Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for The Commando ( 2022 )

PTSD (IMDB: 6)

On: 7/26/2022 12:00:00 AM By: kosmasp
Punisher traumatic stress disorder ... no wait that's post, so no pun intended. Actually if you saw the Netflix show (now on Disney plus) of Frank Castle also known as the Punisher, you'll get my pun and very likely will agree with it.

That said, you should not compare those two items. The Punisher was above and beyond - this is flawed to say the least. I reckon I am a bit of a sucker for action movies - even the low budget ones. Even the ones that have more than one issue to them. Add to that an inflated Mickey Rourke and you'd be excused for not really liking this. Even though it has a Michael Jai White in it - who is always trying to do his best.

Action scenes are decent - but the story is out there. With a lot of madness going on. And quite a bit of convenient timing .. but hey, that's to be expected, yes?

Low Budget but a Decent One (IMDB: 5)

On: 6/15/2022 12:00:00 AM By: tkdlifemagazine
Decent action and screen presence by White and supporting cast. Very low budget but more action driven. White's family and friend good in this. Route has become a cartoon character but it works here. I like MJW and he always delivers. The film works in some gratuitous martial arts fights which works for me.

Wal-Mart bargain bin (IMDB: 4)

On: 5/18/2022 12:00:00 AM By: trimblair
If Rourke and White are your stars in 2020, it is a stinker. Mickey looks like he's wearing a Halloween mask, moves Jerry. (His fight scenes are obviouslysped up), and talks like he has a mouthfull of old beef jerky. White has acted like a tough guy so long he started calling out real MMA guys ... like Steven Segal. Movie has no plot and makes no sense. It's 3 overall rating reflects that. Extra star for sweet yellow cobra jet Mustang.

Big names, big flop! (IMDB: 3)

On: 5/4/2022 12:00:00 AM By: paul-ayres-60784
I'm disappointed by this appalling attempt at a thrilling action movie. The story is very basic, the script atrocious along with the directing. Such a shame to see the likes of Mickey Rourke and Michael Jai putting their names to this.

The most ridiculous thing I found was how so many people in a average size house seem to have no idea of what is occurring in the other rooms. I think I have been generous giving it a 3.

Don't waste 90 mins of your life on this one.

Watchable, but very generic action thriller... (IMDB: 5)

On: 4/14/2022 12:00:00 AM By: paul_haakonsen
Right, well the two reasons for why I sat down to watch the 2022 action thriller "The Commando" was because this was a movie that I hadn't already seen, and also because the movie had Michael Jai White on the cast list.

Had I heard about "The Commando" prior to watching it? Actually no. But then again, I rarely do sit down to watch trailers. So writers Asif Akbar, Al Bravo and Koji Steven Sakai had every opportunity to entertain me with this movie.

I will say that "The Commando" is watchable, for sure. But that being said, then I have to confess that it was at the same time also a dime-a-dozen movie. And by that I mean that "The Commando" doesn't differentiate itself from many other action thrillers. So director Asif Akbar didn't particularly bring anything new to the table. Don't get me wrong, the movie is still watchable and entertaining, it just was a tad generic and predictable.

It was good to see Michael Jai White in the movie, and he definitely does action movies quite well. It was also enjoyable to see Jeff Fahey in the movie, just a shame that he was only given limited screen time. As for Mickey Rourke, well, casting the shell that was formerly recognizable as Mickey Rourke is simply beyond my comprehension.

There was a couple of well-enough played out action scenes throughout the course of "The Commando", but not enough to make it a particularly outstanding or memorable movie. And for an action thriller, then "The Commando" is a movie that came and went without leaving a lasting mark.

My rating of this 2022 action thriller settles on a very mediocre five out of ten stars.

Another turd! (IMDB: 1)

On: 2/28/2022 12:00:00 AM By: laemme
Any movie with 30 producers is going to be a stinker! It means they all threw in money but don't really know how to produce anything except toilet fodder. The acting is awful, especially to of the girls. Mickey Rourke is collecting a paycheck and phoning it in. Some decent stunts but that's all I can give it. Worth passing on. Not even D-list quality.

