Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for The Dunes ( 2021 )

Don't be fooled by those fake praises (IMDB: 1)

On: 8/12/2022 12:00:00 AM By: housearrestedever
This movie, like most of the productions out of Australia, is so hard to watch with interest and patience. So many plot holes with poor acting. The screenplay was purposefully manipulated with twists by writer/director Martin Copping. Sadly, he didn't even quite understand how to make the detective character convincingly believable. If you take look at all of the from 7/10, 9/10. 10/10 high ratings, you'll find they are almost the same, even the titles and the words used are almost the same. Obviously, all the people who involved in this production or the people related to these reviewers, are trying so hard but shamelessly to promote this poorly scripted, directed, cast, and acted lame duck out of Australia.

Don't be fooled like me, don't waste your time.

A hidden winner (IMDB: 9)

On: 7/7/2022 12:00:00 AM By: bellaaussie
Here's another hidden winner that I randomly watched and I'm so surprised as to how good this was. The unspoken tension between the two main actors became increasingly captivating. I needed more Alexandra Davies and an ending that was a bit more satisfying and a little more gore honestly.

Great plot (IMDB: 10)

On: 7/7/2022 12:00:00 AM By: galenorth303
A well made australian thriller. The plot is very clever and the narration is never banal. The storyline follows a logical pattern in which each character has their own role. Although the film might seem complex there are no contradictions that trivializes the film. This film uses a strong narrative. A gem of an Australian indie film.

Good slow burn movie (IMDB: 7)

On: 5/27/2022 12:00:00 AM By: roysmitty0
The past will always catch up with you! What a message. A nice slow burn movie and as you get to know the journalist you start to feel for him but things really take a turn. If you want to watch a psychological film then this is the only one you need to watch. Best one I've seen so far this year.

Good weekend movie (IMDB: 7)

On: 5/25/2022 12:00:00 AM By: jaeelkomal
The Dunes literally gave me chills. The actor playing William Night was so convincing, every time he came on the screen I was silent. Brilliant performances by all involved and I'd watch again when I have friends over. A good weekend movie.

Deep meaning (IMDB: 9)

On: 5/25/2022 12:00:00 AM By: tony-6-4-p
I thought the film was going to be yet again a predictable slasher movie but it wasn't! Clever ending and a deep meaning involved in terms of addiction and abuse. I don't want to give away too much but I hope The Dunes hopefully gets the recognition it rightfully deserves. Award winning!

Intense flick (IMDB: 8)

On: 5/25/2022 12:00:00 AM By: hangelam
If you think the trailer was exciting, wait till you watch the full movie. A bit of a slow burn towards the start but the storyline unfolded into something more than just a horror movie. Lots of suspense and just when you think you got it all figured out there was a plot twist that will have you back in again. The accents are a change too as I don't watch too many Australian films but after this I'm convinced they are making quality movies.

well written script (IMDB: 9)

On: 5/25/2022 12:00:00 AM By: aussieallstarsz
Both the actors Martin Copping and Tim Phillipps were brilliant like always. Loved the location the home town was in as it really set a mood of isolation. I'm more of a psychological plot twisting type of person so it was good to see little to no blood or exaggerated scenes rather they worked on the psychological elements, harder to do but they pulled it off. Really well done.

Quicksand (IMDB: 2)

On: 5/22/2022 12:00:00 AM By: Cpt_Ramrod
The start will draw you in, but soon you will find yourself stuck, deciding whether watching this film was a good idea at all. It continues to suck you down deeper to new levels of bad acting and plot turns. Stay on the safe trails and away from dodgy shortcut films like this.

We need a sequel (IMDB: 9)

On: 5/13/2022 12:00:00 AM By: carlosthefilmreviewers
I hope there is a sequel to this movie because it just needs one! I thought this movie was incredibly enjoyable. I will say that it didn't have much violence or gore that I wish it had but I was willing to overlook that. Martin Copping's story was a complex and compelling emotional tale about a successful journalist from Los Angeles making his way back to Australia. Seems normal right? That's when things take a turn. The character building is quick and to the point without being rushed and the relationships are built on throughout the entire movie. The ending was suspenseful but again I wish there was more violence and gore, maybe a little more Hollywood sprinkles on it. Having said that I would recommend this if you want a good story that attacks more to the psychological aspect of things but would advise you to find a different film if you're looking for something more of a horror movie.

Crazy and entertaining very dark (IMDB: 9)

On: 5/12/2022 12:00:00 AM By: nadiacabim
I really enjoyed The Dunes. It had all the things I felt made this into a successful thriller. They have foreshadowing, crescendoing tension, atmosphere, drama and spirituality. Australians just have a heightened sense of what it would be like to experience things that happen slowly but happen nonetheless in spite of all your wishing it wouldn't happen. Don't get me wrong, while I do enjoy a jump fest, over the top adrenaline rush, and "no don't do that" kind of flick, I also acknowledge the genius of an amazingly executed scary story. My thanks to those involved.

Suspensful film (IMDB: 9)

On: 5/12/2022 12:00:00 AM By: jacobriley044
An absolutely unexpected gem. Great character development with certain characters, believable arcs, a likeable cast and, like all good psychological films it gives you brief moments of reprieve due to an interesting narrative. Might I add it's also amazing to see actual Australian accents depicted in a film without falling into a caricature of stereotypes and false overacting which often happens in media portrayals. All in all it's a solid watch.

