Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for Vampires: Los Muertos ( 2002 )

You ain't lived till you got head from a hot vampire. (IMDB: 5)

On: 10/17/2021 12:00:00 AM By: Fella_shibby
I first saw bits n pieces of this movie in the early 2k on cable tv n kinda disliked it.

Revisited it recently.

This is the sequel to the John Carpenter's Vampires.

This one is not at all action packed or brutal like its predecessor.

There is a lol scene where the character of Bon Jov blows up the head of a vampire and that too when the entire body was already in the process of being pulled out for death via sun.

What was the need for it i dont understand.

The lead female vampire is hot but we only get to see her tits via her thin dress.

All in all a lousy sequel.

As bad as you'd expect (IMDB: 3)

On: 8/9/2021 12:00:00 AM By: contact-362-24369
It's bad. And for a vampire horror movie, like it's predecessor, that it presents itself to be, it doesn't live up at all. It's just not scary - Bon Jovi isn't a true badass, jump scares that don't work, and the scenes that are too bright. Vampires 1, Blade and Dracula 2 Ascension are way scarier than this and better. Check them out instead.

I gave it 3/10 just for Bon Jovi and Arly Jover (also a vampire named Mercury in Blade).

Vampire Hunter Derek (IMDB: 3)

On: 1/2/2020 12:00:00 AM By: BA_Harrison
Los Muertos is the sequel to John Carpenter's Vampires that almost nobody asked for. And even if you did ask for it, I doubt very much if you wanted Jon Bon Jovi to play the lead. Or an actress who looks like Sharleen Spiteri from pop band Texas as the head vampire.

Jovi plays a vampire hunter called Derek, who teams up with a priest, a Mexican teenager hoping to earn some cash to help his mother, some old guy, a black vampire hunter who displays zero common sense, and a half-vampire who keeps herself from turning full bloodsucker with a miracle drug, the origin of which is never adequately explained. Vampire Spiteri and her nameless followers go about killing off anyone else who might help Derek in his quest against the undead, while also looking for a mystical cross that will enable a vampire to walk in daylight.

Directed by Tommy Lee Wallace (Halloween III, Fright Night Pt. 2), the film starts off promisingly with Derek slaying a vampire hooker by shooting her in the head and heart with a gun that fires stakes. So far, so fun. If things continue in this vein (pun intended), this might not be so bad after all. Unfortunately, as the film progresses, it teeters awkwardly between 'schlock' and 'serious', with a seriously scrappy script and sloppy direction sucking out all the fun. At times, the film is so bad it's almost funny. Almost.

Those who stay the distance will be treated to a few decent gore effects, but will have to suffer through JBJ's awful acting, lots of mediocre vampire slaying action, the quite frankly absurd decision by Derek to take a transfusion of vampire blood so that he can sneak up on Sharleen unnoticed, and a finale that tries to crank up the tension by using the same 'malfunctioning winch' plot device they used earlier in the film. You would think that they would get that fixed as a matter of urgency.

2.5/10, rounded up to 3 for IMDb.

Lacks the same "Bite" as the original (IMDB: 8)

On: 9/9/2018 12:00:00 AM By: apryla-58795
I think this was pretty good for a sequel. The ending was strong which is rare. If you'd never seen the first one it wouldn't matter - this could have been a stand alone movie.

Jon Bon Jovi is really nice to look at and he's actually not a bad actor - he's just a little dull. He's neither amazing nor awful in this - he just kind of blends in.

Natasha Gregson Wagner is so beautiful. I think she still acts but I'd like to see her in more movies. She wasn't great in this but in the right role she really shines.

The young priest (turns out he wasn't really a priest) was pretty good. It's nice to see he's still acting.

The kid from Family Matters was good in this but it's almost like they didn't need him in this at all. He was kind of wasted - gone before he had a chance to really shine. Small part but he did what he could with it. I would have liked to see him make it through to the end of the film.

The way this film ended you could see them continuing on with more follow up films but it must not have done very well so the franchise just ended with this one.

This held my attention as does anything with Vampires and los muertos so if you're into that kind of thing you'd pry like this. The soundtrack was really good at keeping you in that Mexico/western type frame of mind.

Take a bite out of this one and drink up!

Jon Bon Jovi, Vampire Hunter (IMDB: 5)

On: 11/26/2017 12:00:00 AM By: a_chinn
Not a direct sequel to the John Carpenter film, but taking place in the same universe. The sequel follows another Vatican sanctioned vampire hunter, Jon Bon Jovi, as he goes after a dangerous group of vampires in Mexico. Carpenter did not write or direct this film, but is on-board as producer. This film was instead written and directed by longtime Carpenter collaborator Tommy Lee Wallace (he even played Michael Meyers in the first film), who delivers a solid enough of direct-to-video entertainment. I did like how this sequel changed the setting a bit and made it even more so of a western than the first film, but this film does suffer by comparison to the excellent original film.

