Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for The Sweeter Side of Life ( 2013 )

Ok watch (IMDB: 6)

On: 7/1/2021 12:00:00 AM By: jewelch
It was ok it was good to see James Best who played Sheriff Roscoe P. Coltrane on The Dukes of Hazzard. James Welch Henderson Arkansas 6/22/21.

Screech Monkey (IMDB: 6)

On: 2/28/2021 12:00:00 AM By: krs-92202
Why was she always screaming and it wasn't a normal scream it was screechy and annoying. The lead actress was vapid and seemed to come back down to earth very quickly. I didn't love it but at times I hated it. I saw it to the end and will chalk it up to another Hallmark movie that will not be on my repeat list.

So Disappointed (IMDB: 7)

On: 2/16/2021 12:00:00 AM By: cassielea
Within the first 20 minutes of watching this train wreck there are so many red flags but I just want to address two here: the main characture (yes you read that right) mentions in her drug induced haze that she forgot to tip the taxi driver to which the over the top stereotypical Irish father responds that the driver is a Jew and already charged for that. WOW. Really Hallmark?? Then when she goes with her father to his bakery we meet his employee, yet another stereotype this time of the heavy set Italian to which she and Paddy (father) bash his weight. Then have to shove him into a car. Dang. This may have been humorous to some almost a decade ago but now it's just plain hate. I love Hallmark but really they need to pull this crap fest and bury it. I mean they pulled Lori Loughlan movies for her what? Buying her kids college entrances? This movie is offensive why not pull it??? Disappointed.

delightfully cheesy (IMDB: 6)

On: 2/10/2020 12:00:00 AM By: jml1988
So sweet you'll get a toothache! Don't go into this expecting Oscar-worthy acting and screenwriting, but go into it in a good mood and you won't be able to help but smile!

Vapid (IMDB: 1)

On: 1/19/2019 12:00:00 AM By: lcally04
This was badly written and the acting was worse.The story is not cohesive, silly and just pitiful. The lead actress is pretty and that's about the nicest thing I can say. My guess would be a fifteen year old wrote this. What a waste of time.

worst movie EVER (IMDB: 7)

On: 4/22/2018 12:00:00 AM By: ricktidd
This is the first review I have ever written but had to comment. I love hallmark movies but this was pathetic. The acting was atrocious. Could not even finish watching it was so bad.

Exceeded All Expectations (IMDB: 9)

On: 2/6/2018 12:00:00 AM By: hackraytex
I was originally attracted to this movie to watch James Best perform. I have been a fan of his for years and have never been disappointed in his performances. I was also aware that this was the last movie that he was in before passing away about eighteen months later. As usual, Mr. Best was at the top of his ability and delivered another solid performance. If he was having any health problems, it did not show. It can be said with clear conviction that he went out on top.

I did not recognize the name "Kathryn Morris" and was doubly impressed with her ability to do comedy. No disrespect to Ms. Morris but I had never seen her do comedy before and she acted like she had been doing it for many years. Also, Ms. Morris can certainly carry the torch if Goldie Hawn decides to retire but I hope Ms. Hawn stays at it for awhile longer. The comparison between Ms. Morris and Ms. Hawn is not meant to diminish either one of these very talented performers. To my great surprise when I checked IMDB to find that I had had been watching her in Cold Case. As an all around actress, she is A#1. This is a good, clean, funny, family movie without being syrupy. Well worth my time. Good job everyone and rest in peace Mr. Best.

Wow (IMDB: 10)

On: 1/28/2013 12:00:00 AM By: Sherim
I wish I was good at writing reviews, but I'm terrible. Still had to write regarding Sweeter Side though. What a cute,fun, family movie. It was good to see the main character come out on top after so much bad things that got thrown her way. And to see a family stick together too. I couldn't get enough of it. We need more fun movies like this one. Keep them coming. I highly recommend everyone watch it. ") Everyone involved, did a great job. I also loved the music that was featured. Will be buying the soundtrack, if one comes out.I plan on buying it when it comes out on DVD too. Applause to the writing and directing team of Michael and Janeen Damian.

Need more movies of this caliber! (IMDB: 10)

On: 1/25/2013 12:00:00 AM By: LittleLouLou-2
Good family movies are all too rare; we need more like this! At first, I thought the "ditzy blonde" scenes were a little much, a little corny and overdone. That is, until I watched with grandchildren who thought they were hilarious. Then I realized that those things MAKE the movie family fare... something to appeal to all ages. The acting was perfection, itself; I was very impressed with the personality characterizations. In fact, I admit that I even had to wonder if James Best still "had it". Yes, he certainly does; he was just the right guy for the part. Don't hang up your acting hat yet, Jimmy!

Hats off to the Damians for another great movie!

"Thank You for Not Selling Out Your Daddy" (IMDB: 6)

On: 1/20/2013 12:00:00 AM By: boblipton
This Hallmark TV romantic comedy about how Kathryn Morris' husband dumps her for a twenty year old acupuncturist and she must move back in with her father at his bakery in Flemington NJ has some good performances going for it. Alastair Mackenzie is particularly amusing and knows how to take a comic fall. However, the occasional clangorous line like "Thank you for not selling out your daddy" prevent it from being much above average good.

I am taken with Ms. Morris' performance as she goes from pampered upper-class lady to down-to-earth New Jersey girl. A lot of these Hallmark romcoms start by having their heroines starting out obnoxious to make their transformations more dramatic. This one gets you on her side immediately, by a brief, self-satisfied smile at her position and then plunges her into shocked incomprehension as her husband kicks her out, ameliorated by good comic bits. It's those bits that keep this one watchable throughout.

A Train Wreck - I couldn't look away (IMDB: 1)

On: 1/19/2013 12:00:00 AM By: importer
This might have been a really cute, feel-good movie just like the rest of the Hallmark brand. BUT, the characters or caricatures in this case are so badly drawn that they aren't even believable as humans. The story line could have done with a lot fewer pratfalls and devices to carry it along. The idea that the woman is leaving a fifteen year marriage to an extremely wealthy man with nothing is simply laughable. In the end, when the epiphany comes, it is impossible to believe that this simpering, vapid shopper is even capable of an original thought.

The writers do a great disservice to women everywhere when they portray us as such pathetic creatures, totally dependent on some man's identity.