Boring, slow, badly written (IMDB: 1)

On: 2/17/2022 12:00:00 AM By: videogamenews
I love M. Jai White and M. Rourke (even if he looks like a wax statue these days) but this is just BAD.

The whole thing has almost no action at all except for a shootout and a fight scene. The rest is criminals talking while sitting in cars and actors trying to make the most out of a bad script. Plus mixing PTSD with a a home invasion makes no sense, and the movie switches from personal issues to mindless violence too easily. But most of all, like I said before, whatever action is there is not enjoyable at all.

Oh and the title itself has almost no connection to the film's plot or its cast.

bad B (IMDB: 3)

On: 1/27/2022 12:00:00 AM By: SnoopyStyle
DEA agent James Baker (Michael Jai White) is struggling after a bad mission. He returns home suffering PTSD. Unbeknownst to him, his daughter found some money hidden in their house. Harden criminal Johnny (Mickey Rourke) had hid his loot in various places in the house. He gets released from prison and is looking to recover his money.

There are a few guys here that I haven't seen for awhile. Rourke looks like he took all the steroids and HGH. He's definitely been using his drug muscle and he's a far worst actor for it. This is a B-action movie. I don't mind the action. Some of it is actually professional bordering on fair. On the other hand, the acting is bad and the two young actresses are probably the worst. They are fingernails on the chalkboard. They make this bad movie even worst.

I was, really, hoping to love this movie... (IMDB: 2)

On: 1/14/2022 12:00:00 AM By: dctr666
...but I didn't... I love Michael Jai White. He still has the physique, the skills and the charisma, but this movie failed everything I was expecting it not to fail.

The effects are bad, for sloppy sounds effects to sloppy visual effects of blood and bullet hits...The acting is what we should expect it to be. Not bad, not good... But the way the movie was made, it's so damn sloppy.

Rourke looks like Michael Myers with a tan and a cowboy hat...I was really looking forward to see this movie, and it sucked really bad ??

Not a bad movie but I was expecting more. (IMDB: 6)

On: 1/12/2022 12:00:00 AM By: subxerogravity
The common ground would be to spit all over this movie because I saw a trailer that was better than what the movie is but isn't that the point of trailers.

It's a Michael Jai White movie and I was expecting more martial arts action cause the trailer seem to showcase that, but White is older than he looks so I should not expect the same High kicks I saw in Blood and Bone or Falcon Rising over 10 years ago. Jeff Fahey seems to be here strictly for the Star power (which is very cool cause I do like this b-movie star), anyone could have done what he did in the flick for much cheaper, but they wanted another possible name on the poster. Then we have Mickey Rourke who gave us some good Mickey Rourke if you can get over the distraction of whatever was going on with his face (that face makes it hard to tell whether he aged badly or not, but I'm leaning towards badly over not).

I was expecting a lot after seeing that trailer and what I got does not live up to that trailer, but It's not a bad movie, just disappointing based on who is in it. It's a typical plot for a low budget movie that centers around a home invasion and for the most part as a movie it done well, and I enjoyed it for what it is over what the trailer made it look like.

Don′t complain, you know what you will see! (IMDB: 4)

On: 1/12/2022 12:00:00 AM By: frank-liesenborgs
James Baker (Michael Jai White), a DEA agent with PTSD returns home after a failed mission where he killed an innocent mother and her two daughters. James goes on a little holiday trip with his wife trying to forget what happened. But what are the odds that in his house a stash of 3 million USD is hidden? This is the loot of a bank robbery, several years ago, by a gang led by Johnny (Mickey Rourke). A lot of action, a plot that does not make sense and Mickey Rourke acting like he has been hit by a bus. However, if you are really bored and have time to waste, you know what to do...

Martial arts movie stars (IMDB: 1)

On: 1/11/2022 12:00:00 AM By: Plazeebo
I see a theme going on here. Steven Segal introduced the world to Aikido, and went downhill from there.

Dolp Lundgreen had the looks and the physique but went from action star to Bruce Willis low quality movies.

Scott Adkins had a good thing going with Boyka and Blood & Bone, but turned towards low budget movies.

