Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for The Ron Clark Story ( 2006 )

MATTHEW PERRY (IMDB: 10)

On: 9/18/2019 12:00:00 AM By: chudurbudur
A very nice TV-Movie!and Matthew Perry was fantastic, amazing performance by him!

Inspiring (IMDB: 7)

On: 7/10/2019 12:00:00 AM By: fmwongmd
As feel good stories go, this is well done and well acted by Matthew Perry Good job!

Inspirational especially for those who wants to make a difference (IMDB: 9)

On: 8/27/2017 12:00:00 AM By: aimanjamilah
I first saw this in high school and knew I wanted to become like Ron Clark. I love him so much that I've read a couple of his books. They're equally as inspiring. I didn't end up as a school teacher but I do volunteer teach some unprivileged kids so I try to develop myself with his methods. I still have a lot to learn but I'm excited to do so. I just wish I'm in his class right now.

love the kids (IMDB: 7)

On: 9/19/2015 12:00:00 AM By: SnoopyStyle
It's 1998. Ron Clark (Matthew Perry) gets results as an elementary teacher but he leaves his job in the small town of Aurora, North Carolina for NYC. He wants to find a teaching job in Harlem. He starts as a waiter where he befriends Marissa Vega. Inner Harlem Elementary School Principal Turner (Ernie Hudson) dismisses him as being too nice but Clark pushes to teach the worst class in the school. The kids are disruptive. Tayshawn is a troubled kid from a bad foster home. Shameika Wallace is busy taking care of her 3 siblings. Julio is taking bets on how long the teacher lasts. Badriyah is quietly hiding her brains.

This is a functional white savior teacher movie. There are some hokey stuff that is traditional to the genre. Matthew Perry does a good job with some slightly more serious acting. I love the kids most of all. Both Brandon Mychal Smith and Hannah Hodson show some promising skills. The story stays traditional and on the expected path.

The Ron Clark Story... (IMDB: 7)

On: 10/24/2013 12:00:00 AM By: Thanos_Karagioras
"The Ron Clark Story" is a movie which is based on the true story life of Ron Clark and the work that he did.

Matthew Perry makes one of his best interpretations if not the best as a school teacher who relocates to one of the toughest classrooms in the country in Inner Harlem Elementary School. This classroom is the most disadvantaged class which exist in whole of the school and that was something that Ron Clark considered as challenge to succeed.

I liked this movie very much because it shows us what a teacher has to do to educate some children who are really tough. It is also shows us what a teacher has to endure to succeed to his work and how difficult this is it.

Exceptional (IMDB: 9)

On: 1/13/2011 12:00:00 AM By: earbyc
This was a very pleasant surprise for me over the Christmas break even at the time it was screened at 06.00 am, lucky I got up early! Rarely am I so taken with a film such as this, but obviously the story line really got me, as did the excellent acting by all the cast, the kids were just great, and utterly convincing.

I was also pleased to discover the film was based on fact, and I was pleased that these rebel children went on to greater things, would not the world be a much better place if there were More Mr Clark's around? Not just in teaching but in all walks of life, especially in politics and industry.

Honesty is in very short supply these days, now I am rambling so will pack in, surely my ten lines are complete?

Matthew Perrys FINEST performance Ever!! (IMDB: 10)

On: 11/17/2006 12:00:00 AM By: mandar_cyberfun
What an incredible movie!!! I happened to catch it on HBO about a month back and i am still reeling under its influence!!I so much liked the movie..that i got it TV'od and watch it almost alternate days whenever i have time!! I never knew that Matthew Perry was SO capable of acting with finesse. He's brings the character of RON CLARK alive so much...that actually u start wishing for a teacher like him to teach you, well at least i did. The kids especially the kid who played TayShawn have performed brilliantly, but of course Matt Perry takes the cake. I'll be terribly disappointed if Matthew Doest get an Oscar nomination/ award for this, its his time to shine!! My only wish is to meet Sir perry and Sir Ron CLark himself before i die....God bless Matthew and Ron, hope they have great success in their RON CLARK ACADEMY, and if i ever come to USA, I'll make sure I see their academy in Atlanta. Well what r u guys waiting for, grab a DVD and watch it, there's LOTS to learn from it!!!

