Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for Uncut Gems ( 2019 )

Anxiety (IMDB: 1)

On: 3/15/2020 12:00:00 AM By: minehliz
This movie just gave me major anxiety and stress. So much yelling and so franticy

Indulgent. (IMDB: 1)

On: 2/9/2020 12:00:00 AM By: lydiataylor-52314
The plot largely consists of Adam Sadler yelling at the TV / being yelled at / others yelling, transporting goods / money around and yelling at people / things again.The whole movie is set up to stress you out as much as possible, which whilst quite a feat is also deeply unpleasant.Found it pretty indulgent and unpleasant tbh.Good acting though, in-between all the yelling.

Total Chaos... Every scene (IMDB: 1)

On: 2/1/2020 12:00:00 AM By: ciro_ciampi
I go with the honest & truthful reviews posted here - I felt like I was in an argument throughout the movie with a narcissistic sociopath and the level of chaos throughout every moment of his life was awkwardly uncomfortable - I only watched through to the end because of some strange past enjoyment of Adam Sandler's movies.... Just been shouted at for 2 hours and feel drained!

Spot on reviews here lol (IMDB: 8)

On: 1/31/2020 12:00:00 AM By: marcus-191-212062
All reviews here are correct. The good ones and the bad ones. This movie is a mess and you can like it or hate. My wife hated it, I liked it very much.

Too shouty and the music track is awful. (IMDB: 2)

On: 1/25/2020 12:00:00 AM By: neildanderson
Managed about 10 minutes of this mindless shouting over a terrible synth soundtrack. Everyone needed to knock it down by 50% to make this watchable.

Had to pass before my head exploded.

What did I just watch? (IMDB: 4)

On: 1/21/2020 12:00:00 AM By: clarkchris-48748
Uncut Gems was every bit as thrilling and chaotic as it seems was intended. The shouting dialogue and impulsive plot kept me on the edge of my seat, but the entire thing felt one note until the very end. I certainly wasn't bored, but I don't think this was a roller coaster I truly enjoyed.

Yelling, chaos, no storyline worth following (IMDB: 1)

On: 1/21/2020 12:00:00 AM By: teresarkt
I have only walked out of one other movie in my life. I was trying to stick it out through very chaotic and gritty scenes hoping that the movie would get better. 20 minutes into the movie, my husband said, it better get better than this or we should just go home. Sad to say, we made it about an hour in still hoping.

This movie was one of the worst movies I've ever seen. You don't want to root for any of these characters. They all seem pretty horrible as people. There is no humor. The movie has a lot of chaos, which creates almost an anxious feeling, and it just because people are constantly yelling or obnoxious.

I didn't enjoy anything about it and left, wasting $20 because watching reruns on tv was the better option.

Pretty much unbearable (IMDB: 2)

On: 1/20/2020 12:00:00 AM By: lauradys-93661
I feel compelled to write a note due the bewildering number of glowing reviews floating about for this film. I watched four couples walk out. About 30 minutes in I thought I couldn't bear it but kept with it regrettably. The direction, the script, the editing, the talking over each other, the score. It was a truly painful experience. Don't believe the hype.

Oh dear (IMDB: 1)

On: 1/18/2020 12:00:00 AM By: steveevans-35154
Two hours of people just shouting. It's absolutely awful. Zero likeness for any of the characters and a non story. Worst film I've seen for years. Sandler needs a good talking too.

I felt assaulted. This movie is much worse than just bad or waste of time and money (IMDB: 1)

On: 1/18/2020 12:00:00 AM By: michpetty
Wish I had left immediately but I was with someone and had to suffer through to the end.. This movie sucks. It was so painful to sit through that even my ears hurt. I was in a nice, clean theater with fancy comfortable recliner seats, but it was misery. I felt so grubby afterwards that I wanted a shower.The worst movie I have ever subjected myself to in nearly 60 years

Stellar Evocation of Time & Place in Culture & Style (IMDB: 9)

On: 1/12/2020 12:00:00 AM By: zscottoakland
Adam Sandler leads this cast in pinpointing even the most minute details & distinct mannerisms unique to this story and its characters, that moviegoers, particularly those raised in the Tri-State area in the 80's-90's, will no-doubt find themselves lost in this film as if the characters were somehow truly friends of their actual friends. Nailing the particularities and distinct idiosyncrasies of these people without any support of oft-used parodic caricatures, coupled with gracefully weaving in a heavy pop culture storyline without being gratuitous, was masterful and made this a joy to watch. Given that the story itself was so well-written, this film lives up to all the hype- if Spike Lee, Guy Ritchie & David Fincher together spawned a writer/director, this is the film he would have wished he made himself. What a way to start the 2020 movie year; everyone crushed their roles, but Adam Sandler really stepped up to the plate to hit a homer at Yankee Stadium.

Tension filled movie (IMDB: 7)

On: 1/8/2020 12:00:00 AM By: noahbetancourt
Great film. Huge Adam Sandler fan, nice to see him do something serious. He is actually a very good actor when given good material. Not that I don't enjoy his funny films though. Lots of great supporting talent like Kevin Garnett and LaKeith Stanfield. Overall nice and interesting plot, just a little slow in the middle. Liked the very mesmerizing shots that took you through the gems. Movie was great with suspense. Really knows how to build extreme tension. One of the most suspenseful films I've seen in a while. Ending really caught me off guard.

