Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for Torn Hearts ( 2022 )

Not great, but watchable (IMDB: 5)

On: 8/3/2022 12:00:00 AM By: Sergiodave
An average Blumhouse production is better than most horrors, but this one was barely watchable, the acting was okay, but the plot was poor. Maybe I would have enjoyed it more if I was into Country music. A well made movie with a lousy plot.

Unwatchable (IMDB: 1)

On: 7/9/2022 12:00:00 AM By: kellybarr-45355
We are 1/3 of the way thru, definitely not a horror film, geez.... Sooooo boring, PG rated. Sheesh. Awful movie. Only thing good about it was Katy Segal. Other girls will be forgotten. Stopped it, and moved on. BORINGGGGGGGGG!!

Terrible start, but gets better (IMDB: 6)

On: 6/25/2022 12:00:00 AM By: katalist420
The first 15 minutes are so bad, almost unwatchable. It looks bad, the acting is meh and its just not a good start to a horror movie at all. With that said, once they get out of the city and into the country areas the movie is alot better.

Katey is the best part of the movie of course, but there are also soem really nice locations they get to after the start of the movie.

Worth a watch, it won't blow you away but its not the worst movie ever either. Just watch past the first 15 minutes.

Fame And Fortune (IMDB: 7)

On: 6/25/2022 12:00:00 AM By: slapdog3
The Price Of Fame And Fortune Could Be a Heavy Price To Play Especially If You Have Stars In Your Eyes, Then It May Be a Deadly Price To Pay as This Movie That Was Bad At All Shows Us...Don't You Just Love "KATEY SAGAL" I Do, It's One Time Watch For Me, May Be More For Some, But It Is Watchable I Wouldn't Care What Other Viewers Say, Or Rate!

Why? (IMDB: 1)

On: 6/15/2022 12:00:00 AM By: simoncoram-06766
Godawful and extremely boring. Katey Sagel tries, but fails miserably. The rest of the cast don't seem to know what they're doing or why. All in all, I really can't see why they bothered making this film. ??

Bad just bad (IMDB: 1)

On: 6/11/2022 12:00:00 AM By: fownadeer
Bad acting, bad scenes, and mixed with mediocre music gets a bad review. Film set in Nashville with palm trees. When did Nashville have palm trees. Tried to ride the Nashville TV series train. Only problem is it doesn't even leave the station.

Something different (IMDB: 7)

On: 5/29/2022 12:00:00 AM By: mjsreg
Perhaps other reviewers were expecting some teeny slasher movie, because I don't know why it has been rated so low.

The story is different and solidly written with well rounded characters brilliantly performed by all the cast.

The best thing to do is watch it and make your own mind up.

Fun but flawed (IMDB: 6)

On: 5/28/2022 12:00:00 AM By: leobardolouisrodriguez
This was fun but as another reviewer remarked, mostly just watchable thanks to Katey Sagal. I think it needed to really let loose and have more fun with itself. There was a level of crazy that Katey Sagal seemed ready to unleash, but that the script and story hampered. There were a few pacing decisions I also thought were jarring, particularly in the last few minutes.

Which is not to say there wasn't plenty of pink and a warehouse of wigs hanging around.

All in all, a decent afternoon but not a classic.

Yeah, a 4 and that's me being Generous! ;( (IMDB: 4)

On: 5/24/2022 12:00:00 AM By: midnitepantera
I love Katey Sagal and that creepy country mansion, but they wasted her here and the potential for a good gothic/country horror show. Too BAD. The 2 main girls just didn't work right and the script was complete Garbage!! It's a one and done for me folks.

Not in Nashville (IMDB: 6)

On: 5/23/2022 12:00:00 AM By: begob
An aspiring country music duet seize the chance to sing with their reclusive hero, but the song she has planned for them ends in death.

Lurid tale of ambition and betrayal that goes heavy on the dialogue, often repeating its themes inside its on-the-nose plot. It starts out fairly static, leaving nothing to the imagination through TV-style writing, but develops some interest on the introduction to the recluse of the mad woman. And all the while the clumsy music effects keep insisting that the action really is creepy, and sometimes even frightening - but still there's no way I class this as a horror.

The music numbers themselves are good and performed live, so that's a plus. And the story does get some sophistication on by drawing parallels between the old characters and the young, although the psychology ends up dull. To get away with this level of mayhem and violence in a such a linear plot requires humour, and humour comes from character, and this don't got much character.

The performances are fine, but the only outstanding parts are in the singing. The editing is brisk once the intro is out of the way, camera work is solid, and production values are otherwise good, particularly the set dressing.

Country Music Horror Film (IMDB: 7)

On: 5/23/2022 12:00:00 AM By: stevesinger-2001
"Torn Hearts" is a "country music horror film," and I believe it may be one of the first of its kind. The film deals with Jordan and Leigh, the titular "Torn Hearts" country duo (played by Abby Quinn and Alexxis Lemire, respectively). The film begins with them performing at a club where their manager Richie -- who is much older and also Leigh's boyfriend -- has brought them to meet country star Caleb, who is looking for an opening act. He and Jordan hook up, after which he tells her that they won't be the opening act because his record label wants an "all male" tour. Jordan is understandably bummed, but finds something more valuable -- that Caleb knows Harper Dutch (Katey Sagal), one of the legendary "Dutchess Sisters." She gets her address and suggests to Leigh that they go visit her and try to talk her into performing with them. Well, Leigh is the world's biggest Dutchess Sisters fan, and she can't possibly pass on the chance to meet her hero. So they travel off to Harper's house where they manage to convince Harper to let them in. After a little bit, Harper seems to be open to helping them, but things do not quite go the way they had anticipated...