Michael Jay White has amazing physique and iconic moves - such as Blood & Bone prison scene, but his latest movies has followed the same path. Low quality crap that no one wants to watch.

Hey martial artists! We are here - your fans. Give us good movies we will give you good reviews. We will buy cinema tickets if you make it to the silver screen. But don't go Bruce Willis on us. We'll leave.

Watched about 5 minutes had to stop (IMDB: 1)

On: 1/11/2022 12:00:00 AM By: raqsar
Man this was bad, special effects so bad, all that gunfire in the first seen and no mag changes, no brass ejecting and the "bullets' hitting the wall were laughable effects at best!!! I think i would rather watch the female ghostbusters movie before i'd watch this mess!

Terrible watch only If you dont have something smart to watch. (IMDB: 2)

On: 1/11/2022 12:00:00 AM By: danchy-jug
Why do people in general try to make such bad movies. The only good thing about the film is Michael Jei White and his martial arts scenes. Acting is a horror without emotions and a lot of illogicalities around the plot. They wait 2 days in front of the house to take the money safely and then one fool ruins their plans. The action is boring and when the action starts Jai White solves it in 2 minutes. The real story is the horror of the action and the music. They made movie to make a lot of money, but I don't think they make money from that movie. ??????

Really the worst film 20th century (IMDB: 1)

On: 1/11/2022 12:00:00 AM By: ecclestn
Can't believe this has to be the worst film I've watched in 20th century, music everything awful. Such bad acting I really can't give anything more than 1 star.

Dumb and dumber (IMDB: 1)

On: 1/10/2022 12:00:00 AM By: ssal-45760
Mickey can't act at all. He's got more plastic on his face than my bumper.mumbles his lines can't understand him. Walks like he's about to change his depends. Storyline makes no sense . Give guys like me a chance to act.

WSatching movies (IMDB: 6)

On: 1/10/2022 12:00:00 AM By: ephuigens
It's so great everyone is allowed to give their opinion, but it stops where one says what must be altered in characters and scripts and the whole screenplay..You just say you like or dislike a movie, got amused or angered, but if you have critics of the actors, director, and the movie in it's whole, you must be able to proove, that you can do better.

Such a waste of decent talent. (IMDB: 3)

On: 1/10/2022 12:00:00 AM By: Top_Dawg_Critic
I'm a fan of both Michael Jai White, and the almost 70 years old Mickey Rourke, who is - botox aside, still built like a brick house. But what experienced B-film writer, producer and director Asif Akbar, along with two other experienced B-film filmmakers/writers gave use here, is an embarrassment to MJW and Rourke. How these three seasoned filmmakers and producers could present this mess, is astonishing.

The conceptual story was interesting, and had potential. But the terrible screenplay with long dragged out scenes and laughable dialogue, along with Akbar's 5th grade drama class level of directing, just made the entire film cringe, with the viewer praying for the end credits.

The sound was off and distant - y'all ever hear of "boom mics"? The score was your typical B-grade loud, constant, annoying and unfitting score. The cinematography and camera work was horrid. The acting lacked any direction, and for the most part, you can tell the actors tried their best, considering. There were endless plot and technical issues. Even the action was poorly choreographed and looked like something out of the 80's. The editing was really bad, with scenes dragged out and/or unnecessary. The 93 min runtime felt endless with the slow pacing and dragged out scenes. There was just too much nonsense filler, and very little substance, and everything was predictable and cliched.

I don't know who's funding Akbar's films, but they should make him go to film school before handing over any more cash for other films. It's a very generous 3/10 from me.

MJW! (IMDB: 9)

On: 1/9/2022 12:00:00 AM By: reviewer-64471
I'll start by saying I'm a big MJW fan so I had high expectations watching this movie and man did it deliver. Even my wife enjoyed watching it after reluctantly agreeing to watch it with me. Worth the watch, good movie.

Torture (IMDB: 1)

On: 1/9/2022 12:00:00 AM By: qvytzw
1hour 30 mins of pure mental torture. Cringe worthy dialogue, honestly the script writer needs to rethink his/her career. If youve not seen it yet, don't bother. If you have I'm sorry you had to go through that. Absolute disaster of a movie.