Wasted Opportunity (IMDB: 2)

On: 10/24/2006 12:00:00 AM By: mangospider
If you've seen Ron Clark on Oprah, you know what an inspiration he is. This movie does absolutely NO JUSTICE to his story. In fact, the hack writers spend so much time shoe-horning his story into a clichéd structure, it's practically unrecognizable. I don't even know where to begin. First of all, Ron Clark's energy is the most amazing thing about him and Matthew Perry, while a fine actor in the right situation, is absolutely 100% miscast. For real, it should be someone like Sean Hayes or...I don't know, someone more electric. And those kids? Were such clichés. And, I don't know what movie the kid playing Shameika was even in. Basic Instinct or something. The story offered no insight into what actually made Ron Clark's teaching a success. By all appearances, he should have been an utter failure. It was deep conviction and unfailing energy that allowed him to succeed. When I heard this movie was being made, I was so excited for it. It couldn't be more of a disappointment.

The one film that should have been on the big screen (IMDB: 8)

On: 9/23/2006 12:00:00 AM By: magutosh
Great story, great acting and what a shame it was only made for TV, maybe and just maybe because it's for TV, it was given the opportunity to tell a story with excellence, emotion and great merit, with none of those Hollywood type of rubbish.

Matthew Perry has been a great actor, not just a comedy actor. His portrait of Ron Clark has brought the character down to earth, told as it is.

I did not know anything about Ron Clark before watching this film, yet after watching it, I felt as if I were there, in Mr Clark's very own classroom, that's what a good film should be. Not just for our eyes and brains but for our hearts.

Now I only wish Mr Clark had been my teacher.

Mr. Chips and Miss Dove don't get this movie. (IMDB: 5)

On: 8/27/2006 12:00:00 AM By: rick-keseley
Much of what Ron Clark professes is missing from this movie if you dare to compare the movie with what he says when he lectures. I guess one might say this is "loosely" based on a true story.

As a new teacher of high school kids, I can't say for certain whether clowning around with 5th graders really makes them like learning, but I'm certain that when they get to high school and they can't read or do simple math, no amount of humor can overcome the attitude that years of social promotion creates. Hats off to any teacher that get these kids started in learning.

As far as the movie version, Matthew Perry does not capture the manic energy of the real Ron Clark; he's far too adult and restrained. Clark is a whirlwind; a person you can't quite believe is real. Clark literally sweeps people along with his personal energy while talking a mile a minute. Perry just doesn't get it. His scenes with children are unbelievable, because they are too easily won over. Now if he'd only known karate, he'd of had them at "hello" or so says Hollywood.

I gave this film a 5, because its message that all children can learn is inspirational. A far better recent film is "Stand and Deliver"(1988), but the reason I'm a teacher is because of movies like "Good Morning, Miss Dove"(1955) and "Goodbye, Mr. Chips" (1939).

If you know a thing about teaching, the movie was far-fetched & unrealistic~ (IMDB: 4)

On: 8/21/2006 12:00:00 AM By: fact81
Nothing against Matthew Perry, I believe he acted just fine in the movie. However, when movies are "based" on true stories, they are usually stretched as this has to be the most embellished of them all! It wasn't the acting that bothered me, the youngsters actually did very well in that respect.

When Ron Clark(Matthew Perry) first comes into the classroom and states there are 3 rules which he demands to be followed, thats fine. its when the movie continues & through out, Mr. Clark had as many as 25-30 rules all over the room. Thats the first No No! When your teacher, you establish your rules 1st and foremost to the students get accustomed to following them. "Procedure, procedure, procedure" once you start adding things or CHANGING things, the children(whether they are from the ghetto, or not) will become insanely confused and unfamiliar with the environment of the classroom.

When the class is on their way to lunch and the main character student cuts in line, Mr. Clark proceeds to ask her if she cut in line and then replies with "Until you tell the truth, the whole class will suffer" Lol, this may have been allowed or perhaps encourages in the older days of teaching, but I can tell you if a teacher did that now and a Principal saw it, you would get a warning or be out the door. It promotes negativity amongst the students and its not helping an already negative situation. There are other ways to go about dealing with 1 student while NOT affecting the rest of the class.

When Mr. Clark informs the students they are going to "Phantom of the Opera" all of the students get excited, especially Te-Shaun(however you spell it). That was where I laughed, I have been into rough area schools etc etc, these kids wouldn't know or give a rats ass about "Phantom of the Opera" this part was almost to the point where I turned the film off completely.