Watch if you want to get headache! (IMDB: 3)

On: 1/3/2020 12:00:00 AM By: farshad-persianguy
The only interesting thing about this movie was the constant high stress levels. Other than than, garbage story which ended meaningless. I'd rather watch Adam Sandler's cheesy comedy movies that this.

Unlike the rating this one of the worst movies I ever seen, and gave me anxiety from the obnoxious yelling! (IMDB: 1)

On: 12/31/2019 12:00:00 AM By: ahmed_khamari
Horrible movie (Preview/Rating was misleading), no acting just obnoxious yelling! I Need couple of aspirin after this. I wish I can unsee it!!

Absolutely Phenomenal (IMDB: 9)

On: 12/29/2019 12:00:00 AM By: mc1382
Weirdly this film reminded of me of Marriage Story in that it uses realism and guttural emotion to immerse you in the ferocity of the film's tone. The difference here is that Uncut Gems stresses events more so than conversation. While Marriage Story alternates between different conversations and perspectives, Uncut Gems put's emphasis on multiple wheels cogging in the machine. Howard (played excellently by Adam Sandler) is the centrepiece in all of this, the guide if you will.

The film doesn't explain some of the contexts behind his dealings but as the film goes on we start to learn about why he put himself in this situation or more importantly how he *feels* about it. By using a variety of events, conversations and mini climaxes within even one scene, we see the mental toll it has on Howard. The struggle, the success, the failures it all happens sometimes in the span of multiple scenes. The film masterfully allows you to feel empathy for Howard even if you disagree with a lot the actions he commits. An example of this would be towards the end of the second act where Howard breaks down and shows a moment of vulnerability. Up to this point, we have had a constant assault of him shouting, arguing and compromising so when he starts to break down it's not only a release for Howard but for the audience too. All of a sudden I started feeling the emotions Howard was experiencing and had a moment of tears welling up. The film had invested and engrossed me so much that I ended up balling my eyes out without a moments notice.

That's how effective Uncut Gems is as an emotional experience, it completely invests you in Howard even if can't relate to him on any capacity. The amount of craft and precision to pull that off is remarkable. I would even go as far as to say that is more impressive than writing a character that is relatable to the audience. Despite a few bumps in the road along the way (mainly to do with the first act and a couple of scenes being less effective in its intention than others) Uncut Gems is a must-see film and is one of the defining films of the 2010s. I don't know yet if it's better than Good Time but for now, let's just call it equal.

One of the Worst I've Ever Seen (IMDB: 1)

On: 12/28/2019 12:00:00 AM By: sacklerart
I'm confused. Why would anyone even make this movie, and then release it on Christmas/Chanukah, no less? It's a screaming, swearing mess, filled with horrible and irredeemable characters. And the sound track magnifies the general unpleasantness of this film. The performances of the actors unfortunate enough to be in this film were all pretty good, including that of Mr. Sandler. They convincingly played despicable people, but that didn't save it; the story and the presentation were too strong obstacles to overcome. It was an unrelenting melange of betrayals, cons, violence, and stupidity overlaid by all that screaming and swearing. The reason I'm confused is that its scores were high, so maybe it's just me - but I don't think so. See it at your own risk.

Overly Frenetic, Unenjoyable Characters (IMDB: 2)

On: 12/28/2019 12:00:00 AM By: sensaumer
Wife and I were tempted to walk out after first 20 minutes, but saw it through due to the positive critical reviews. Should have stuck with our initial instincts. The characters were totally unlikable, especially Adam Sandler's character, and his verbal barrage has us walking out of the theater feeling miserable. I'll admit the acting was good, but that worked against the film since the story was depressing and the characters were people I would tend to avoid in real life.

"You're the most annoying person I've ever known" (IMDB: 8)

On: 12/28/2019 12:00:00 AM By: Quinoa1984
They should hand out high-grade blood pressure meds to people going to see this after it ends. The major strength and in a way the slight weakness of Uncut Gems is how laser-focused the Safdies are in conveying total anxiety, stress and mania through this extreme act of full cinema SOUND (levels of acting and over-lapping dialog, that Vangelis-Blade-Runner-on-Steroids/Crystal Meth score, some of the cinematography and the tracking of the camera).

I do wish there was a little more than just flourishes of relief, though I'd be lying if I said Sandler was anything but exceptional and riveting playing degenerate crumbling right before our eyes. While Eric Bogosian, Lakeith Stanfield and Kevin Garnett and many others here are natural solid, it's Sandler's show, and it's soulful and tense and harrowing and ultimately (as terrible as Howard can be) tragic. The filmmakers's greatest achievement from the looks of this and Good Time is finding star-actors who aren't known for their wide range and getting career-triumph work from them. If the movie isn't all that complex, I do think Howard is and that helps make this pretty special as a depiction of addiction, more than anything else. It's got grit and style to burn, which is mostly fine by me.

I got a headache! (IMDB: 1)

On: 12/28/2019 12:00:00 AM By: jcodo
Wtf is this? Why the high ratings?It's 135 min of pure noise!

All over the place, no plot point. (IMDB: 1)

On: 12/27/2019 12:00:00 AM By: josephtobia
Terrible 'film'. After the first hour I was disappointed yet I hoped the last stretch of the movie would be better. It was all so abrupt and unclear of what is happening. Terrible film.