Lacked the Intensity of the First Movie (IMDB: 4)

On: 8/16/2016 12:00:00 AM By: Uriah43
"Derek Bliss" (Jon Bon Jovi) is a vampire hunter who has temporarily relocated to Mexico to continue his quest against vampires. Aided by a secret firm with possible ties to the Roman Catholic Church, he is advised to seek certain members of the initial group of vampire hunters featured in the previous movie "Vampires". Unfortunately, each time he tries to track down any of these individuals he finds that they have all been brutally murdered. However, on his last stop he finds a young woman named "Zoey" (Natasha Gregson Wagner) who seems to know quite a bit about his occupation. What he also discovers is that she has been bitten by a vampire and has found a medicine which keeps her from turning into one. At least for the time-being. Not long afterward he finds other people to join his group but not all of them can be trusted as one of them is in league with a vampire named "Una" (Arly Jover) who is intent on finding the mystical "Berziers Cross" which will enable her to walk in the sunlight. Now if any of this plot seems familiar it is probably because some of it is a retread from the original movie. And if this lack of imagination wasn't bad enough, what really impacts this film, in a negative sense, is the absence of a solid lead and an almost complete lack of suspense. To be sure, Jon Bon Jovi performed in an adequate manner and Natasha Gregson Wagner was definitely cute. But the previous film had better acting and was much more intense than this version. Because of that I have rated this movie accordingly. Slightly below average.

A decent vampire guilty pleasure (IMDB: 9)

On: 11/12/2015 12:00:00 AM By: kannibalcorpsegrinder
Following reports of movement in the Mexican desert, a group of hunters teams up with a woman able to sense their presence to track down a vampire clan attempting to acquire a sacred relic and kill them before they are able to walk in the daylight.

As it stands it's a really good film that has a lot to really like. Among the positive points here is the continuation of the plot point of its predecessor in some absolutely fun hunting scenes throughout here that manage to employ a lot of great hunting tools and tactics. Managing to employ the same winching mechanism and pulley system as before to drag them out into the sunlight which again sets them ablaze in really explosive reactions as before, a series of extremely creative and unique hand-held weaponry designed to deliver stakes into their bodies and sharpened poles, along with the usual amount of sword-play and knives that are all featured here which makes for some solid continuity. As well, the continuity here by incorporating the storyline about the lone member with a connection with the lead vampire which causes a great deal of fun by not only allowing for more action in this by featuring more chances at dismembering victims and blood-drinking but also managing to delve into storyline points to help spell out the plot to this one here by giving away clues and actual fates to what was only hinted at otherwise during the current scene. Done in stylish flash images, these are an important part of the film as while at clearing up the rather novel idea here at furthering what was hinted at before with the need for the cross and the blood ritual that allows them to survive in the sunlight which is all nicely woven together here into a pretty good story. As well, there's also a ton of really enjoyable action scenes throughout here, from the opening ambush in the alley, the diner attack where she rips apart everyone with exceptionally quick speed and a great bloodbath sequence where she attacks a church-yard in spectacular fashion while leaving the graphic mess for the group to stumble upon later. There's even a vicious rampage in a small town in broad daylight and a really impressive finale where they hunt the creature several times in the creepy underground crypt providing a series of impressive action here in such tight quarters and being such a fantastic, multi- tiered setting for a vampire hunt as their weapons and tactics come into play here for an overall great time. Along with the fine blood and gore here in the great kills along the way, there's not a whole lot really wrong here, but there's some minor flaws here. One of the biggest issues here is the clumsy final half, which is quite goofy in structure here with the first attack falling short only to fall back to the village for the extended transfusion sequence then to further inject him in another extended sequence before launching the final attack, and as a whole this just seems overlong and needless, especially going through several days to do this without an attack which is quite off. As well, there's also the fact that the female vampire here doesn't really come across as a really intimidating figurehead as she doesn't really do much else others have done and just comes off as threatening solely for what she is. Otherwise this one has a lot more to like overall.

Rated R: Graphic Violence and Graphic Language.

Don't' Know What People Were Expecting From A Low Budget Vampire Flick (IMDB: 5)

On: 1/11/2015 12:00:00 AM By: slightlymad22
I'm amazed at some of these reviews, a low budget vampire movie starring James Woods is a modest success in 1998. Four years later we get a lower budget sequel starting Jon Bon Jovi.