My last issue with the movie is this. Who is the token drunk white guy who beats up TeShaun lol, where did that come from in the movie? Don't get me wrong here, nothing wrong with the acting in the movie, but very unrealistic and if you think you can get kids in these types of areas to appreciate "Phantom of the Opera" and things like that, keep on dreaming. I'm not saying you cannot touch 1 or even 2 students and help them succeed, but this was ridiculous

RON CLARK STORY - A Hollywood-type story that becomes too Hollywood (IMDB: 6)

On: 8/19/2006 12:00:00 AM By: ActOne
Being a teacher, I look for inspiration. I was fortunate to have seen Ron Clark speak last year. At this gathering, mention was made that there was a TV movie being made about his inspiring story starring Matthew Perry.

So, now comes that movie. But having seen it the other night, I must say how unimpressed I was. The reason why is that Ron Clark has been turned into "Ron Clark, role for TV star who wants people to see that he can act" and it doesn't seem to capture the personality of the real guy! The real Ron Clark I would describe as effervescent, clearly North Carolinian (the dialect gives that away), a bundle of energy. Matthew Perry's performance seemed, in comparison, to be Ron Clark on downers. A dynamic, even flamboyant, white guy in a Harlem school should seem to demand a stronger contrast in storytelling.

THE RON CLARK STORY was too convenient in the fact that all story lines end at the same time in the same room. It's sanitized, homogenized and Hollywood-ized into formulaic material that does not serve to inspire from a realistic point of view. It exaggerated too far beyond what the real story is.

Too bad. The inspiration for the storytelling got lost. It seems to have become less inspiring than the real Ron Clark would suggest. That's demotivating.

A good time (IMDB: 7)

On: 8/14/2006 12:00:00 AM By: rome_laurano
I am not a movie or TV critic, and I won't pretend to be. I will say that as just a normal person without any special credentials, I absolutely love this movie. It gives you this great feeling when you watch it, and I was shocked by Matthew Perry's performance. Having before only thought of him as the "Friends" guy his new personality took me completely by surprise. Overall, I thought that as a TV movie it is very much worth the time spent watching it. I had a great time and I'm sure that you will too.

The storyline is well developed and while there are a few unrealistic points, I think that it's very good. The children were portrayed very realistically, as were the challenges of teaching such a group. Knowing that it was a true story only heightened my enjoyment of the entire movie.

Because of the above said reasons I gave this a ten out ten. The movie isn't very action filled, and there isn't much romance, but I think that it's one of the best movies that I have seen in quite a long time.

I hope you will take this review seriously when choosing whether to watch this movie.

Thank you.

A touching, heartfelt movie.. and Matthew Perry gives an honest performance (IMDB: 9)

On: 8/14/2006 12:00:00 AM By: acoustic8y3
Not often these days do we get earnest films that are more than a formula (Glory Road comes to mind). The Ron Clark Story didn't reinvent the wheel, yet this made-for-TV movie was full of heart and positiveness. Matthew Perry managed to find a brilliant ballance between the pressure of being a teacher in a tough, intense neighborhood, with all the serious outcomes, and the joy and excitement of bringing a clever new teaching style to help the kids swallow the often-dry materials of history, math, etc.

I recommend this film not because it's in anyway ground-breaking, but simply because it has innocence that are hardly found in today's big budget films.

Outstanding performance by Matthew (IMDB: 10)

On: 8/14/2006 12:00:00 AM By: snowwhitesal-1
After seeing the previews for The Ron Clark Story over the last few weeks, I was keen to see what all of the fuss was about! I am now so glad I sat down and took the time to watch this amazingly motivating and inspirational story! Matthew Perry's portrayal of Ron Clark was absolutely outstanding. I always knew he was a brilliant actor, after watching Friends for the last ten years, no one can deny that this man has extraordinary talent, but in my opinion, he was even better in this movie. Without being too presumptuous, I might even go as far as saying this could be one of the greatest performances of his career.

I am not usually a fan of TV movies, but there was definitely something special about this one.

I really hope that they release this movie on DVD because it is definitely a movie that everyone should own in their collection at home.

Matthew, well done!!! It must be really hard to move away from such strong characters such as Chandler, but you proved you could do so much more than him in this movie. I hope we'll be watching you for MANY years to come!!! Ron Clark, you are on hell of a guy, there needs to be more people on this earth like you!!