"Torn Hearts" is a bit of a mixed bag, but mostly positive. The acting is really good, all three of our main leads are totally convincing. There's real, original country music which is a nice touch. In addition, there several really suspenseful scenes that are pretty unnerving. The main issue is some of the plot. Some things don't make sense -- for example, after Caleb tells Jordan flat out that his record company is not hiring a female act, she just doesn't tell anybody and instead let's people get mad at her. Harper's actions don't seem totally consistent throughout, and when the final "explanation" comes it's sort of underwhelming and not really logical. And man, the screenwriter clearly has some issues with the country music industry with special vitriol reserved for attractive women in country music!

But overall, a pretty solid film that's worth checking out.

It's a 5 but Katey Sagal made it a 7 (IMDB: 7)

On: 5/23/2022 12:00:00 AM By: seanpatrix-518-150814
Sluggish beginning, but later redeems itself slowly and kept me interested. It was good and just the right amount. It could have gone a bit deeper on the creepy factor (there were several opportunities).

I enjoyed it. I enjoyed it much more when Katey Sagal's character appeared. The other actors played their roles authentically and true to character.

I felt the movie held up all the way until then end. I felt it was actually closer to being a true IRL thriller/horror. I think we are more accustomed to a different style - and there is something truly original and unique about this film, although, I can't quite place it.

I feel that it could have taken a next level darker, creepy, weird vs. TV safe. I feel there is definitely more to come from the creators and we will watch in awe as they further continue to excel at their craft. Well Done!

Weak (IMDB: 3)

On: 5/23/2022 12:00:00 AM By: shadowofhero-46519
In all areas weak only "Peggy Bundy" convinces and unfortunately doesn't show as much as she could. The rest are weak B-movie actors who can't do better.

The story is ok but not convincing because it lacks tension.

Country music has a fresh hell (IMDB: 7)

On: 5/22/2022 12:00:00 AM By: lwalt-75058
Katey Sagal is very believable as a country star whose career has faded. Abby Quinn and Alexxis Lemire are fun to watch as the story gets told. Plenty of Nashville humor, whiskey, and bullets fly while these ladies find out who the real Diva is.

Leela goes all Grey Gardens and Mindy McCready (IMDB: 6)

On: 5/22/2022 12:00:00 AM By: Otkon
It's a fairly enjoyable if low-budget tale. Probably not to unrealistic plot-wise for the cut-throat world of the country music business and the instability and insecurity of many of its stars.

Good to see that one guy escaped the Blair Witch.

Okay (IMDB: 5)

On: 5/22/2022 12:00:00 AM By: Tweetienator
Like another reviewer already stated, to watch Katey Sagal (fine performance) is the true star of Torn Hearts. Production and the rest of the cast are solid for a movie made on a not too big budget. Torn Hearts is one of those movies you watch once and then forget. The story simply does not offer anything new and on the scale of the horror-o-meter this is a rather weak entry: what you get is a psycho-thriller with a very few scenes what the mainstream may call horror. Not bad, but not really good either. Exact rate: 4 + 1 for Katey Sagal's performance only.

no torn attention for a movie that reuires none (IMDB: 1)

On: 5/21/2022 12:00:00 AM By: fabiovicentini
Ridiculously superfluous. Endless minutes where no one comes in with something interesting to fill up the unoriginal dynamic that the whole film is set around, in the inconceivable idea that someone might have thought that there was something worth watching.

A fun, great movie. (IMDB: 9)

On: 5/21/2022 12:00:00 AM By: xpittenx
Katey Segal is amazing. The story wasn't hard to follow, but it was satisfying to see to the end. The tension was thick! We knew some atrocity was about to happen, but not what, or how badly. Thanks for complex female leads and douchy supporting male characters.

Out of tune (IMDB: 2)

On: 5/21/2022 12:00:00 AM By: tomrothmansony
Had a lot of potential to hit an indie flash cult classic status based on the synopsis, but hit a MASSIVE flat note.

Katey is believable, and by far the best thing about this film- but she even delivers a restrained performance in a crisp white cami. Why wasn't the direction pushing her past first base with such a whacked out character to play?!

The women playing the two performers are unfortunately forgettable, and seem to also suffer from the strange editing choices and bizarre camera set ups (and lack there of).

Pacing problems, thin character development and overall-repetitive. Missing the sizzle you'd expect from a Dolly Parton, Baby Jane, Grey Gardens mixed tape.

Katey Sagal makes "Torn Hearts" watchable... (IMDB: 5)

On: 5/20/2022 12:00:00 AM By: paul_haakonsen
Stumbling upon the 2022 movie "Torn Hearts" and seeing it starred Katey Sagal, I opted to sit down and watch what writer Rachel Koller Croft and director Brea Grant had to offer with this particular movie.

Granted, I must admit that the movie's synopsis didn't really had me convinced, but I do believe in giving a movie a fair chance, hence I sat down to watch "Torn Hearts".

Well, the movie was watchable, but that was just about it. This wasn't a particularly outstanding or memorable movie experience. However, while Rachel Koller Croft did something I have never seen before, and that being setting a horror movie against a country music scene backdrop, then the storyline was ultimately just a bit too generic and monotonous.

"Torn Hearts" is a bit slow paced, which caused the narrative to suffer.

It was definitely really nice to see Katey Sagal in the movie, and she performed quite well. She was actually rather convincible in the role of Harper Dutch. And truth be told, "Torn Hearts" is actually worth sitting down to watch because of her performance here. It should also be said that both Alexxis Lemire (playing Leigh) and Abby Quinn (playing Jordan) put on good performances.

This movie is watchable once, but the storyline and script just doesn't have the contents to support more than a single viewing.

My rating of "Torn Hearts" lands on a five out of ten stars.