Plot In A Paragraph: In Mexico, vampire slayer, Derek Bliss (Jon Bon Jovi), is hired by an unknown client provided he build a team of slayers. Father Adam Guiteau (from the first film) is shown to have been killed in this one. This team ends up including the vampiress Zoe, who is fighting her affliction with medication, Father Rodrigo, and Sancho, a teenage boy in finding a large nest of "suckers" and their powerful leader, a vampire princess named Una (Arly Jover). She is seeking a legendary black crucifix: the Berziers Cross, the same crucifix used unsuccessfully in the first movie to perform a ritual which will enable vampires to walk in sunlight and be invulnerable.

It's, silly, rude, crude, over the top violent and ridiculous. But it's also fun. Jon Bon Jovi will never be an Oscar winner, but he has enough talent and charisma to get by in fare like this!! In fact he is the best actor in this movie.

'80s rock star battles the undead (IMDB: 5)

On: 2/5/2011 12:00:00 AM By: Leofwine_draca
I'll admit that Bon Jovi isn't my first choice when I think of "actors" to play vampire hunters but somehow his presence in this film works. Essentially, VAMPIRES: LOS MUERTOS is a retelling of John Carpenter's 1997 film VAMPIRES, featuring a vampire killer who gets together a team of fighters to go up against the undead menace. As the title would suggest, this sequel travels south of the border to engage in some Day of the Dead shenanigans and vampire action slightly influenced by the likes of FROM DUSK TILL DAWN.

I'll admit that I'm not a fan of Carpenter's original film, whose '90s-era excesses have dated very badly. This one's a definite step up from that, although it's still no great shakes. The story is so simple a child could have written it, just going back and forth between humans killing vampires and vampires killing humans. There's absolutely no depth, and not even any twists to enliven things.

On the plus side, the characters are drawn a little better than usual, and there are opportunities for the supporting cast members to get a look in (including a youthful Diego Luna, later to turn heartthrob in DIRTY DANCING: HAVANA NIGHTS). Bon Jovi, as ageless as ever, betrays his lack of training as an actor but isn't required to do much other than look cool and determined.

The vampires are a clichéd menace and the chief villain is pitiful. At least there's some gore to keep horror fans happy. More interestingly, the director has been well chosen: Tommy Lee Wallace, who once made HALLOWEEN III: SEASON OF THE WITCH and IT, has a long association with the genre and gives this film a certain style it would otherwise have lacked.

Bon Jovi, the Vampire Slayer! (IMDB: 5)

On: 11/20/2010 12:00:00 AM By: wes-connors
"Vampires: Los Muertos" or "John Carpenter presents Vampires: Los Muertos" is a sequel to "Vampires" aka "John Carpenter's Vampires" (1998). A priestly character from the first film hangs around long enough to die, and the story sticks with established rules. This one ends with some strong set-up plot and character points, which seem to have been left bloodless by third series film "Vampires: The Turning" (2005). Each has less terrifying involvement from Mr. Carpenter.

According to the DVD sleeve, "Tough-as-nails vampire hunter Derek Bliss (Jon Bon Jovi) is on the hunt for 'suckers' in the heart of Mexico when he receives a new assignment from a mysterious client. Thrown together with a group of slayers, including sexy Zooey (sic), who may or may not be one of the undead, Derek and company are up against a growing number of fast-moving, bloodthirsty vampires and their elusive and powerful leader, who has plans of her own for the slayers."

Slippery when wet singer Bon Jovi plays a surfer vampire slayer; he maintains appearance excellently and does not sing a note. Female lead Natasha Wagner (as Zoe) is one of those "half undead" victims; the real-life daughter of Natalie Wood, she takes a drug to prolong the final transformation. Cristián de la Fuente (as Rodrigo) plays a handsome priest with a secret, Diego Luna (as Sancho) is a dubious teenager, and marksman Darius McCray (as Ray Collins) gets vampire head.

Ouch.

***** Vampires: Los Muertos (9/24/02) Tommy Lee Wallace ~ Jon Bon Jovi, Natasha Gregson Wagner, Cristian Fuente, Diego Luna

For those keeping score... (IMDB: 5)

On: 7/31/2009 12:00:00 AM By: Heislegend
This is what happens when you make a switch from James Woods to Jon Bon Jovi and make a story considerably less interesting. Don't get me wrong; this isn't by any means a terrible movie. It just lacks a lot of the things the first movie had. Primarily a Baldwin brother. Seriously though, I've not in love with James Woods as an actor by any stretch of the imagination. He does, however, possess a certain smart-ass bravado that made him a really good fit for the first movie. Squeaky clean Jon Bon Jovi, try as he might, does not possess that quality and the movie suffers a bit for it.