Martin Copping great (IMDB: 8)

On: 5/12/2022 12:00:00 AM By: mosquitobite
Funny how people complain about "terrible acting" when people arent "acting", they re just doing the hardest thing of all...being natural and present before the camera. Guess we get so used to what's actually over acting we dont see the real skill of just being.

You can see the difference as soon as the cops arrive, both terrible, a phoney feeling presence/ " acting a part"This is a solid offering really enjoyed it.

Support aussie films (IMDB: 9)

On: 5/7/2022 12:00:00 AM By: dannyromas
Loved how this was set in Melbourne, Australia as I travelled there a few years ago and love the film Wolf Creek. It definitely had Wolf Creek vibes. It's not your typical Hollywood movie with frantic chase scenes and predictable jump scares but relied more on the story and character development. The Dunes flowed well from getting to know the main character to his hometown to then realising things are not what they seem. Clever plot twists and the film score was fantastic and helped build the tension all the way to the end. I really loved the music in this!

Excellent (IMDB: 8)

On: 5/4/2022 12:00:00 AM By: william101
I liked it. The Dunes started out as a creepy mysterious drama which it did a good job at doing while also having really stunning camera shots. The Australian landscape was beautifully featured throughout. After a while the movie took a turn and went towards a psychological thriller type of mode. The characters had good depth and it made you feel an extra level of "angst" brought on by their relationships with each other. I think that's why this worked for me. Worth a look!

Loved it (IMDB: 9)

On: 5/4/2022 12:00:00 AM By: uvz-54425
I thought this was a very well done indie thriller. Not a perfect film but clearly a passion piece. Had a strong arthouse vibe to me. This one deserves praise from a filmmaking perspective. Somewhat of an original take on a multi generation revenge flick and done with a competent cast lead by the director Martin Copping. I though the majority of the supporting cast were strong. I'm giving this 8 stars. It's probably a 7 but I'm throwing in an extra to support good indie film making.

Twisted (IMDB: 9)

On: 5/2/2022 12:00:00 AM By: leaodea
A sad story that explores the consequences of addiction and abuse. The character's back stories unfolded at the end after unexpected and tragic outcomes. The scenery is lovely. It was a little odd and at times a few performances were a little wooden, but a good effort on low budget.

Great thriller (IMDB: 9)

On: 5/2/2022 12:00:00 AM By: ericjasmine
I've been on a movie binge of late and YouTube recommended The Dunes trailer to me and I was hooked. Having finished it just tonight, I found it thrilling, captivating and fast-paced. Filled with physiologically filled adrenaline sequences and never-ending tension, it's just the kind of film I prefer watching. This isn't your typical guns blazing, blood spilling movie so it might be a hit or miss for many but if you're a more into storylines and plot twists this will be right up your alley. Nevertheless, it is a fun 98 minute popcorn escape.

Well done (IMDB: 8)

On: 5/2/2022 12:00:00 AM By: adamsaunders90035
Such a trippy film with lots of plot twists and unexpected turns. The Dunes starts off with getting to know the main character Nicholas Rice, a renowned journalist working in Los Angeles as he then returns back to his hometown in Australia. When he gets home, a mysterious person enters back into his life. Things then take a turn and without giving away too much let's just say if you're into physiological thrillers then you will enjoy this. I can usually guess what happens next but this one kept me on my toes. A good watch.

A solid little Australian psychological thriller (IMDB: 6)

On: 4/28/2022 12:00:00 AM By: eddie_baggins
A passion project from long term Australian actor turned director Martin Copping, The Dunes (the other Dune movie from 2021) is a low budget Australian thriller that favours the slow burn, as we follow Copping's LA based journalist Nicholas Rice on a trip back to his small Australian home town, a town that hides secrets both old and new in a potentially deadly scenario.

Backed through extensive Kickstarter campaigns and a dogged determination from Copping who also wrote this feature to coincide with his leading turn and direction, The Dunes is an at times rough around the edges (not to be unexpected from such a production) feature but there's enough going on here to ensure that should you be willing to bypass its raw nature, Copping's dark genre offering is a unique Australian piece that isn't afraid to shock and provide its share of twists and turns.

Shot in and around the picturesque Australian area of the Mornington Peninsula, The Dune's pretty backdrops and seaside surrounds mask the sins and evils that exist in Rice's past and present as he deals with his deteriorating father, past loves and a new contact in the form of Tim Phillipp's keen spear fisherman William Knight, who starts to play an ever growing presence in Rice's life back in his old stomping ground.

Unlikely to appeal to those seeking a white knuckle thriller filled with guns, blood and jump scares, The Dunes much prefers thrills in the forms of the psychological and while at times it may be a frustrating experience in a narrative sense through parts of its early and middle stages, as the puzzle comes together in the final act and you begin to grasp just who is who and why certain things are happening, The Dunes offers some memorable moments and impressively staged payoffs that not many will see coming.

Lacking the killer blow or knockout punch that may've elevated it to the next level, while unable to produce a genuinely noteworthy performance, with Phillipp's leaving the biggest impression as the charismatic but also devious Knight, The Dunes isn't ever quite able to become the film it might've been had more stars aligned but it's an impressive effort from Copping who has shown here that he has what it takes to become a very exciting local talent behind the camera.

Final Say -

At times rough and unrefined, The Dunes remains an impressive independent Australian offering that provides a twisting and turning psychological story that will have you guessing right up until the final moments.

3 packets of Two Minute Noodles out of 5.