or if you like Star Trek.

I would put it in the same league. It stays true to what science fiction is.

Thanks, Ian Truitner! I also hope to see more from him.

Last point: Yes, the acting. They need to work on that a bit, but since I can't act at all, and they really had a limited budget, maybe they just couldn't shoot that take the ten times it takes to get it perfect.

Very smart (IMDB: 10)

On: 3/18/2018 12:00:00 AM By: joanneshlobotnik
To be clear this film is not a slam bang action film, but is very thought-provoking and raises important themes. It draws you in with a mystery that unravels in unexpected ways. Apart from Michael Nouri you might not recognize the actors, but the cast is excellent and the visuals, given it's only 1million budget (according to IMDB), are also great.

Fantastic Indie Sci-Fi (IMDB: 9)

On: 2/16/2018 12:00:00 AM By: stargazer-91
I saw this film at a festival with modest expectations, but it turned out to be a great surprise. Given its low budget don't expect a ton of action and special effects, but the film makes up for it with strong acting, intrigue and a story that keeps you guessing.

I think some of the criticism saying it's boring must not be fans of classic Sci-Fi, which were more about atmosphere and making a statement about the future (or potential future) of humanity through the imaginary world of science fiction. For that matter 2001 or Blade Runner could be called dull, because there's long stretches without action. Teleios is dialogue heavy for sure, but it has strong pacing and wait for last 30 minutes when what you thought you knew what was going on gets turned upside down.

The film was released under the name Beyond the Trek, which is a somewhat erroneous title as it has nothing to do with the Star Trek franchise. Still, if you like Star Trek, particularly the classic stuff, Teleios (Beyond the Trek) is worth a watch.

Not What I expected = That's Good (IMDB: 8)

On: 9/11/2017 12:00:00 AM By: zboston3
I'm going to review this because I so object to the low, around 3 stars, rating it seems to have gotten. It's a science fiction film, but it's not about killer robots, particularly; it's not about planets or star ships blowing up; it's not about aliens invading the earth. It's a quiet, sort of slow film, that seems to be about one thing and then turns out to be about something else. It's low budget but I don't think that is damaging in the least. The acting isn't bad - it's part of the story. In fact, I will watch for the actors in other work just to see how they do. The story, as I said, seems to be one thing, but then starts to twist and turn to an ending that is quite moving.

All in all, I'm glad to have stumbled across this.

Amazing considering the budget. (IMDB: 6)

On: 9/4/2017 12:00:00 AM By: MartinHafer
"Teleios" is a new sci-fi film from Ian Truitner and what makes it worth seeing is its budget. Until recently, independent filmmakers would rarely touch sci-fi as the films were quite expensive to make? mostly due to the special effects. However, recent advances with software have allowed gorgeous cinematic quality CGI at a relatively small cost. This would explain why a film with only a million dollar budget would look this good! For that reason alone, the movie is well worth seeing.

The film is set in the mid-21st century. Genetically modified humans are proliferating on the planet and they are stronger, smarter and more capable in many ways compares to 'normals'. A space ship, the Teleios, with five of these super humans is about to make contact with a vessel that's been stranded in space for some time?and no one is sure whether anyone is left alive on this stricken ship. The crew's orders are, first and foremost, to recover the cargo from the ship. But there mission is soon complicated by many things. The crew of the stricken vessel has all been killed?with only one remaining as well as a robot and neither seem willing or able to explain what happened. The other problem is that these super men and women are beginning to show signs of weakness?weaknesses they supposedly have overcome. Their emotions are running amok and soon they begin preying on each other. Why and what's to become of their mission?

The best things about the film are the CGI, costumes and music. All of these look very professional and caught my attention. As for the story, it's only fair and is, at times, a tad confusing. Because of this, it's a movie that might just improve with repeated viewing. Overall, a mixed bag but a lesson on economical and effective filmmaking?and a decent sci-fi flick as well.

A classy film (IMDB: 10)

On: 8/27/2017 12:00:00 AM By: jflinders-87452
Very intelligent. Well acted, well directed, amazing music. The Gwar music joke is nicely inserted.