Basically this is standard vampire flick fare with some (very) tenuous connections to the first film. It tries hard, but I can't help but feel like it's kind a rip off of the first movie, which is kind of weird since the the same people produced it. It's basically a pale version of the whole vampires who want to go out in the sun motif. Fair enough, but you've seen it done to death and you've seen it done better. Except unlike the last movie we largely ditch the mysterious black cross in favor of some unnamed medication that works but only for a short while. Snore.

All in all it's not a bad movie, it's just a disappointment, especially when viewed right after the first. It gets some points for decent gore, but falls short of the original there as well. When all is said and done it's not a bad movie really...it's just not up to par with the first one which I happened to really like. Not a terrible way to kill an hour and a half of your day, though.

Don't waste your time (IMDB: 1)

On: 6/1/2008 12:00:00 AM By: jcyc_me
The last reviewer was very generous. I quiet like the first movie, but can't say I enjoy this one very much. The beginning is bearable, but it goes downhill pretty quickly. I just don't see Jon Bon Jovi as a "bad-ass vampire hunter" and the vampire princess is neither sexy nor scary. A lot of the scenes just do not make sense. I mean any normal person would suspect something is up when a strange woman suddenly appearing out of nowhere to seduce you, let alone an experienced hunter. Why Una is able to communicate with Jovi? Nothing was ever explain in this movie, you wouldn't mind if it was entertaining, but that was too much to ask. This has to be one of worst vampire movie I have seen.

Cheap imitation (IMDB: 7)

On: 12/9/2007 12:00:00 AM By: winner55
This is not so much a sequel to "John Carpenter's Vampires" as it is a remake. No, really, stop and think: Although there has been real effort to add variation to avoid the obvious comparisons, the fact remains that virtually nothing happens in this film that didn't happen in the first. Even the ending is virtually the same! Because the first film was Carpenter's own, and he added a quirky touch of nihilism to the themes of the film (the only force battling the vampires is the Catholic Church, and the Church ain't doing too well, judging by the rowdy team of vampire-hunter's they hired for the job), it left a slightly bitter aftertaste, but allowed Carpenter all kinds of room to twist plot elements in on themselves - ultimately, the Master vampire is somehow more admirable than the team of losers tracking him down - at least he knows what he wants out of life (... er, death).

But here the story is told straight, and without Carpenter's quirkiness, it's just your average run-of-the-mill action film, with lifeless characters. slow moments, banal action scenes. Okay for a Saturday afternoon, but largely forgettable.

Too bad; Bon Jovi and the rest of the cast actually seem to be up for something more. And taking the story down to (still largely Catholic) Mexico could have provided wonderful opportunities for cross-cultural references and twists.

Instead we get, well... the film we were expecting but not the one we were hoping for.

Not even a good miss, just so-so.

A Shame for Vampire's Films (IMDB: 3)

On: 3/27/2007 12:00:00 AM By: Juan_from_Bogota
Really bad movie, the story is too simple and predictable and poor acting as a complement.

This vampire's hunter story is the worst that i have seen so far, Derek Bliss (Jon Bon Jovi), travels to Mexico in search for some blood suckers!, he use some interesting weapons (but nothing compared to Blade), and is part of some Van Helsig vampire's hunters net?, OK, but he work alone. He's assigned to the pursuit of a powerful vampire queen that is searching some black crucifix to perform a ritual which will enable her to be invulnerable to sunlight (is almost a sequel of Vampires (1998) directed by John Carpenter and starred by James Woods), Derek start his quest in the search of the queen with some new friends: Sancho (Diego Luna, really bad acting also) a teenager without experience, Father Rodrigo (Cristian De la Fuente) a catholic priest, Zoey (Natasha Wagner) a particular vampire and Ray Collins (Darius McCrary) another expert vampire hunter. So obviously in this adventure he isn't alone.

You can start feeling how this movie would be just looking at his lead actor (Jon Bon Jovi); is a huge difference in the acting quality compared to James Woods, and then, if you watch the film (i don't recommend this part), you will get involved in one of the more simplest stories, totally predictable, with terrible acting performances, really bad special effects and incoherent events!.

I deeply recommend not to see this film!, rent another movie, see another channel, go out with your friends, etc.

3/10

Give it a second Chance you might then like it... (IMDB: 5)

On: 3/4/2006 12:00:00 AM By: ThatsGoodInnit
If your like me, first viewing i turned it off 30mins through! but if your willing to give it another go, think hard either decision your a winner.