The Ron Clark Story (IMDB: 10)

On: 8/13/2006 12:00:00 AM By: ybrannon
This is one of the "BEST" movies that I have seen in many years. It was very inspirational to me as an educator, but inspiring to me to know that there are still a lot of caring teachers, out there that care enough and do NOT give up on the children from the "inner cities." Thank You so much Mr. Ron Clark, You truly are the "badest teacher," as voted. I hope that many young people see this wonderful story and strive to work toward a degree in education, and really consider the "inner schools," where the need is so so great! I wish that I could have had a movie like this to inspire me, when I was in college. I would one day like to visit the "Ron Clark Acadamy."

A great performance for Matthew Perry. (IMDB: 10)

On: 8/13/2006 12:00:00 AM By: astros022
I have to say that I had seen the previews for this movie for about a week and couldn't wait to see it. After seeing it I was Amazed at the whole story. Matthew Perry has been a favorite actor of mine for a long time, I was absolutely blown away at his portrayal of Ron Clark, I have always considered Matthew Perry to be a very talented actor but this role was and probably will be the greatest performance of his career. I have to say that the story line is one that we hear about everyday, but when you actually see it brought to light it doesn't hit you. I like that they didn't delve into every little detail, they hit the major parts instead of dragging every detail of his life into this film. I also like that they show you how hard that he had to work to get these kids to open up to him and the parents also. They showed the good and the bad.I like that he wasn't just into it for the test scores, he is in it for the students and their future. If we had more teachers like him in our school systems we would be so much better off. I hope that they release it on DVD because it is a movie that everyone should have in their collection at home.I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone and everyone.

The Ron Clark Story (IMDB: 10)

On: 8/13/2006 12:00:00 AM By: HalfpintTP
I felt like The Ron Clark Story gives its audience hope for a better tomorrow, if we would only step out on faith. Mr. Perry does a great job telling the story of Ron Clark and his relationship with the students. Mr. Hudson gives the audience a honest view of how so many of us tend to give up when we feel beat down by the system, but Perry is the angel that saves not only the kids in his class but the parents, as well. Every child should be required to watch this movie for inspiration and hope for better tomorrows. Bravo to the network, writers, producers and actors in this movie! Thanks for inspiring me and my family to step out on faith and help others who may seem to have given up.

Sweet. (IMDB: 7)

On: 6/20/2006 12:00:00 AM By: ralph_2ndedition
I've been a fan of Mattew Perrys ever since Friends first aired on TV, and I make it a point to try and see any movie he makes. However, it's sometimes a bit...what's the word...sad (I guess) to see him play "Chandler" over and over again. As much as I like that character, it would be fun to see him play something else. That's that.

As for The Ron Clarke Story, with Perry as Ron Clarke, there are certain Chandler-qualities about Clarke. But more in terms of body-language than anything else - and I guess that would be Perry himself "shining through". For the most part it's a standalone part for Perry, a good long step away from "Chandler Bing". It's a really sweet story about a substitute teacher who goes through hell and back for his students (consisting of worst-case-scenario kids). It's an inspiring story, and you really wish it would always be that "easy" to get kids out of trouble and onto the right path.

Perry is good, he almost always is, and the kids are actually believable. True, sometimes you wish Clarke would just give the snotnose kids a "feel of the back of his hand" - but I guess that would be the easiest (and most faulty) way to go.

The Ron Clarke Story is a feelgood-film, and it does just that. It makes you feel good.

In addition: Any film that makes schoolteaching look like fun deserves a whole heap of credit.

There are still opportunities to be a super teacher...and the best student. (IMDB: 10)

On: 6/13/2006 12:00:00 AM By: telonius
This is a must see movie. Everyone should see this movie. Very inspiring. TNT will broadcast on August 13 at 8pm. Mathew Perry does a great job of portraying Ron Clark. Although, the real Clark, which I got to meet at the Atlanta film festival is more alive and enthusiastic than the one from the movie. Still, Mathew Perry give a very simpatico character to follow the whole story.

The kids are brilliant. There are a few strong visual moments but well done for a TV movie. Beside, it did happen. It is good to show what is really happening in the real world and the opportunities that all kids have no matter what their backgrounds are.

Every single kids has the same opportunities. All kids have different potential. Just need to encourage him/her to bring it about and use it.

Congrats to Ron Clark for all his work. He has a book call "The essential 55" that can help teachers and soon to be teachers. Also to TNT for bringing good quality and inspiring television content.

I hope you get to watch it and comment on it. Spread the word. Spread the teaching. Get connected with kids. They will thank you.

May the spirits of these kids guide you to a better future and Clark to a better teacher.

Good luck.