I don't understand the bad reviews. i guess we can all have enemies int his work. I would put this film stylistically somewhere between modern TV Sci-Fi (Star Trek,etc) and Passengers, though it is definitely ABOVE television standards.

It own not a big budget film, but it is TRUE proper Sci-Fi. Very intelligent and thought provoking and nicely quirky in places.

Well worth the 90 or so minutes of viewing time

Im(Perfection) (IMDB: 4)

On: 8/16/2017 12:00:00 AM By: dariuslanghoff
In the beginning two things attracted my attention and caused me to examine this movie: the poster, which is graphically original, and the title which is incomprehensible, unless you are familiar with Greek. After looking it up I learned TELEOIS stands for "perfection". So, my artistic sense was pleased, my linguistic knowledge increased - so far, so good.

Then the time came to watch the film. Knowing its budget was limited I did not expect fireworks of production values, but it not necessarily makes a good sci-fi picture an impossibility. One spacecraft with a crew of 5 is sent to investigate the demise of the crew of another space vessel. A premise more than satisfactory. A certain parallel with EVENT HORIZON (1997) may by seen here, though the Paul W.S. Anderson's work itself is hardly original, as it borrows heavily from NIGHTLYERS (1987).

The rest, with very few exceptions, is sorrowfully miscarried. The direction seems to be almost absent, or present at its incompetent worst. Majority of the actors are so lame it seems their acting lessons had the form of a correspondence course. Especially Lance Broadway, T.J. Hoban and Christian Pitre deliver performances of abysmally bad quality.

However, Ursula Mills makes Lulu AH 320 an interesting robotic character. And then there's is ravishing Sunny Mabrey who can act and can bring some conviction to her lines, her final speech sounds quite poignant and dramatic, but it is not enough to save the misbegotten movie. More than a decade passed since she appeared in SPECIES 3 where she had little to say and served mostly as a nude window dressing. Now she is an accomplished actress and deserves much better roles.

The costumes represent an utter lack of visual taste. And it would have sufficed to remove those hideous frontal brown areas, otherwise they are nicely female figure hugging.

In summarum, this motion picture is worth viewing only for Ms Mabrey, other reasons are extremely difficult to be found. On second thoughts, some might be tempted to see Michael Nouri in his brief video transmissions to notice how he has aged since the time of FLASHDANCE (1983).

Semi-Decent, especially given the budget (IMDB: 5)

On: 7/3/2017 12:00:00 AM By: davidvandekerk
I have to judge a movie partly by the budget. This was a one million dollar movie in 2017 dollars. That's tiny! Sharknado 4 was three million dollars. Don't expect stellar special effects, great sets or even decent costumes. This looks more like something a bunch of Star Trek fan fiction alumni would end up with if they pooled their Doritos money and produced a full movie and I wish them

A crew of emotion-less "super humans" wake up in a space ship near Titan. Their orders are to recover the lost cargo on a mining ship. They find a seemingly insane crew member and a robot tending the gardens.

Any time the trope of "emotionless humans" comes up you know exactly what is going to happen next - and it does. Sorry - this is no master gem of a script either. Expect the expectable and you won't be disappointed.

very boring (IMDB: 1)

On: 6/29/2017 12:00:00 AM By: a-mi-ra
usually you understand if you like a film after first 10 minutes..... after 40 minutes of the film its still boring...... very bad language representation, as they took people who do not speak it. Could ask native speakers to read. I would not watch it again... i would agree with most people who left a review here.... like actors.. there could be anyone instead of them, there is no much dynamics. also a lot of foreign language what was not translated... it is a super boring detective...

Great Special Effects but the Acting leaves A LOT to be desired... (IMDB: 4)

On: 6/9/2017 12:00:00 AM By: mnunez786
I had never heard of this movie, the producer, director or actors but I figured why not give it a try, so I started watching it. The special effects are great so I was inspired to keep watching. However, I could not get past the first ten minutes due to the bad quality of acting and I had to turn it off. That's just my two cents.