I told myself, You know Bon Jovi's a bad actor but persist with it, so now I'm on the second viewing i felt drowsy but i still persisted, and it was quite watchable! not the worst vampire flick, but it's not the best either, it's NOOO From Dusk til Dawn, but it's abit better than the sequels JUST! OR MAYBE the same for excitement, although the 3rd is not bad at all. I thought the acting abilities of Natasha Gregson Wagner were quite good! not bad at all she's no Theron/Jovovich/Foster but she's good, and also Arly Jover was good! nasty fiesty looking, convincing also as a vampire. Diego Luna(Open Range) was also not bad he did afew cool looking things esp the first chapter you see with him. but as for Bon Jovi, stick to what your good at, he's harmless but ain't no vampire killer! lol he's a surfer at least try a sequel to Blue Crush or something not Vampires! lol Either way you can miss this & not miss out on a thing, not bad but could've been better using a good actor in the lead role, not Bon Jovi, with that changed could've been good!

(IMDB: 4/10)

On: 2/22/2005 12:00:00 AM By: boo_4ever
Before I go on I have to admit to being a huge Bon Jovi fan. In factthats what attracted me to the DVD case in the first place. I probablywould have bought it anyway being such a big horror fan and havingenjoyed the first Vampires title so much.

But this isn't half as good. Not even Jon could save this film for me.My main problem would be that it simply isn't scary. Apart from Jon'scharacter Derek Bliss none of the other characters make an impressionand you couldn't care less whether they die or not, especially theannoying vampire / drug addict woman. The female vampire simply isn'tscary or sexy. Rather she looks like an anorexic 14 year girl, nowonder she is so desperate for blood then. Another huge problem is thateverything is just "too bright". There is no atmosphere or sense ofdread. I know the first Vampires being set in New Mexico wasn't exactlythe twilight zone in terms of creepiness but yet it still managed to bedark and foreboding when it needed to be. This film has no tension likethat.

The story is basically the same as before. Vampire wants Berzier'scross to be able to walk in daylight. However the story has less coolbits this time. There is no wow factor in knowing this is the master ofall master - the original vampire, as in the first film. You reallydon't care who or what this one is. There is no army of masters.Instead she hides out in some old ruin which looks more like aDisneyland attraction then a creepy temple.

So there you have it really. Lack of scares, lack of atmosphere, lackof interesting story. A real let down for me personally.

Shame on you, Jon Bon Jovi (IMDB: 1)

On: 2/11/2004 12:00:00 AM By: rthibes
Ok, I like Bon Jovi, I like the first "John Carpenter's Vampires" and I like trash movies. But nothing could prepare me for one of the worst movies I've ever seen.

Call this trash it's not fair. Roger Corman would be ashamed. This is just a real bad movie. Bad lines, bad story, bad directing, bad editing, really really bad effects.

After that, I hope Jon Bon Jovi goes back to his rock'n'roll career, 'cause at the movies I'll always remember him as this "surfer-vampire-killer". Jon, you gave the trash movies a bad name.

I love Bon Jovi, but... (IMDB: 4)

On: 1/15/2004 12:00:00 AM By: Kristine
This movie was messed up. A sequel to "John Carpenter's Vampires", this didn't add up right. I'm not sure that I enjoyed this much. It was a little strange. Stick to the first "Vampires", it's a good movie. "Vampires: Los Muetos" wasn't a good attempt of a sequel.

4/10

I love Bon Jovi, but... (IMDB: 4)

On: 1/15/2004 12:00:00 AM By: Smells_Like_Cheese
This movie was messed up. A sequel to "John Carpenter's Vampires", this didn't add up right. I'm not sure that I enjoyed this much. It was a little strange. Stick to the first "Vampires", it's a good movie. "Vampires: Los Muetos" wasn't a good attempt of a sequel.

4/10

(IMDB: )

On: 10/9/2003 12:00:00 AM By: uds3
Gotta take my hat off to Carpenter....putting his name up as exec producerhere. Gives new meaning to the term low budget! Little more than ajuvenilere-make of the original. Vampire Hunter (Jon Bon Jovial), girl who hasbeenbit but not turned....Priest-for-a-partner, snatch of the old "locked intothe vampire's wavelength" nonsense and a few sporadically explodingvampiresthat wouldn't look out of place on Guy Fawkes night!

But man...have a look at the hack editing, the childish and garish colorseverywhere (MUST have been made ostensibly for the Mexican videomarket)thetotally awesomely vapid acting....its a classic! For some indefinablereasonthough, the film takes itself soo seriously its almostenchanting.

In the upshot, about as frightening as Sesame Street, as intelligent asMikeTyson and as relevant as a 1972 typewriter! The one decent scene...the twogirls about to KISS and they wimp out!