A study in ethics. (IMDB: 8)

On: 5/13/2017 12:00:00 AM By: grantconlon
This movie examines some big ethical and moral issues. Any film that quotes Tolstoy and Moliere is for thinkers. It may be sci-fi, acuity is not the best, but really quite good.? Questions about eugenics, intellectual property rights, the morality behind life and death decisions, and the emotional weaknesses of humankind make it intellectually interesting. Reviewers who have focused on the costumes are missing the point widely.

In space no one can hear you snore... (IMDB: 3)

On: 4/21/2017 12:00:00 AM By: paul_haakonsen
I was lured in by the movie poster and the hope that this was actually going to be a good sci-fi movie, and the fact that the synopsis of the movie seemed interesting also caught my attention.

Then 39 minutes into the movie, I just gave up. This movie was sheer and utter boredom presented in a shiny and glowing sci-fi wrapping. There was just nothing compelling about this mundane and boring storyline that the writers had mustered to put together.

And it didn't help that everything just screamed low budget presented in a mediocre wrapping. Granted, I have seen worse productions of sci-fi movies, but there just was that spark of low budget to "Teleios" such as in the weapons, the sets, and the so-called human-like robot beings. I mean, the way that they were moving was just so 1950's and laughable.

I didn't get captured by the storyline, despite the fact that the storyline had potential to make a great movie. It was just the lack of pace and Progress to the movie that killed it off. I could live with the sense of pseudo-low budget, sure, but the inactivity of the storyline and the irrelevant characters was an anchor around the movie.

"Teleios" didn't bring anything new, memorable or innovating to the sci-fi genre, and it is hardly a movie that will make a lasting impression, even with those in the audience that manages to sit through to the very end. And it is hardly a movie that will stand out as being a milestone in the sci-fi genre.

The acting in the movie was adequate, although I can't really claim to be familiar with those cast for the various roles. Some did better jobs than others, of course, as it always go. But no one in the movie were really outstanding or memorable.

Not outstanding and not memorable seems to be keywords to this movie.

If you enjoy sci-fi, then there are far, far better movies available. And personally I find it hard to see why anyone would actually sit through the entire length of "Teleios", because it was a drag of a movie.

It's a movie with a message. (IMDB: 7)

On: 4/17/2017 12:00:00 AM By: iive
In many ways this movie reminded me about the original Star Trek series. The costumes, the props, the effects, the clichés, the play, and even the way it tries to explore social norms and problems.

It's definitely a low budget film, so don't expect amazing visuals. It's not an action movie that would hold you on the edge of your seat, either. It's a drama and if you could overlook 1 hour of SciFi clichés, you might come to enjoy it. I certainly did.

Be warned, the plot does involve 3 different themes, one of which comes out as surprise twist out of nowhere, yet it strangely rhymes with the events on the station. It's not hard to imagine that both are result of the same logic, even though they are completely separate events. In retrospect this twist is probably the reason why I liked this movie and why I would recommend you to watch it.

Storywise better than Passengers (2016) (IMDB: 7)

On: 4/9/2017 12:00:00 AM By: ChazzJazz
Without a forum, I cannot reply to review such as below...which is a bit harsh. The movie is a mishmash of 2001, Event Horizon, Lost in Space. Its a better movie story-wise than passengers (2016) with the Hollywood sweethearts JLaw and Pratt. Doesn't have the Hollywood budget unfortunately.

The mystery was gripping and kept the attention BUT the resolution was a bit weak.

The Genetic Transformed (GT?) Super Humans of the future are sent to fix the mistakes of a previous human mission to the distance planet. They find a lone Human survivor and artificial person.

Then everyone, it seems, malfunctions, and ethical dilemmas and decisions have to be made....

Interesting use of literature from Tolstoy to Sun Tzu....

"This seems to have started out as a thought-provoking script and devolved into a thoughtless movie, mainly due to the ridiculous costumes that looked like they were created by Project Runway rejects - the poorly sewn dart seams on the voluptuous actresses' costumes were distracting, and the shoulder pads were ill-fitted on the hunky guys' costumes, and let's not forget those high heel booties so necessary on space missions. This looked as if someone decided the acting was going to be so bad that they may as well make a porn, and then forgot the porn."